Welcome to the CrackBerry Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. Mwanahabari's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    301 Posts
    Global Posts
    340 Global Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #1  

    Default Lock/unlock question

    I picked up my new phone from carphone warehouse today and the guy in the shop told me their phones weren't locked unless branded. When I fired the phone up it showed an O2 splash screen. Does this mean it's locked?
  2. epress man's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    265 Posts
    #2  

    Default

    I've seen unlocked phones do that before.
  3. Phill_UK's Avatar
    CrackBerry Wiseguy

    Posts
    12,709 Posts
    Global Posts
    12,725 Global Posts
    #3  

    Default

    CPW phones are definitely unlocked, but I think the Z10 must pick up the carrier splash screen from the SIM as mine shows a Voda one. This surprised me too when I first saw it, because I hadn't told the CPW staff which network I was on when I bought it.
    That's Phill with 2 L's
  4. salah100's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    7 Posts
    Global Posts
    8 Global Posts
    #4  

    Default

    Take it back mate and get it exchanged
  5. Phill_UK's Avatar
    CrackBerry Wiseguy

    Posts
    12,709 Posts
    Global Posts
    12,725 Global Posts
    #5  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by salah100 View Post
    Take it back mate and get it exchanged
    Why? There's nothing wrong with it.

    To the OP... if you go to Settings > Security and Privacy > SIM Card and check the settings for Phone Network Lock, they should all show as Unlocked.
    That's Phill with 2 L's
  6. Mwanahabari's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    301 Posts
    Global Posts
    340 Global Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #6  

    Default Lock/unlock question

    Cheers. Checked and it does indeed say unlocked. Must get the splash info off the sim as suggested. Thanks for the replies guys. Much appreciated.
  7. ealvnv's Avatar
    CrackBerry Master

    Posts
    1,490 Posts
    Global Posts
    1,496 Global Posts
    #7  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mwanahabari View Post
    I picked up my new phone from carphone warehouse today and the guy in the shop told me their phones weren't locked unless branded. When I fired the phone up it showed an O2 splash screen. Does this mean it's locked?
    Go to settings> Security and Privacy > SIM card and take a look at lines that say Network, Network Subset and Service Provider if all of them read as unlocked then is unlocked.

    And just for reference i get an ATT splash screen with the ATT sim in, a Tmobile boot screen with a tmobile sim card
    "If you can't find anything wrong with your OS of choice, you might be a fanboy, if you can't find anything RIGHT with the smartphone OSes you DON'T use, you're definitely a fanboy." - Ashley Esqueda

    Trough the Phone Lens C0019FC6B

Similar Threads

  1. Keypad Lock/Unlock Help
    By sac8513 in forum BlackBerry Curve 83xx
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 08-12-2012, 12:23 PM
  2. Quick Question Regarding Screen Lock/Unlock
    By mdwyer89 in forum BlackBerry Storm
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-09-2009, 02:36 PM
  3. 8800 unlocked questions
    By nikit in forum BlackBerry 8800, 8820
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-24-2007, 02:10 PM
  4. BlackBerry 8800 unlocked questions
    By kaanicles in forum BlackBerry 8800, 8820
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-26-2007, 10:09 PM
  5. Locked? Unlocked?
    By gregwilliams in forum Introductions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-13-2007, 05:09 PM

Posting Permissions