Welcome to the CrackBerry Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. AWK47's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    40 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #1  

    Default BB10/ Z10 Specs Question

    Hey Guys,

    So i Was reading the latest leaks post on CrackBerry, and I noticed a possible error. In the Antenna specs it is listed as below.

    Radio: Quad Band HSPA+ / UMTS (850/900/1700/1900/2100MHz

    Being that this is 5 bands, and supports the PentaBand bands doesn't that make it a Pentaband HSPA+ Device?

    Wikipedia defines penta band as: The term penta-band describes a device that supports fivefrequency bands: 850, 900, 1900, 2100 and 1700/2100 (AWS) MHz bands.

    The leaked spec sheet seems to support this?

    Thanks for any input on this topic.
  2. Jtaylor1986's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    598 Posts
    #2  

    Default

    band 4 is 1700 and 2100 I believe.
  3. Skeevecr's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    3,571 Posts
    #3  

    Default

    On that list you have the following:

    Band 1 - 2100
    Band 2 - 1900
    Band 4 - 1700
    Band 5 - 850
    Band 8 - 900

    It might simply be a typo and it is actually pentaband or they might have regional variants e.g. in Europe the important ones would be band 1 and to a lesser extent band 8, whereas an American variant might drop band 8 and just get by with band 1 for global roaming over there and add in the band 4 instead.
  4. borbella's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    25 Posts
    #4  

    Default BB10/ Z10 Specs Question

    I am very confused when reading up on the latest specs for BB 10. Many sites are referring to it as a Quad-Band radio featuring HSPA+/UMTS, GSM/GPRS and Quad-Band LTE Band 2,4,5,13,17.

    In reading this, I was under the impression that I would be able to use this phone (once unlocked of course) with Wind Mobile using HSPA 1700/2100, Band 4, non- LTE but also have the flexibility to move to our other National Providers with GSM 850/1900, LTE.

    However, lately I have also been hearing about different versions of the Z10 phone being manufactured, one for the AWS/HSPA Band non-LTE, and 2 other versions which are LTE-capable but not AWS/HSPA compliant. If this is the case, this purchase will leave me locked-in with my present AWS/HSPA provider at the moment, which I was trying to avoid.

    Has anyone else heard this? This would be a great disappointment to me as I am definitely looking at making my next cellular phone investment Quad-band or Pentaband to avoid these types of situations.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
  5. kolok's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    211 Posts
    Global Posts
    215 Global Posts
    #5  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by borbella View Post
    I am very confused when reading up on the latest specs for BB 10. Many sites are referring to it as a Quad-Band radio featuring HSPA+/UMTS, GSM/GPRS and Quad-Band LTE Band 2,4,5,13,17.

    In reading this, I was under the impression that I would be able to use this phone (once unlocked of course) with Wind Mobile using HSPA 1700/2100, Band 4, non- LTE but also have the flexibility to move to our other National Providers with GSM 850/1900, LTE.

    However, lately I have also been hearing about different versions of the Z10 phone being manufactured, one for the AWS/HSPA Band non-LTE, and 2 other versions which are LTE-capable but not AWS/HSPA compliant. If this is the case, this purchase will leave me locked-in with my present AWS/HSPA provider at the moment, which I was trying to avoid.

    Has anyone else heard this? This would be a great disappointment to me as I am definitely looking at making my next cellular phone investment Quad-band or Pentaband to avoid these types of situations.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
    Good questions... the specs have me perplexed as well. Seems there will be a number of Z10 variations out there. It would truly suck if RIM made x number of Z10's with a hodge-podge of different cell radios in each one. Is it really not possible to make a phone with all the frequency support?
  6. borbella's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    25 Posts
    #6  

    Default BB10/ Z10 Specs Question

    Seriously! If this is the case, I don't know what the reasoning would be behind it but the ultimate result would definitely be lost sales. I am impatiently waiting for the release of BB 10 but if the phones coming out are going to be this restrictive, I may not take the plunge. My present provider doesn't have LTE but the service is cheap. If this device is really great and I eventually decide to spend the extra few $ for LTE down the road, I want that flexibility.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
  7. narci's Avatar
    CrackBerry Master

