Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 31
Like Tree2Likes
  1. uktivo's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    286 Posts
    Global Posts
    411 Global Posts
    PIN
    2B63B0CE
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #1  

    Default Does the Z10 support rSAP?

    Hi all.

    Would love to move to the Z10 but no one including BB support can answer my question.
    I drive an Audi A7 that needs your phone to have remote sim access to ensure a connection for phone and data can be established. My Samsung s3 does this but I need to find out if the Z10 has remote sim access profile (rSAP),

    Can anyone confirm or deny this yet.?

    Thanks

    Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2
  2. MattUK's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    467 Posts
    #2  

    Default

    I don't have an Audi, but I have a BMW that has the same requirement, and the phone pairs and works perfectly, and I see text messages and mails displayed in the car.

    Address book / calling all works
    - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
    Z10 Away! - Feel free to thank or like any post* that has helped (or hindered)

    *My postings & comments are my opinion alone, and are not representative of any other company or organisation.
  3. uktivo's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    286 Posts
    Global Posts
    411 Global Posts
    PIN
    2B63B0CE
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #3  

    Default re: Does the Z10 support rSAP?

    Quote Originally Posted by MattUK View Post
    I don't have an Audi, but I have a BMW that has the same requirement, and the phone pairs and works perfectly, and I see text messages and mails displayed in the car.

    Address book / calling all works
    Mattuk.
    Thanks for the reply. Coming from a bmw530 only about 2 weeks ago I can advise they don't work the same. The BMW implemented the system correctly meaning they have their own sim card installed in the vehicle that is used for data connections such as BMW assist etc and the sim in your phone just uses blue tooth for calls etc. Audi really messed up and gave you the option to add your own sim card. Whilst this sounds good can you imagine taking out your sim card and installing it each and every time into the car. So in an attempt to correct this oversight, Audi gave the software option to link to your handset by rSAP but this is not common on handsets. Hence my question.

    Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2
  4. MattUK's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    467 Posts
    #4  

    Default

    Actually, don't Audi use QNX as the OS for their system? I'm sure BlackBerry listed Audi as one of the users at the launch.. would be ironic if they do and it doesn't work!
    - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
    Z10 Away! - Feel free to thank or like any post* that has helped (or hindered)

    *My postings & comments are my opinion alone, and are not representative of any other company or organisation.
  5. PFman's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    204 Posts
    Global Posts
    229 Global Posts
    #5  

    Default re: Does the Z10 support rSAP?

    I'd like to know this to. My 9360 (as does my S3) connects via rsap to my skoda superb - standard vag setup. Its shown as premium bluetooth.


    I'd presume the z10 would but then again I presumed it would have UMA......

    Lack of decent technical info is shocking.

    Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2
    Thanked by:
    uktivo (02-05-2013) 
    Shane8750 likes this.
  6. Whitecaps's Avatar
    Banned

    Posts
    378 Posts
    Global Posts
    380 Global Posts
    #6  

    Default

    I drive a Civic and the phone works fine with bluetooth pairing...
  7. topi's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    22 Posts
    Global Posts
    23 Global Posts
    #7  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by uktivo View Post
    Mattuk.
    Audi really messed up and gave you the option to add your own sim card. Whilst this sounds good can you imagine taking out your sim card and installing it each and every time into the car. So in an attempt to correct this oversight, Audi gave the software option to link to your handset by rSAP but this is not common on handsets. Hence my question.

    Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2
    HI,

    can't help you on the rSAP question (interested myself, as I have SAP in my MB). But your assessment isn't quite fair. SAP/rSAP has one huge advantage... the external mobile aerial of the car is used, as compared to normal BT Handsfree connection where your mobile phone is broadcasting the signal. In areas with poor qualitity signal strength rSAP has huge advantages.
    Also if you have a IR reflective windscreen the phones signal will be weakend.

