Results 1 to 25 of 25
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By kbz1960
  1. mystic84's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    473 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #1  

    Default BlackBerry Link doesn't see my Z10

    I've bought my Z10 this afternoon. Now I'm trying to transfer data from my 9900 to the Z10 but nothing works. When I connect the device to my pc, Windows starts looking for and installing the device drivers but after a bit it says installation didnt go fine. So, BlackBerry Link doesnt see my Z10 and now I'm stuck. Any suggestions? Thanks.

    PS: I'm really pissed. This phone's 7 hours old and I'm already going thru troubles.
  2. mystic84's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    473 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #2  

    Default

    Please help before I go nuts.
  3. stego's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    138 Posts
    #3  

    Default Re: BlackBerry Link doesn't see my Z10

    I don't have my z10 yet, and I use a mac..but in any case, best to search for your solution to start off. here is a link to bbry link user guide...

    http://docs.blackberry.com/en/smartp...8229285589.jsp
  4. sk8er_tor's Avatar
    CrackBerry Master

    Posts
    1,329 Posts
    Global Posts
    1,331 Global Posts
    #4  

    Default

    Try turning the WiFi off on your device, reboot, and then plug it in. Do not turn WiFi on.

    On my PlayBook, I always have to turn off WiFi before plugging it in via USB.
  5. kbz1960's Avatar
    Doesn't Matter

    Posts
    55,779 Posts
    Global Posts
    55,934 Global Posts
    #5  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mystic84 View Post
    Please help before I go nuts.
    If you look like your avatar you already have LOL. Just fooling ya. I don't have a Z10 yet so I can't help
    Sent from me using my fingers. Be pantless in 5K. Febreze - for more than smells.
    the 50K CrackBerry challenge
    I'm no more qualified to say so because I own a BlackBerry
    mystic84 likes this.
  6. cyprusfire's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    31 Posts
    #6  

    Default

    I had the same problem until I temporarily disabled my Internet Security / Anti-Virus program. Both the USB and wifi methods worked like a charm
  7. mystic84's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    473 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #7  

    Default

    No way. Triee disabling antivirus, tried turning off data connection and wifi, tried thru secure wipe and tried to reinstall BB Link more than once. No way. BlackBerry is gonna lose a great fan real soon.
  8. Corey Miller1's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    2 Posts
    #8  

    Default

    I had to uninstall BlackBerry desktop manager and remove all traces of it, and then reinstall link.

    Windows seems to have a tough recognizing the z10 for the first time. You can also try manually disabling it from device manager and then scan for changes

    Posted via CB10
  9. mystic84's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    473 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #9  

    Default

    No way even after uninstalling BB Desktop Software. Where the **** I can find those goddam Windows drivers?
  10. sk8er_tor's Avatar
    CrackBerry Master

    Posts
    1,329 Posts
    Global Posts
    1,331 Global Posts
    #10  

    Default

    Here's what you should try first: If you have USB Mass Storage (Settings - Storage and Access - USB Mass Storage) enabled, then DISABLE it and after it's disabled, try to plug the Z10 to the computer using the USB and check if BlackBerry Link will now detect your device.

    If you continue to have problems, here's what I suggest you may want to try if you had any BlackBerry software loaded on your computer beforehand:

    Here's what I did to make sure all previous files were deleted and have a fresh BlackBerry Link version installed.

    I uninstalled BlackBerry Link. When I was asked if I wanted to also delete all user preference, I said yes.
    I went into Control Panel/System/Device Manager and uninstalled the RIM virtual serial ports. You will find this under Ports.

    Next, I wanted to make sure everything from my old BlackBerry Desktop Software (which I had previously uninstalled) actually uninstalled properly:
    I installed BlackBerry Desktop software. I then uninstalled BlackBerry Desktop software. When I was asked if I wanted to also delete all user preferences, I said yes.
    I went into Control Panel/System/Device Manager and uninstalled the RIM virtual serial ports. You will find this under Ports.

    I restarted my computer.

    I installed BlackBerry Link.

    I disabled WiFi sharing and USB Mass Storage on my Z10. I rebooted my Z10. When it started, I plugged my Z10 into the computer using the USB cable.

    Now everything works.

    Again, all the steps I did may not be necessary, however, this is what I did. I think it may have something to do with old files being left behind from the old BlackBerry Desktop Software.
    Last edited by sk8er_tor; 03-05-2013 at 08:45 PM.
  11. Boight's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    412 Posts
    #11  

    Default

    What version of Windows?
    On win8 I had the z10 plugged into USB, intalled Link and it's working fine. No muss, no fuss, no disabling anything.
    Like the others, I had uninstalled DM and did a restart before installing Link.
    Shareholder and owner of Playbook and STL-100-3 Z10 SR 10.2.1.537 on Telus in Alberta
  12. sk8er_tor's Avatar
    CrackBerry Master

    Posts
    1,329 Posts
    Global Posts
    1,331 Global Posts
    #12  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Boight View Post
    What version of Windows?
    On win8 I had the z10 plugged into USB, intalled Link and it's working fine. No muss, no fuss, no disabling anything.
    Like the others, I had uninstalled DM and did a restart before installing Link.
    I had also uninstalled DM and restarted and it wasn't until a few days later that I installed BB Link.

