Welcome to the CrackBerry Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
Results 1 to 17 of 17
Like Tree3Likes
  • 1 Post By belfastdispatcher
  • 2 Post By jesse_h
  1. jfguay2's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    315 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #1  

    Default BBM on Z10: confirmed to work only on WIFI

    Hello all,

    I tried switching off my cell connection, so that I could test and see if BBM could work only off Wifi signal, and it does. It was not working on my 9800, so this is good.

    Off course, I still think you need to be on a plan. Can someone confirm if you could get BBM to work on a Z10, without a cell plan, and only based on entering the Blackberry ID?

    Cheers,

    JF
  2. belfastdispatcher's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius of Geniuses

    Posts
    13,837 Posts
    PIN
    27F48177
    #2  

    Default

    I can confirm. I was able to set bbm on wifi only, no sim.
    spike12 likes this.
  3. whitbags's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    395 Posts
    #3  

    Default

    Same here.

    I was in an area with no cell phone coverage but still managed to have a BBM conversation. Quite surprised, I was !!
  4. jfguay2's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    315 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #4  

    Default

    Isn't this great? Having said that, it seems as though it is bad news for investors, as this means less money from services...
  5. masterscarhead1's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    2,905 Posts
    #5  

    Default

    This function was added in OS7.
  6. Sqoon's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    548 Posts
    #6  

    Default

    Data is cheap, why would you do this to yourself
  7. ichat's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    1,581 Posts
    Global Posts
    1,590 Global Posts
    PIN
    Hey... Why Do You Want To Know?
    #7  

    Default BBM on Z10: confirmed to work only on WIFI

    In OS 7, if I am correct, if you have a current data plan, you can go anywhere in the world and use all blackberry services via wifi. Helped a heck lot.

    Sent from my Nintendo NES
    Thanks For Reading My Post
  8. jesse_h's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    1,579 Posts
    Global Posts
    1,598 Global Posts
    #8  

    Default

    Your thread title is very misleading.
    S5
    Z10
    64gb PlayBook
    chi-town311 and pels_17 like this.
  9. EECGeek's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    92 Posts
    Global Posts
    97 Global Posts
    #9  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sqoon View Post
    Data is cheap, why would you do this to yourself
    Are BBM messages not free(included) anyway?
    Nokia 6265i>HTC Dream>Bold 9700>Torch 9800>Bold 9780>Galaxy SII>iPhone 4>Bold 9900>Galaxy SII LTE>Bold 9900>iPhone 5>BB Z10 OS v10.1.0.1970
  10. EECGeek's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    92 Posts
    Global Posts
    97 Global Posts
    #10  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jesse_h View Post
    Your thread title is very misleading.
    Yes it is!
    Nokia 6265i>HTC Dream>Bold 9700>Torch 9800>Bold 9780>Galaxy SII>iPhone 4>Bold 9900>Galaxy SII LTE>Bold 9900>iPhone 5>BB Z10 OS v10.1.0.1970
  11. bmercer94's Avatar
    CrackBerry Master

    Posts
    1,033 Posts
    Global Posts
    1,035 Global Posts
    #11  

    Default

    It should say "Without cell coverage" or something over the like

    Posted using CrackBerry App on BB10
    Device(s): Curve 9300>Bold 9700>Z10>Samsung Galaxy Note 2>Z10 #BlackBerryByChoice
    Tablet: BlackBerry Playbook 32GB
  12. tmyrden's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    13 Posts
    #12  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jesse_h View Post
    Your thread title is very misleading.
    No kidding. Title should be changed to read "BBM on Z10: Confirmed to work without cellular" or something. The title says that it only works on wifi.
  13. andrewmcwhirter's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    286 Posts
    Global Posts
    288 Global Posts
    #13  

    Default

    This worked on my Torch 9800 also. I used bbm when I was in Mexico last summer with no cell coverage and only wifi at my hotel. I think as long as it detects you have a valid sim card in the phone (?) it will work.
    8900 - 9800 - Playbook - Z10 - Passport
  14. jfguay2's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    315 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #14  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tmyrden View Post
    No kidding. Title should be changed to read "BBM on Z10: Confirmed to work without cellular" or something. The title says that it only works on wifi.
    How do you change the title of a thread? Can't find an edit function for the title...
  15. bmercer94's Avatar
    CrackBerry Master

    Posts
    1,033 Posts
    Global Posts
    1,035 Global Posts
    #15  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jfguay2 View Post
    How do you change the title of a thread? Can't find an edit function for the title...
    I believe a moderator has to do it

    Posted using CrackBerry App on BB10
    Device(s): Curve 9300>Bold 9700>Z10>Samsung Galaxy Note 2>Z10 #BlackBerryByChoice
    Tablet: BlackBerry Playbook 32GB
  16. hisham2k's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    13 Posts
    #16  

    Default

    Well, I've run into this problem... All works through 3g except for bbm which only works when connected to wifi!
  17. sarahrich's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    254 Posts
    PIN
    2674F37B
    #17  

    Default

    I set my whole device up without a sim card and was really surprised that i could bbm after device swapping even without the sim card even going into the phone (it didn't fit)

    Posted using CrackBerry App on BB10
    Curve 9300 > Torch 9800 > BlackBerry Z10

Similar Threads

  1. Buzz off app doesnt seem to work im on tmobile
    By jmwshowa in forum BlackBerry OS Apps
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-25-2009, 08:58 PM
  2. Anyone get "StormSlider" to work perfect on their 9530 storm?
    By ronyoung08 in forum Storm 3rd Party Apps
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 08-23-2009, 11:33 AM
  3. Anyone get "StormSlider" to work perfect on their 9530 storm?
    By ronyoung08 in forum BlackBerry Storm
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 08-23-2009, 09:18 AM
  4. Anyone get BerrySlider to work perfect on their 9530 storm?
    By ronyoung08 in forum BlackBerry OS Apps
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-22-2009, 08:22 PM
  5. Has anyone been able to get a theme to work 100% on 5.0
    By racinwarrior in forum BlackBerry Storm 9530/9500 Themes
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-21-2009, 04:45 PM

Posting Permissions