    Torsten
  8. webmeister's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    589 Posts
    #8  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MattUK View Post
    Actually, don't Audi use QNX as the OS for their system? I'm sure BlackBerry listed Audi as one of the users at the launch.. would be ironic if they do and it doesn't work!
    Yes. Audi do use QNX. Kinda cool. I will let you know if my Z10 connects to my wife's Q5 tonight. Have to buy the phone 1st.
    chronic BlackBerry addict and abuser
  9. chasdrury's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    99 Posts
    #9  

    Default

    Hi, connects fine to a 2012 A6 with HDD 3G MMI....

    Chas

    Quote Originally Posted by uktivo View Post
    Mattuk.
    Thanks for the reply. Coming from a bmw530 only about 2 weeks ago I can advise they don't work the same. The BMW implemented the system correctly meaning they have their own sim card installed in the vehicle that is used for data connections such as BMW assist etc and the sim in your phone just uses blue tooth for calls etc. Audi really messed up and gave you the option to add your own sim card. Whilst this sounds good can you imagine taking out your sim card and installing it each and every time into the car. So in an attempt to correct this oversight, Audi gave the software option to link to your handset by rSAP but this is not common on handsets. Hence my question.

    Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2
  10. uktivo's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    286 Posts
    Global Posts
    411 Global Posts
    PIN
    2B63B0CE
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #10  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by topi View Post
    HI,

    can't help you on the rSAP question (interested myself, as I have SAP in my MB). But your assessment isn't quite fair. SAP/rSAP has one huge advantage... the external mobile aerial of the car is used, as compared to normal BT Handsfree connection where your mobile phone is broadcasting the signal. In areas with poor qualitity signal strength rSAP has huge advantages.
    Also if you have a IR reflective windscreen the phones signal will be weakend.

    Torsten
    Yep you are correct i missed that plus point....
  11. uktivo's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    286 Posts
    Global Posts
    411 Global Posts
    PIN
    2B63B0CE
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #11  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by chasdrury View Post
    Hi, connects fine to a 2012 A6 with HDD 3G MMI....

    Chas
    Chas thanks for this.
    Sorry to pick this apart but really don't want to waste 500 quid on a handset I then have to sell on.
    Your A6 is the same MMI as my A7 I think.
    My car has the ability to insert a sim into the dash.. or if your phone is rSAp compliant, leave your sim in your phone connect with rSAP and you get bluetooth and data connections for the Google maps etc. is this the same as yours?

    thanks
  12. chasdrury's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    99 Posts
    #12  

    Default

    Yep, un der the flap by the CD/ slot you can put the sim. I jumped in, connected up and all address book and call registers were tehre....

    Quote Originally Posted by uktivo View Post
    Chas thanks for this.
    Sorry to pick this apart but really don't want to waste 500 quid on a handset I then have to sell on.
    Your A6 is the same MMI as my A7 I think.
    My car has the ability to insert a sim into the dash.. or if your phone is rSAp compliant, leave your sim in your phone connect with rSAP and you get bluetooth and data connections for the Google maps etc. is this the same as yours?

    thanks
    Thanked by:
    uktivo (02-05-2013) 
  13. banbara's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    4 Posts
    #13  

    Default

    Hello,

    Who can tell me if the protocol SAP (Sim Access Profile) is supported by the Z10. In the characteristics of the Z10, it is simply stipulated Bluetooth 4.0 Low Energy. As for supported protocols there is no information, it is unworthy of Blackberry this lack of information. I would not buy a phone that does not work with my Mercedes using the SAP protocol
  14. webmeister's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    589 Posts
    #14  

    Default

    Did you call BlackBerry support?
    chronic BlackBerry addict and abuser
  15. Shadrackc's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    196 Posts
    PIN
    266F72BF
    #15  

    Default

    This is like the people with the high end six figure cars complaining about a 500 dollar phone. Do none of you know someone who has one? Do none of you have stores that have any return policy? Sorry but listening to people with audi and bmw 100k plus vehicles complain when it really is the cars issue is brutal.

