Welcome to the CrackBerry Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
Page 1 of 5 1234 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 108
Like Tree10Likes
  1. umamna's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    3 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #1  

    Default How to start a new line in BBM Blackberry Z 10?

    Hi there,

    I'm wondering how can i press (enter) to start a new line when a BBMing in my Blackberry Z10? the same when I want to type a new Text Message!!

    As when I press enter it send the message, and what i want is to add a new line to start a new sentence before sending it !!!

    Your Help is really appreciated.
    Thanked by:
    xxslxx (02-18-2013) 
    xxslxx likes this.
  2. Crowezine's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    373 Posts
    Global Posts
    374 Global Posts
    #2  

    Default

    This should do the job. But if you mean you press this button and it sends the message, I don't know what advice to give you.How to start a new line in BBM Blackberry Z 10?-1234.png
    Josh - Curve 9320 & PlayBook 64GB - BlackBerry Enthusiast - CrackBerry Addict - PlayBook Sideloader
    Thanked by:
    lil_g (10-25-2013) 
  3. belfastdispatcher's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius of Geniuses

    Posts
    13,683 Posts
    PIN
    27F48177
    #3  

    Default

    The only way so far is pressing the space bar until it drops to the next line but I'm sure there's an easier ways hidden in there.
  4. D Mac's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    953 Posts
    Global Posts
    1,012 Global Posts
    #4  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Crowezine View Post
    This should do the job. But if you mean you press this button and it sends the message, I don't know what advice to give you.Click image for larger version. 

Name:	1234.png 
Views:	2255 
Size:	75.3 KB 
ID:	134535
    That key doesn't exist in SMS it changes to "SEND".
    Click on the link below for some great free Blackberry Themes

    The Theme Zone
    http://thethemezone.blogspot.com
  5. D Mac's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    953 Posts
    Global Posts
    1,012 Global Posts
    #5  

    Default

    I have a solution, but it's a very poor one.

    Go to any other app and copy a line break and then when you are in SMS/BBM simply paste that new line into your message.

    Like I said it's a very cumbersome solution, but I just tried it and it works.
    Click on the link below for some great free Blackberry Themes

    The Theme Zone
    http://thethemezone.blogspot.com
  6. FrankIAm's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    3,850 Posts
    PIN
    288986cf
    #6  

    Default

    ****f + enter, perhaps?
    MarsupilamiX likes this.
  7. umamna's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    3 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #7  

    Default

    Thanks D Mac

    Well this is what i'm doing now .. Going to emails or reminder app and type what i want (including pressing enter to start a new line) then i copy what i wrote & paste it in SMS/BBM

    But I thought someone could have an easier solution .. like a spacial way to press enter to start a new line in SMS/BBM.
    Thanked by:
    Viseur (06-24-2013) 
  8. Vorkosigan's Avatar
    CrackBerry Master

    Posts
    1,312 Posts
    Global Posts
    1,313 Global Posts
    #8  

    Default

    On my Curve with OS6 there is a setting for this. I hope it's still in there somewhere. Have you checked settings from within the bbm app?
    Power corrupts. Knowledge is power.
    Study hard. Be evil.
  9. Barljo's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    666 Posts
    Global Posts
    912 Global Posts
    #9  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by FrankIAm View Post
    ****f + enter, perhaps?
    This is my favourite mistype/censorship post ever!!

    I don't have a Z10 yet (just waiting on a price comparison from a rival carrier to see where I land), but has anyone tried holding down the Enter key? Sometimes funny things happen with long-presses, and I wonder if that may work?

    An alternative might be to set up a word substitution (eg typing linebr could substitute for the line break). Again, just a thought from a position of no knowledge at all! (EDIT** - see Shao's post below, which explains much better how to do this!)
    Last edited by Barljo; 02-08-2013 at 08:37 AM. Reason: better info in following post
  10. umamna's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    3 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #10  

    Default

    Thanks all for your replies.. i trued everything

    I held the enter key for a long time but it didn't work.

    I typed linebr & it didnt work

    I tried to go to the bbm settings & i couldn't find anything about starting a new line!!

