Results 1 to 25 of 25
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By PatrickMJS
  1. tgvgk's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    51 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #1  

    Default Does traffic on Z10 BB Maps even work?

    Used the Z10 BB map for traffic recently and got sent right into a bad jam. While sitting in traffic, I opened up Google maps and their traffic clearly showed the problem.

    Same thing happened again this am. So, a few minutes ago I took pictures of the notorious Cross Bronx Distressway on a Friday pm ahead of a long weekend in the US. Do it yourself or see the (hopefully) attached pics.

    BB map barely shows a slowdown...vs stop-and-go for Google map. My experiences and these shots raise the question: from where are these maps getting their data? There is an option to send traffic data in "Location Services" which I do not have on and, presumably, other BB owners (if available in devices other than the Z10) do not have on either. Maybe we need a lot more Z10s in the US... Makes me wonder if the BB map just a generic of typical travel conditions in these areas? Thoughts?Does traffic on Z10 BB Maps even work?-bb-cross-bronx2.jpgDoes traffic on Z10 BB Maps even work?-bb-cross-bronx.jpg
  2. Bigbacala's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    219 Posts
    #2  

    Default

    I have had issues with Google maps in my old BB.
    Sometimes it's very accurate, sometimes it's out to lunch.
    My only problem with the maps in the Z10 is that it is missing traffic completely for one of the key roadways in my area that I travel on daily.
  3. dracolnyte's Avatar
    CrackBerry Master

    Posts
    1,024 Posts
    #3  

    Default

    probably a delay in the updating of traffic.
    Bold 9000 -> iPhone 5 -> White Z10
    Playbook 16GB
  4. Gspot37's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    103 Posts
    #4  

    Default

    I can agree with you the traffic on bbmaps SUCKS ***. it always says all roads are clear and led me right into an hour and a half traffic jam today. terrible, just terrible.
  5. ekafara's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    948 Posts
    Global Posts
    950 Global Posts
    #5  

    Default

    I just turned on the traffic option and nothing happened.
  6. PatrickMJS's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    1,655 Posts
    #6  

    Default

    I don't think the traffic feature is working here in Alberta. But the turn-by-turn voice directions were clear and timely.

    For traffic updates I run a twitter search for "calgarycommute" and put a talk radio station on. Hopefully the online traffic data will become more reliable as more smartphone owners start using the traffic feeds. In the meantime, I'm happy to rely on other sources.

    Posted using CrackBerry App on BB10
    Patrick from Calgary
    ------------------------------
    Z10 STL100-3, OS version 10.2.1.2141
    PB 64 GB, OS version 2.1.0.1526
    kbalaz likes this.
  7. bk8logan's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    5 Posts
    #7  

    Default

    Just got this new Z10 after suffering through a few months of a Windows phone. The Maps app that comes with Windows totally blows this Z10 out of the water. The only way to see in advance where there might be traffic (see the actual RED lines) is to drill way down, practically to street level. Come on! Not only was the Windows phone Maps app MUCH faster, you could see all the traffic areas to avoid AT A GLANCE!

    BlackBerry has about 20 days to get better or I'm going back to Windows.
  8. QuIcKsIlV3r's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    2,914 Posts
    #8  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bk8logan View Post
    Just got this new Z10 after suffering through a few months of a Windows phone. The Maps app that comes with Windows totally blows this Z10 out of the water. The only way to see in advance where there might be traffic (see the actual RED lines) is to drill way down, practically to street level. Come on! Not only was the Windows phone Maps app MUCH faster, you could see all the traffic areas to avoid AT A GLANCE!

    BlackBerry has about 20 days to get better or I'm going back to Windows.
    Well see ya then....

    Waze is a great Maps app, so is Mireo Don't Panic. And Waze is FREE and Mireo has a 7 day trial period.
    Be a follower, follow me on twitter www.twitter.com/quicksilv3r
  9. pblakeney's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    297 Posts
    #9  

    Default

    Maybe it is addressed in 10.1 or 10.2. If not then I would plan on heading back to Windows because BBRY is not known for fast responses when given a timeline from someone else. But on the otherhand check with BBRY customer service if there is a fix coming up.
  10. Tracy Daken's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    54 Posts
    Global Posts
    88 Global Posts
    #10  

    Default

    Maps take time to develop, and Mireo is damn good. I use that one alot. Key issue I have with blackberry maps is that is doesn't store the route offline just in case you lose data. It is a good feature and should be implemented.
  11. Shadow_S2K's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    319 Posts
    #11  

    Default

    I'm in the US and when using BlackBerry maps to navigate in both the voice turn by turn and the text view of the direction all show where there is traffic or a slow down. Overall the few times I used it with the latest update it has been pretty accurate. I only have encountered traffic a few times but all showed up on BlackBerry maps. I am on ATT with the newest carrier build 10.1...I don't recall if the old 10.0 did this or not.

    What I do miss is the old BlackBerry Traffic on my old 9800...that was the best navigation app I've ever used.

    Posted via CB10
  12. #12  

    Default

    Traffic on my BlackBerry maps has never worked yet on my Z10. I've tested it in Toronto, Montreal, Chicago and Detroit.

    Sent from my Z10 using Tapatalk 2
    Unlocked Rogers Z10 STL100-3 10.2.1.2947 / Unlocked Bell Q10 SQN100-1 10.2.1.2947
  13. darkehawke's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    3,371 Posts
    Global Posts
    3,379 Global Posts
    #13  

    Default

    It has worked on mine. But you can't be too far zoomed I think. It worked where Google maps failed my friends with Android

    Posted via CB10
    Primary Device: Moto X
    Backup Device: Blackberry Z10
  14. #14  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by darkehawke View Post
    It has worked on mine. But you can't be too far zoomed I think. It worked where Google maps failed my friends with Android

    Posted via CB10
    Maybe that's my issue. Zoomed out to far.