    Posted via CB10
  16. ZA_BB_user's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    44 Posts
    #16  

    Default

    Connected my new absolutely Z10 with my MB car kit using RSAP without any issues.
    PFman likes this.
  17. dejanh's Avatar
    CrackBerry Master

    Posts
    1,288 Posts
    #17  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Shadrackc View Post
    This is like the people with the high end six figure cars complaining about a 500 dollar phone. Do none of you know someone who has one? Do none of you have stores that have any return policy? Sorry but listening to people with audi and bmw 100k plus vehicles complain when it really is the cars issue is brutal.

    Posted via CB10
    Lol, so true...

    "I know I spent $100K on a car, but that $500 on a phone, I don't know man...that seems kind of pricy".

    LMAO

    Posted via CB10
  18. banbara's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    4 Posts
    #18  

    Default

    Hello,

    No I have not called Blackberry support, because on their site I can not find a phone number for that, otherwise I would with pleasure.

    When a person who thinks that once we have a mercedes, it was money, I told him that my 8 year old Mercedes, and myself I bought it used. And even if I had the money, I do not see why I would buy hardware that is not compatible, so that does not serve me.

    ZA_BB_user thank you for this answer. What did you like about your Mercedes Bluetooth kit, it is original Mercedes.
  19. melb_me's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    436 Posts
    #19  

    Default

    Why not just drive to a phone store and get someone to bring a damn phone out and see if it links with your car?

    Posted via CB10
  20. pinkberryz10's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    23 Posts
    #20  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Whitecaps View Post
    I drive a Civic and the phone works fine with bluetooth pairing...
    Drug dealer lol

    Posted via CB10
  21. banbara's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    4 Posts
    #21  

    Default

    Hi everyone.

    Regarding the question on the Bluetooth protocol support SAP by Z10, the answer is no. In fact today I was able to experiment with a Z10 all beautiful, brand new, and I'm really disappointed. The pairing goes well, the car provided the code that is inserted in the phone, the vehicle is receiving data and provides information such as how the procedure is done correctly.

    The car then resets to take into account this new phone, and then the phone is not found, and it asks again the pairing code. these tests were done with the software version of the Z10 comes home, and with version 10.0.10.32 (SFR) and then with version 10.0.10.90 (Bouygues), the result is always the same. I have trouble understanding the BlackBerry misses the problem.
  22. topi's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    22 Posts
    Global Posts
    23 Global Posts
    #22  

    Default

    Hi everybody,

    In OS 10.2 under BT Settings you can activate "rSAP Mode". Haven't tested it, but Looks good.

    Torsten
  23. passport5's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    2 Posts
    #23  

    Default rSap blackberry

    hi i have rSAP activated,but nothing....:-( blackberry z30
    pairing ok,but 20 sec ,and then connection failed and then connecting...20 sec ok,then down....:-(
    vw passat cc 2008 ,RNS510......change the BT hf unit?
    BB bold 9900,my old Phone works perfectly......
    David
  24. bonito9983's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    1 Posts
    #24  

    Default

    Hi, I also activated rsap and paired my new Z10 via Bluetooth with my car VW Passat with Handyvorbereitung premium (HFP and RSAP) it also does not work.
    Disconnecting after 15 sec.
    It worked one time and I could make one incoming and one outgoing call. But I could Not repeat this.
    Best regards Manfred

    Posted via CB10
  25. passport5's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    2 Posts
    #25  

    Default

    Hi,i have the same problem....i must change the bt device,or wait for latest update?

    Posted via CB10
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Does the Z10 support browser music download?
    By dejisanusi in forum BlackBerry Z10
    Replies: 46
    Last Post: Yesterday, 06:22 AM
  2. Does the Z10 support all frequencies?
    By Arxondas in forum BlackBerry Z10
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-31-2013, 05:16 AM
  3. 4/8g Micro SD card-Which one does the Curve support?
    By kevstar in forum BlackBerry Curve 83xx
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 08-16-2008, 12:40 PM
  4. Does the Bold support .mp4?
    By BBSwany in forum BlackBerry Bold 9000
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-16-2008, 03:08 AM
  5. Does the 8830 support stereo headsets?
    By leewei in forum BlackBerry 8830 WE
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-25-2007, 11:37 AM

Posting Permissions