Welcome to the CrackBerry Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. cwoodffr's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    506 Posts
    Global Posts
    515 Global Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #1  

    Default Conference calls in calendar...incredible

    I am blown away with the parsing of info out of complex conference call invites. Had one initiated from India this morning....I am in Canada. It picked up the right number for Canada but gave me an optional pick list for the other regions. Also had the right Code for access in the string. All of this from a mash of text and numbers in the invite. Very cool an major pain saver.
  2. Johnnyboy5's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    21 Posts
    Global Posts
    36 Global Posts
    #2  

    Default

    Is there a way to set up a conference call on the z10 and then initiate it from the phone with a simple button press or sequence? Had this capability on the 9900 but can't seem to find it on the z10. Thx.
  3. cooper_tor's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    37 Posts
    #3  

    Default

    I put a shortcut in my auto text to replace a key word with my bridge: 18005551234,9999# where 9999# is the participant pass code.
    Then, when setting up a new meeting, I type the keyword into the location field and voila, the meeting has my bridge info for all participants. Anyone running an iphone or BlackBerry can click and connect. Last I tried, android would launch the map app and try to search the number like a gps coordinate

    Hth

    Posted via CB10
  4. kmcaustin's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    4 Posts
    #4  

    Default

    That does work, but it does not auto dial the entire string. It still requires you to press dial button to dial the 9999#. It used to work with the entire string. I have tired (P), (X) (,,) and none of them work like before.. enhancement request!
  5. jonty12's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    1,701 Posts
    Global Posts
    1,749 Global Posts
    PIN
    333BCCA7
    #5  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Johnnyboy5 View Post
    Is there a way to set up a conference call on the z10 and then initiate it from the phone with a simple button press or sequence? Had this capability on the 9900 but can't seem to find it on the z10. Thx.
    If you set it up in calendar, then setup a calendar event for the call (and insert the conference info), you can just hit "join now" like with BB Mobile Conferencing on BBOS. Just had a twitter discussion with Michael Clewley about it and then tested with a friend in Calgary with a Z10 and it worked like a charm.Conference calls in calendar...incredible-mctwitter.jpg
  6. cooper_tor's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    37 Posts
    #6  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kmcaustin View Post
    That does work, but it does not auto dial the entire string. It still requires you to press dial button to dial the 9999#. It used to work with the entire string. I have tired (P), (X) (,,) and none of them work like before.. enhancement request!
    I do not have to press dial to get the extension. I use , to separate the string

    Posted via CB10
  7. BroadheadDJG's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    1 Posts
    #7  

    Default Auto Populate Conference Call #

    How do I auto populate my dial-in number to the location feature in an invite without having to type the entire number into the application. I had a box that I checked on my old blackberry.
  8. Carmels's Avatar
    CrackBerry Master

    Posts
    1,038 Posts
    #8  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jonty12 View Post
    If you set it up in calendar, then setup a calendar event for the call (and insert the conference info), you can just hit "join now" like with BB Mobile Conferencing on BBOS. Just had a twitter discussion with Michael Clewley about it and then tested with a friend in Calgary with a Z10 and it worked like a charm.Click image for larger version. 

Name:	MCTwitter.JPG 
Views:	967 
Size:	43.7 KB 
ID:	141587
    Just some I have this correctly, when I get a meeting invite in my Outlook it syncs with my Z10. But I can't seem to dial directly from that invite, so what I need to do is manually create another event within my calendar with the same conference bridge info?

    Why can't I just edit the original invite to recognize the conference bridge details? That would be much better then creating multiple entries.

    Posted via CB10 using a Z10
    "Think highly of yourself, because the world will take you at your own estimate."
  9. jonty12's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    1,701 Posts
    Global Posts
    1,749 Global Posts
    PIN
    333BCCA7
    #9  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Carmels View Post
    Just some I have this correctly, when I get a meeting invite in my Outlook it syncs with my Z10. But I can't seem to dial directly from that invite, so what I need to do is manually create another event within my calendar with the same conference bridge info?

    Why can't I just edit the original invite to recognize the conference bridge details? That would be much better then creating multiple entries.

    Posted via CB10 using a Z10
    Not sure what you mean. If there is dial-in info (number, "participant code", "access code", etc.) in the invitation it will auto-scan it and give the "Join" option.
  10. jonty12's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    1,701 Posts
    Global Posts
    1,749 Global Posts
    PIN
    333BCCA7
    #10  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BroadheadDJG View Post
    How do I auto populate my dial-in number to the location feature in an invite without having to type the entire number into the application. I had a box that I checked on my old blackberry.
    That functionality is not in yet. I was told it was coming in a maintenance release - not sure if it'll make it into the upcoming summer MR, or we we have to wait for a later one or 10.2.
  11. Carmels's Avatar
    CrackBerry Master

    Posts
    1,038 Posts
    #11  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jonty12 View Post
    Not sure what you mean. If there is dial-in info (number, "participant code", "access code", etc.) in the invitation it will auto-scan it and give the "Join" option.
    I don't ever get a "join" option in any of my invites. If I did I wouldn't have any questions. All I get now is the bridge details and I'm having to memorize the conference participate number after dialing the bridge access number. Very annoying because BlackBerry Conference allowed you to edit the invite and save the correct credentials so the join in option would show up.

    Posted via CB10 using a Z10
    "Think highly of yourself, because the world will take you at your own estimate."

Similar Threads

  1. Conference call function in calendar
    By chadrph in forum General BlackBerry Discussion
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 02-16-2013, 09:29 AM
  2. Is there a way to enter conference call passcode from the calendar entry
    By pakman92 in forum General BlackBerry Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-17-2011, 01:05 PM
  3. No Conference Call option in the Calendar?
    By houtxfdcapt in forum BlackBerry Bold 9000
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-09-2010, 07:28 AM
  4. Call in progress (Menu) / Conference Calls
    By marker23 in forum BlackBerry 8830 WE
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 10-11-2009, 06:12 PM
  5. logging phone calls in the calendar
    By Robocoffee in forum BlackBerry OS Apps
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 01-11-2009, 02:33 PM

Posting Permissions