  11. #11  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by D Mac View Post
    I have a solution, but it's a very poor one.

    Go to any other app and copy a line break and then when you are in SMS/BBM simply paste that new line into your message.

    Like I said it's a very cumbersome solution, but I just tried it and it works.
    Perhaps that could be added as a custom Word Substitution. Under Settings > Language & Input > Automated Assistance > Word Substitution > Add Shortcut

    You could add a shortcut and call it LN or something. Haven't tried it but worth a shot.
    Wallpaper Changer HD for BB10 A MUST HAVE APP - Automatically rotates your wallpaper - Now with battery % meter, weather and more!

    Evolution Web Browser with Ad Block - The ultra fast web browser with gestures and full screen browsing
    Ultimate ScreenSaver - Includes weather, rss news, clock and more! Many scenes including Aquarium and Fireplace or use your own pictures

    Visit: http://www.shao-soft.com
    boyfoolish and Barljo like this.
  12. D Mac's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    953 Posts
    Global Posts
    1,012 Global Posts
    #12  

    Default

    I tried using word substitution as Barljo & Shao128 suggested, unfortunately no luck.

    When you are setting up word substitution the enter key becomes "Done", so there is no way to enter a new line. I tried my copy and paste trick but it just pastes it all in one long string with the line breaks removed.

    Also previously I tried a lot of other things in SMS/BBM: checking the menus, holding Send, holding "?123" and then hitting send (this is how you do it on BBOS7 if you had Hit Enter To Send turned on) holding shift and hitting send, holding del and hitting send, pressing and swiping right, holding space and hitting send, etc, etc, etc...

    So it really looks like there is no way at all aside from cutting and pasting. Hopefully this gets fixed soon.
    Click on the link below for some great free Blackberry Themes

    The Theme Zone
    http://thethemezone.blogspot.com
  13. angad7.10's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    163 Posts
    Global Posts
    164 Global Posts
    #13  

    Default

    Does the old shift+enter not work?
    Samsung Galaxy S4
    BlackBerry Q10 SOLD Good Riddance to CrapBerry!
    BlackBerry 8320, 8900, 9700, 9780, 9900, 9790(2), Z10.
    iPhone 1, 3, 4.
    Nokia 3210, 3350, 6310, 3510i, 3650, 6670, N70, N73, N95, 6300, E51, N79.
  14. JAGWIRE's Avatar
    CrackBerry Master

    Posts
    1,325 Posts
    Global Posts
    1,330 Global Posts
    #14  

    Default

    Ya I was wondering this too. If anyone comes up with a solid way of this it would be greatly appreciated

    Posted using CrackBerry App on BB10
    Back from the depths!!!
    9000>>9950>>8530>>9810>>Z10>>iPhone 5>>Z10
  15. MsDarkDiva's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    34 Posts
    #15  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by umamna View Post
    I tried to go to the bbm settings & i couldn't find anything about starting a new line!!
    On my 9810, under the text options, there is a setting called "Press Enter Key to Send." Do you see a check box like that under the Z10's text options? Leave it unchecked.

    It looks like this:

    Last edited by MsDarkDiva; 02-09-2013 at 09:46 AM.
  16. D Mac's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    953 Posts
    Global Posts
    1,012 Global Posts
    #16  

    Default

    No there is no option to turn off press enter to send.

    No shift enter or ANY other combination doesn't work.

    No there is no trick or option to do it (aside from cut and paste).

    Until there is a software update there is no way to do it.
    Click on the link below for some great free Blackberry Themes

    The Theme Zone
    http://thethemezone.blogspot.com
  17. sauron4's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    566 Posts
    #17  

    Default

    I've been wondering how to do this as well. Hopefully there is a way somehow or BlackBerry include it in future updates.