    Posts
    1,342 Posts
    Global Posts
    1,343 Global Posts
    #7  

    Default

    The google nexus 4 is a pentaband and work with all carriers so it is possible to make 1 phone for all carriers.
  8. borbella's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    25 Posts
    #8  

    Default Re: BB10/ Z10 Specs Question

    Quote Originally Posted by narci View Post
    The google nexus 4 is a pentaband and work with all carriers so it is possible to make 1 phone for all carriers.
    You're right but I was specifically hoping for a BlackBerry

    Sent from my SGH-T989D using Tapatalk 2
  9. lnichols's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius of Geniuses

    Posts
    6,749 Posts
    Global Posts
    7,287 Global Posts
    #9  

    Default Re: BB10/ Z10 Specs Question

    We'll have to wait for Jan 30 to know for sure. The US ones, based on FCC reports, appear to give up some HSPA frequencies for LTE support. Everything out now is leaks and speculation.
  10. borbella's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    25 Posts
    #10  

    Default BB10/ Z10 Specs Question

    Here's to counting down to Jan 30 for more accurate details. Hoping for the best!


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
  11. AWK47's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    40 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #11  

    Default BB10/ Z10 Specs Question

    Quote Originally Posted by narci View Post
    The google nexus 4 is a pentaband and work with all carriers so it is possible to make 1 phone for all carriers.
    Yes it is pentaband for HSPA+ but doesnt have LTE (Officially). I was hoping with paratek that they would be the first to do pentaband With LTE. I guess we will have to wait and see
  12. Stash777's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    6 Posts
    #12  

    Default

    Well that also depends on where those carriers are. The Samsung Galaxy S3 for LTE in North America has a dual core processor and caters to specific LTE bands/frequencies. I bought my GS3 in India which has no LTE but has HSPA+ and uses the Quad Core chip. They also have an LTE version for European use. So its not only Blackberry, but Blackberry does usually seem to have more tailored variants for each market.
    I am planning to get rid of my GS3 and try to get a AWS compatible variant from Canada, and even the one without AWS (1700) support will work, as not many places outside Canada use this band. Either of the two versions available in Canada will work practically worldwide once unlocked, as most providers worldwide utilise the 2100 frequency, and even Wind Mobile does 2100 in addition to 1700, so service would be provided.
    Check the following data file for info on worldwide providers...
    http://connectedlife.gsma.com/wp-con...ngdecember.pdf
  13. jmcdaniel101's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    12 Posts
    #13  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Stash777 View Post
    Well that also depends on where those carriers are. The Samsung Galaxy S3 for LTE in North America has a dual core processor and caters to specific LTE bands/frequencies. I bought my GS3 in India which has no LTE but has HSPA+ and uses the Quad Core chip. They also have an LTE version for European use. So its not only Blackberry, but Blackberry does usually seem to have more tailored variants for each market.
    I am planning to get rid of my GS3 and try to get a AWS compatible variant from Canada, and even the one without AWS (1700) support will work, as not many places outside Canada use this band. Either of the two versions available in Canada will work practically worldwide once unlocked, as most providers worldwide utilise the 2100 frequency, and even Wind Mobile does 2100 in addition to 1700, so service would be provided.
    Check the following data file for info on worldwide providers...
    http://connectedlife.gsma.com/wp-con...ngdecember.pdf
    Good table although it is missing some LTE bands for Bell, Rogers, and Telus. But Wind does not have any WCDMA spectrum for 2100 (Band I). The listing they have in that table is their Band IV coverage (a.k.a. AWS) which works by using ~1700 MHz to upload and ~2100 MHz to download. That being said both models of the STL100-3 do seem to have Band I (2100) WCDMA support.

Similar Threads

  1. BB10 Camera specs?
    By tai888 in forum BlackBerry 10 OS
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 01-11-2013, 12:42 AM
  2. BB10 active frames question
    By maple_leafs182 in forum General BlackBerry Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-25-2012, 07:53 PM
  3. BB10 Camera specs?
    By tai888 in forum News & Rumors
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 02-15-2012, 04:05 AM
  4. SD Card Spec Question
    By smertz in forum BlackBerry Torch 9810
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-25-2011, 01:05 PM
  5. Dumb spec questions
    By pawscal in forum BlackBerry Tour 9630
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-18-2009, 09:39 PM

Posting Permissions