    Sent from my Z10 using Tapatalk 2
    Unlocked Rogers Z10 STL100-3 10.2.1.2947 / Unlocked Bell Q10 SQN100-1 10.2.1.2947
  15. Fuzzballz's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    2,081 Posts
    Global Posts
    2,100 Global Posts
    PIN
    ot grigio
    #15  

    Default

    Makes me glad I switched to Android a couple of months ago. I enjoyed the old Blackberry Traffic app even though it didn't have a map associated with it. But I'm always driving new places under time constraints and absolutely need a bulletproof nav system on my phone with accurate, up-to-date traffic reports.

    If OP's two screencaps were taken at or near the same time, that's absolutely unacceptable and would leave me fuming.
  16. JaylieG's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    185 Posts
    #16  

    Default

    I use BlackBerry maps all the time and it always telling me traffic issues here in los angeles. I love it!

    Posted via CB10
    [♥]-------------------------------------------------------[♥]
    JaylieG
    [♥]-------------------------------------------------------[♥]
  17. tickerguy's Avatar
    CrackBerry Master

    Posts
    1,227 Posts
    #17  

    Default

    I get traffic warnings all the time on BB Maps -- a triangle with the distance to the wreck, slowdown, etc...
  18. bigglybobblyboo's Avatar
    CrackBerry Master

    Posts
    1,024 Posts
    Global Posts
    1,025 Global Posts
    #18  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tickerguy View Post
    I get traffic warnings all the time on BB Maps -- a triangle with the distance to the wreck, slowdown, etc...
    Agreed, I even got a warning triangle the other day just because I was sat waiting at some traffic lights. Works well for me in the UK...

    Feel it, Swipe it, Love it. BlackBerry Z10...
    Feel It, Swipe It, Love It. Blackberry Z10...
    Come Muse At Bigglybobblyboo's Cavalcade of Whimsy!
    Channel PIN C001CFCCD
  19. bradu1's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    2,130 Posts
    Global Posts
    2,142 Global Posts
    #19  

    Default

    I live out in the boondocks in California, we're always the last to get anything around here, but traffic works for me.

    And why are you using the map view? I'd get so confused trying to find something that way. Navigation view is so much easier.

    Posted via CB10
    #IchooseBlackBerry10
    BB#25
  20. niss63's Avatar
    CrackBerry Master

    Posts
    1,205 Posts
    Global Posts
    1,209 Global Posts
    #20  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bradu1 View Post
    And why are you using the map view?
    To view traffic and plan alternate routes? At least that is what I would like to use it for.

    Posted via CB10
  21. bradu1's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    2,130 Posts
    Global Posts
    2,142 Global Posts
    #21  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by niss63 View Post
    To view traffic and plan alternate routes? At least that is what I would like to use it for.

    Posted via CB10
    Oh. Yeah, I could see that. I only use the navigation view

    Posted via CB10
    #IchooseBlackBerry10
    BB#25
  22. Dennis Kearney's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    101 Posts
    #22  

    Default

    Bb maps always tells me aloud when I'm going to have traffic congestion and allows me enough time to change my route. I actually like it

    I also don't care about seeing pictures of buildings or people. It does its job well. Imo. I'm in Calgary, Alberta.

    I do wish it knew about construction and didn't try to make me use half built bridges. Lol.
  23. maclaskey's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    89 Posts
    #23  

    Default

    I always thought the traffic feature was a waste. Wgaf. BlackBerry maps is amazing and better than using a Garmin. Z10 is awesome and if not knowing what roads have traffic is that important go get a windows phone.

    Posted via CB10
  24. AlwaysSmile's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    695 Posts
    Global Posts
    714 Global Posts
    #24  

    Default

    This is BlackBerry all about....!

    Posted via CB10 ~ Follow me on Twitter @TheNewsHQ for all news as it happens ~
    For all worldwide news as it happens add C000E96C1 To your channels
  25. Fuzzballz's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    2,081 Posts
    Global Posts
    2,100 Global Posts
    PIN
    ot grigio
    #25  

    Default

    I don't think the traffic feature is working here in Alberta. But the turn-by-turn voice directions were clear and timely.

    For traffic updates I run a twitter search for "calgarycommute" and put a talk radio station on. Hopefully the online traffic data will become more reliable
    Good lord man, your phone's traffic app is so bad that you have to listen to traffic reports on the radio and you're ok with that?

    I use the nav/traffic app on my Android phone probably a half dozen times a week. Other than SMS and email it's probably the most-used feature on my phone. BB Traffic did a passable job back when I had a Tour... but I don't know how you guys just shrug that sort of thing off. Maybe if you don't drive to new places very much.....

Similar Threads

  1. My BB maps is working on my 9700 without a data plan
    By jayisbold in forum BlackBerry Bold 9700
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-15-2010, 07:54 AM
  2. Storm 9530 Help - Getting BB Maps to Work on Rogers??
    By MyThIc3LiTe in forum BlackBerry Storm
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 10-12-2009, 11:35 AM
  3. Pls help, BB maps not working on curve with a data plan
    By AJBRUCIE in forum BlackBerry Curve 8900
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-31-2009, 06:20 PM
  4. Backlight Does not stay ON with BB Maps for GPS.
    By gtiger in forum General BlackBerry Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-07-2008, 01:27 PM
  5. Why does IM on the BB never work?
    By devnull in forum General BlackBerry Discussion
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 06-17-2008, 08:44 PM

Posting Permissions