    Posted using CrackBerry App on BB10
  18. TheHK's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    258 Posts
    #18  

    Default

    This is an annoying issue that I just discovered. Trying to send someone my flight details for example: Arrival: xx Flight number: xx it would look better with new lines but I couldn't figure it out. Shift-Enter (send) will only send the message. I hope someone discovers a solution
  19. sala7's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    66 Posts
    #19  

    Default

    I think this is a bug that should be resolved in the next update. We need an update soon. Some other features are not handled as good as they were before such as the vibration options or convenience keys (volume up and down) within the camera app.
    Thanked by:
    xxslxx (02-18-2013) 
    xxslxx likes this.
  20. DrinkCoffeeDude's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    2 Posts
    #20  

    Default Lack of Carriage Return in SMS messenger

    I have the same problem and for what it's worth this is my exploration of the matter:

    Tried substituting ### -> [cr] : Does not work.
    Tried composing text message without addressee. CR key does not change to SEND. When I hit the CR key the carriage return character is not inserted.

    That experiment leads me to conclude that the current version of the SMS messenger does not support insertion of carriage return.

    I can only guess that there is some solid technical reason other than lack of usability testing, why this is not so.
  21. D Mac's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    953 Posts
    Global Posts
    1,012 Global Posts
    #21  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DrinkCoffeeDude View Post
    I have the same problem and for what it's worth this is my exploration of the matter:

    Tried substituting ### -> [cr] : Does not work.
    Tried composing text message without addressee. CR key does not change to SEND. When I hit the CR key the carriage return character is not inserted.

    That experiment leads me to conclude that the current version of the SMS messenger does not support insertion of carriage return.

    I can only guess that there is some solid technical reason other than lack of usability testing, why this is not so.
    Well you can cut and paste a line break into a text just fine so no there is no technical reason they are letting us do it.
    Click on the link below for some great free Blackberry Themes

    The Theme Zone
    http://thethemezone.blogspot.com
  22. xxslxx's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    25 Posts
    #22  

    Default

    Any news re: an update that fixes this?

    Thanks!

    Quote Originally Posted by umamna View Post
    Hi there,

    I'm wondering how can i press (enter) to start a new line when a BBMing in my Blackberry Z10? the same when I want to type a new Text Message!!

    As when I press enter it send the message, and what i want is to add a new line to start a new sentence before sending it !!!

    Your Help is really appreciated.
    Thanked by:
    ld76 (05-01-2013) 
  23. Nazoohty's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    2 Posts
    #23  

    Default

    Hi,
    I was also trying to solve this irretating issue without any succes. The only thing I came up with is to write my message on either Remember App or on Memo Pad and then when I finish I select and copy all and past it then in the sms.
    I wonder how BB did not notice these basic issues and rectify immediately
  24. niss63's Avatar
    CrackBerry Master

    Posts
    1,426 Posts
    Global Posts
    1,430 Global Posts
    #24  

    Default

    Just ran into this problem ... how annoying!
  25. D Mac's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    953 Posts
    Global Posts
    1,012 Global Posts
    #25  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dedonc View Post
    Tried this one & works like a charm
    Go to any program where U can use <enter> button
    Type <space> then <enter>
    Select all
    Copy
    Go to word substitution
    Create new term U like
    Paste above as substitute
    Voila

    Thanks for the suggestion
    I take it you didn't actually try that?

    As already stated there is no way to paste a line break into word substitution.

    You can copy and paste a line break directly in BBM or SMS but no in word substitution.
    Click on the link below for some great free Blackberry Themes

    The Theme Zone
    http://thethemezone.blogspot.com
Page 1 of 5 1234 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. how to increase group members size in bbm?
    By gameson in forum BlackBerry OS 5 & 4.x
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-08-2011, 04:08 AM
  2. How to disable SMS from appearing in BBM chats?
    By missygalang in forum Native BlackBerry OS Apps
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-05-2010, 03:00 AM
  3. How to Change the Carrier Background in My Blackberry Tour 9630
    By fhersanta in forum Theme Developers Corner
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-01-2010, 04:09 PM
  4. How to start a new paragraph in an SMS text message
    By IanKR in forum General BlackBerry Discussion
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 11-24-2009, 03:40 PM
  5. How to make a new thread in WAP
    By vndlewis in forum General BlackBerry Discussion
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 11-01-2008, 04:52 PM

Posting Permissions