    Windows 7 Pro, 64-bit.
    I could connect my Z10 and I could see my SD card from Windows Explorer, however that's about it. BB Link would not see the device until I turned off USB Mass Storage (which is by default off but I had enabled it when I bought the SD card).
  13. mystic84's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    473 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #13  

    Default

    I'm on Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit. At least I succeeded moving contacts from the 9900 to the Z10 using the micro-sd switch device. But this means nothing: BB Link should see my Z10, apart from being able to switch device thru a sd card.

    Anyways I'm now trying to fix it following sk8ter_tor's suggestions.Thanks guys.
  14. mystic84's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    473 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #14  

    Default

    No way. Under Storage and Access I set the device on Connect to Windows and now the drivers got installed, but BB Link keeps saying "Impossible to communicate with the device" (does it say this in English? My Link speaks italian ). In the end it's not working at all. Honestly I dont know what to do.

    Do they know over at BlackBerry that there are hundreds of people getting the same problem as me?
  15. seankly's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    132 Posts
    #15  

    Default

    To get your new Z10 up and running quickly and transfer your data from your bold, use the micro sd method.

    Go to setup on your bold with an sd card in then go to setup, device switch. Transfer your data and then put the sd card in your z10. It should automatically start the transfer process.

    After that you have some time to get your computer working with BlackBerry Link.

    Link on my pc seems only to work the first time I install then after that says my device needs restored?!

    Hope this helps


    Posted via CB10
  16. seankly's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    132 Posts
    #16  

    Default

    Just noticed you already did the sd card method. Sorry!


    Posted via CB10
  17. mystic84's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    473 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #17  

    Default

    No worries man. I did it successfully, but I'd be sooooooo happy if BB Link worked too!
  18. AWB70's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    611 Posts
    #18  

    Default

    I had to disconnect the phone but leave link running, set link to open when phone is connected and plug it int
    a different usb port..
  19. mystic84's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    473 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #19  

    Default

    This is not working either.

    Worst question of my life: do you thinks it's a problem with BB Link or with my Z10?
  20. Gnomesane's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    2,508 Posts
    #20  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mystic84 View Post
    This is not working either.

    Worst question of my life: do you thinks it's a problem with BB Link or with my Z10?
    It has to be your desktop. Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit? Forgive me for asking, but is your Win7 install legitimate or a torrent? Let's start there.

    If legit, did you previously have Blackberry Desktop Manager installed? Clearly, something is 'stuck' in the OS and won't proceed. If your Z10 phone is otherwise fully working, don't blame the phone as it clearly sounds like an OS issue. It almost always is.

    If it persists, try going to a different computer. Go to a non-Blackberry friend's computer and download Blackberry Link and try installing with your BB ID and see if you have the same issues.
  21. mystic84's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    473 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #21  

    Default

    Ok, will try this too! Thanks
  22. AWB70's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    611 Posts
    #22  

    Default

    Can you just treat the phone as a mass storage device without using Link? If you can access files without link installed then the device is good. Turn on mass storage on the phone on someone elses computer and without link and see if it is recognised.
  23. nickbthomas's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    4 Posts
    #23  

    Default

    not sure if you fixed it... this string is about a month old. I was having the same issue and changed the setting under storage and access to auto detect instead of windows and it shows up in link now...
  24. celestial blue's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    22 Posts
    #24  

    Default

    Hey, had the same problem and did this... so much easier and fixed it all
    My device isn't recognized when I connect it to my computer - How To - BlackBerry Z10 Smartphone - 10.0.0
  25. Chi Cong Nguyen's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    5 Posts
    #25  

    Default

    On Windows 8, the BB Link cannot recognize my Z10 when I connect it to my computer (use USB cable). I tried many many way to fix it. I tried a hundreds of times for uninstall and restart and install and restart... but useless. The computer always shows stupid notification "USB device not recognized".

Similar Threads

  1. BlackBerry Link won't backup my z10
    By sciack in forum BlackBerry Z10
    Replies: 39
    Last Post: 06-22-2013, 07:42 PM
  2. BB Link doesn't see my Z10!
    By flagz1969 in forum BlackBerry Z10
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-07-2013, 11:15 AM
  3. blackberry app world doesn't see my apps on my phone
    By petworks97 in forum BlackBerry OS Apps
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-28-2012, 09:14 AM
  4. blackberry app world doesn't see my apps on my phone
    By petworks97 in forum BlackBerry Torch 9860/9850
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-28-2012, 09:14 AM
  5. dm doesn't see my bb hd
    By Vested in forum BlackBerry Curve 83xx
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-30-2008, 08:04 AM

Posting Permissions