Welcome to the CrackBerry Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. D1122's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    7 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #1  

    Default Can I run my plan on Z10?

    Some help would be much appreciated.

    So I currently have an old BB bold, with my employer on a company plan. Our plan consists of BES data? Which is apparently different from PDA data (which iphones, 3g, etc. uses). I have tried putting my sim card in another phone that wasn't a BB and it did not work because it used "PDA" data. My question is, does the Blackberry Z10 run on BES data, PDA data, or both? I would like the new z10 but am not sure if it will work with my plan. Someone has told me it only uses PDA data, and I just wanted to confirm or get another opinion.

    Thanks for your help!
  2. domcos's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    27 Posts
    #2  

    Default

    I have the same issue. Rogers dealer was unable to confirm. My work is installing Fusion, but I am using Active Synch with BES on my account. I also noticed huge data usage spike since I got mine last week.
  3. ianchristie1972's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    76 Posts
    Global Posts
    82 Global Posts
    #3  

    Default Can I run my plan on Z10?

    The Z10 will use BES. You will get all the push and data compression you are used to.

    People like me who are on BIS will lose the BIS benefits. Only BBM will use BIS, I think that's how it goes.

    There have been other posts on this and I think it was a featured article on CrackBerry.

    Sent from my BlackBerry 9700 using Tapatalk
  4. b320's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    982 Posts
    #4  

    Default

    D1122, welcome to CrackBerry!

    To add to (not supplant) what the previous posters said, also keep in mind that your carrier is the entity that determines what devices will work with your BES plan. Unfortunately, carriers have been providing bad or inconsistent information regarding which BlackBerry plans are required or optional and which ones simply will and will not work. This is the case because BES (and other data services) on BlackBerry 10 devices work completely differently from both BIS and BES on legacy BlackBerry devices running Handheld Software 7.x and lower.

    Can you tell us which carrier you're on?

    PS: Thanks for considering a BlackBerry Z10 device.
  5. D1122's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    7 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #5  

    Default

    Yes, I am with Bell, in Canada.
  6. b320's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    982 Posts
    #6  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by D1122 View Post
    Yes, I am with Bell, in Canada.
    From other posters, it sounds like you need to keep a BlackBerry plan on Bell.

    Posted using CrackBerry App on BB10
  7. xamdam's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    3,049 Posts
    Global Posts
    3,056 Global Posts
    #7  

    Default

    I have a android plan running on my z10 as I just sold my Samsung galaxy s3 the other day and picked this awesome z10, just see my signature.

    U can use a android plan with BlackBerry and a BlackBerry plan with android, but I phone won't work on android plan, but will work on older bus plan.

    Werid I know.

    Posted using CrackBerry App on BB10
    New Phone: Iphone 4s, Old Phones: Blackberry Z10, Samsung Galaxy S3 (Sold), Iphone 4 (Used By Family)
    LTE Playbook 32gb (Dec 2012), OS version is 1753.
    On Rogers Service

    "When in doubt, buy a laptop"

Similar Threads

  1. Can I run my Bold 9650 on T-mobile
    By Muscle Master in forum T-Mobile
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-30-2010, 10:08 AM
  2. I can't turn my phone on!!
    By poetologics in forum BlackBerry 8830 WE
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-11-2010, 01:41 AM
  3. How can I upgrade my phone on BES
    By Titanbry77 in forum BlackBerry Administrators
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 09-05-2008, 07:22 PM
  4. Can't get my hotmail on my Blackberry
    By Care56 in forum BlackBerry Pearl 81xx
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-03-2008, 02:23 PM
  5. Can I replace my 8300 on eBay, I have AT&T/cing
    By teamroor in forum General BlackBerry Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-30-2007, 09:00 PM

Posting Permissions