Welcome to the CrackBerry Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. cambridgeguy13's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    6 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #1  

    Default BB Balance with no BES?

    Hey guys. I've been seeing a lot about this BB Balance stuff and it looks cool. I use my BB for both work and personal but its not with any BES server through the office.

    Can I get Balance without being connected to any BES Server? I'd like to just be able to manage my work contacts/emails/bbms on one side, and personal stuff on the other.

    help!
  2. Bla1ze's Avatar
    Editor in Chief

    Posts
    11,534 Posts
    Global Posts
    11,773 Global Posts
    #2  

    Default

    No you cannot. You need to be on a BES.
    Answers are easy. It's asking the right questions which is hard. - The Doctor

    [ Mobile Nations Sites: Android, iOS, Windows Phone, BlackBerry, Connectedly]
  3. Dimitri.69's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    900 Posts
    Global Posts
    902 Global Posts
    #3  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cambridgeguy13 View Post
    Hey guys. I've been seeing a lot about this BB Balance stuff and it looks cool. I use my BB for both work and personal but its not with any BES server through the office.

    Can I get Balance without being connected to any BES Server? I'd like to just be able to manage my work contacts/emails/bbms on one side, and personal stuff on the other.

    help!
    This has been asked many times. Blackberry has said that if you want Blackberry balance, you need to have BES. There is no other way to use Blackberry Balance without BES
  4. b320's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    982 Posts
    #4  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dimitri.69 View Post
    This has been asked many times. Blackberry has said that if you want Blackberry balance, you need to have BES. There is no other way to use Blackberry Balance without BES
    On BlackBerry 10 devices.
  5. Dimitri.69's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    900 Posts
    Global Posts
    902 Global Posts
    #5  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by b320 View Post
    On BlackBerry 10 devices.
    Exactly. Forgot to add that part!.
  6. b320's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    982 Posts
    #6  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dimitri.69 View Post
    Exactly. Forgot to add that part!.
    Let me clarify why I added that. BlackBerry Balance is available on:
    - BlackBerry 10 devices integrated with BES 10 wherein the IT Administrator has allowed or required Balance
    - BlackBerry legacy Handheld OS 6.x-7.x devices integrated with BES 5.x wherein the IT Administrator has allowed or required Balance
    - BlackBerry PlayBook OS 2.x tablets integrated with Microsoft Exchange ActiveSync or BES 10
    Thanked by:
    Dimitri.69 (02-11-2013) 
  7. Dimitri.69's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    900 Posts
    Global Posts
    902 Global Posts
    #7  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by b320 View Post
    Let me clarify why I added that. BlackBerry Balance is available on:
    - BlackBerry 10 devices integrated with BES 10 wherein the IT Administrator has allowed or required Balance
    - BlackBerry legacy Handheld OS 6.x-7.x devices integrated with BES 5.x wherein the IT Administrator has allowed or required Balance
    - BlackBerry PlayBook OS 2.x tablets integrated with Microsoft Exchange ActiveSync or BES 10
    Thank you for the clarification!.
  8. dcbo89's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    590 Posts
    Global Posts
    1,018 Global Posts
    #8  

    Default

    I wish this could be different, I can see a multitude of uses for Balance outside of it being a partition to be dictated to by an IT person in a huge corporation.

    Maybe Blackberry will release a version of free/cheaper BES that works for only few devices.in the not too distance future.
  9. b320's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    982 Posts
    #9  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dcbo89 View Post
    I wish this could be different, I can see a multitude of uses for Balance outside of it being a partition to be dictated to by an IT person in a huge corporation.

    Maybe Blackberry will release a version of free/cheaper BES that works for only few devices.in the not too distance future.
    BlackBerry has lowered pricing on BES already. Server licenses of BES 10 cost $0. You have to pay for device licensing which works out to $99/device/year (or less depending on the size of your account).

Similar Threads

  1. Palm data transfer to BB desktop with no outlook
    By IH8treo in forum General BlackBerry Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-09-2010, 02:51 AM
  2. w0000t native mail client with no BES/BIS
    By paQ in forum BlackBerry Storm
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-08-2009, 05:06 AM
  3. VZW BB Device with no Data Plan?
    By Guarddog in forum Verizon Wireless
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 10-17-2008, 05:12 PM
  4. BB Software with no BB Data Plan ?
    By Din in forum BlackBerry Curve 83xx
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-04-2007, 11:39 AM
  5. BB Maps with no GPS device?
    By rotoiti in forum General BlackBerry Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-01-2007, 07:31 AM

Posting Permissions