Welcome to the CrackBerry Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
Results 1 to 15 of 15
Like Tree5Likes
  • 1 Post By pandapurple
  • 1 Post By bbrog
  • 2 Post By egzbuen
  • 1 Post By dejanh
  1. niss63's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    1,516 Posts
    Global Posts
    1,520 Global Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #1  

    Default How can I copy and paste a phone number from a website?

    I'm not sure how to do this on the Z10 - it was something I did all of the time on my 9900:

    When searching for a particular retail establishment near my location (store finder) on a website, sometimes the store's phone number is not a link that can be clicked to dial. When using the 9900, I would copy such a number and paste it into the phone's number field (where the number you've punched in appears), press the dial button and away we go.

    On the Z10 I can't paste the number into the phone's number field. This certainly cramps my style.

    Any ideas for a work around?
  2. pandapurple's Avatar
    CrackBerry Master

    Posts
    1,115 Posts
    #2  

    Default

    It should have been that easy, shouldn't it. I sure hope the new software update will include making this seemingly simple function possible on the Z10.

    The workaround (if you can even call this a workaround) I do is, on the browser page, I pinch to enlarge the section where the telephone numbers are, swipe up to get to minimize the browser, tap on the Phone app on the bottom left. Tap on Dialling Pad. Swipe up to minimise to check the telephone numbers on the browser then manually type in the numbers onto the Dialling Pad. [an alternative to scribbling on a piece of paper!]

    BBRY, please get this fixed.
    Buy the Z10 because you choose to. Enough reason in itself.
    Thanked by:
    niss63 (03-30-2013) 
    simonfa likes this.
  3. prithvi64's Avatar
    CrackBerry Master

    Posts
    1,280 Posts
    PIN
    2B631BE4
    #3  

    Default

    Even some applications like cb10 doesn't provide access for coping and paste. I was surprised to see while reading one article in Times of India (application for z10), no option for copying n paste.

    Prithvi, pin:24C7DBA9 z10 thru CB10
    Prithvi 2BDCB97F (Z30/10.3.1.1154)
    Thanked by:
    niss63 (03-30-2013) 
  4. bbrog's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    139 Posts
    #4  

    Default

    ... or copy number, go to browser and type 'tel:' (without quotes) then paste the number and return

    Posted via CB10
    Thanked by 2:
    niss63 (03-30-2013),  pandapurple (03-31-2013) 
    CDM76 likes this.
  5. niss63's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    1,516 Posts
    Global Posts
    1,520 Global Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #5  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bbrog View Post
    ... or copy number, go to browser and type 'tel:' (without quotes) then paste the number and return

    Posted via CB10
    That works; thanks.
  6. John K4's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    3 Posts
    #6  

    Default cut and past dial

    Try yellow pages, other websites and or other online directories they sometimes dial from the website :-)
  7. pandapurple's Avatar
    CrackBerry Master

    Posts
    1,115 Posts
    #7  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bbrog View Post
    ... or copy number, go to browser and type 'tel:' (without quotes) then paste the number and return

    Posted via CB10
    Thank you! I learnt something new today!

    Posted via CB10
    Buy the Z10 because you choose to. Enough reason in itself.
  8. egzbuen's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    916 Posts
    Global Posts
    919 Global Posts
    #8  

    Default

    Would be sweet if the next update would allow this as well.
    CDM76 and pandapurple like this.
  9. Murray Schreiber's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    6 Posts
    #9  

    Default

    Very cool thanks. This has really been irritating me since I got my phone.

    Only last problem is when someone messages you a number, you can only copy the message and not just the number. It does work to go to browser and type tel: and paste message, then delete all the text and leave the number, but that's a pain. Any ideas?

    Posted via CB10
  10. Young Z's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    964 Posts
    #10  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Murray Schreiber View Post
    Very cool thanks. This has really been irritating me since I got my phone.

    Only last problem is when someone messages you a number, you can only copy the message and not just the number. It does work to go to browser and type tel: and paste message, then delete all the text and leave the number, but that's a pain. Any ideas?

    Posted via CB10
    Are you talking about telephone text message? Because I can copy/paste sections of text messages in my Z10. Just do a long press on the word you want to copy and it will be highlighted in blue with two pointers on the end for you to expand or contract the selection.
  11. pandapurple's Avatar
    CrackBerry Master

    Posts
    1,115 Posts
    #11  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Murray Schreiber View Post
    Very cool thanks. This has really been irritating me since I got my phone.

    Only last problem is when someone messages you a number, you can only copy the message and not just the number. It does work to go to browser and type tel: and paste message, then delete all the text and leave the number, but that's a pain. Any ideas?

    Posted via CB10
    Telephone numbers will appear in blue. Press and hold and the right side menu pops up. Copy. Open Contacts, create new contact.

    This isn't ideal though. By right, on the other smartphones, the option to create new contact or add to existing contact would be readily available.



    Posted via CB10
    Buy the Z10 because you choose to. Enough reason in itself.
  12. dejanh's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    2,555 Posts
    #12  

    Default

    It's a known bug. Next software release should resolve it.

    Posted via CB10
    pandapurple likes this.
  13. JayChouHD's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    45 Posts
    Global Posts
    53 Global Posts
    #13  

    Default

    I'm good at memorizing, so this isnt really an issue for me
  14. CDM76's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    1,517 Posts
    Global Posts
    1,519 Global Posts
    #14  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dejanh View Post
    It's a known bug. Next software release should resolve it.

    Posted via CB10
    Yeah. Hearing that for ALL the problems ppl are having. Doubt everything will be fixed next update. Seems quite a few things were over looked to begin with.

    Posted via CB10
  15. Innovatology's Avatar
    CrackBerry Master

    Posts
    1,273 Posts
    #15  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by niss63 View Post
    On the Z10 I can't paste the number into the phone's number field. This certainly cramps my style.
    I wrote a little app to do it: Clipboard Dialer. It scans your clipboard for phone numbers and allows you to call or text them, add to contacts etc. Also works by selecting a paragraph or two in your browser or e-mail, tapping the text and sharing it with Clipboard Dialer.

Similar Threads

  1. How do you copy and paste a picture in to a word doc on playbook?
    By mufc_Nick.C_mufc in forum BlackBerry PlayBook
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 02-24-2013, 11:18 AM
  2. How can I copy and paste htpp from YouTube now?
    By canito338 in forum BlackBerry PlayBook
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-23-2012, 03:07 PM
  3. can't copy and paste keycode
    By scooterman32 in forum General BlackBerry Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-06-2011, 09:15 PM
  4. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-05-2010, 01:13 AM
  5. So....The iPhone....Can now Copy and Paste + MMS
    By NFLBlitze1 in forum BlackBerry Storm
    Replies: 246
    Last Post: 03-19-2009, 04:52 PM

Posting Permissions