Welcome to the CrackBerry Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
Results 1 to 23 of 23
  1. shoadow56's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    14 Posts
    PIN
    319FC93A
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #1  

    Default Unlocking The Sprint 8330?

    Alright people, someone please help me!

    I have a Sprint Curve 8330 that I need to get unlocked to use on Alltel. Calls to Sprint have been fruitless. I have been told everything from "Sprint phones don't work on other networks. I work for Sprint, I think I know what I'm talking about!" to "I can't unlock the phone because of security reasons." to "We have to activate the phone to have an unlock code for it."

    I'm pretty sure that if I was able to install an older OS, I could uninstall the vendor file and unlock the phone that way (I think, correct me if I'm wrong), but I can't seem to find any other OS for this phone than the one supplied (4.3.0.127).

    Basically the only thing I need right now is the ##XXXXXX# number you enter to program the phone. If anyone else has any ideas I would love to hear them. This shouldn't be this hard!
  2. CeoStatus0's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    303 Posts
    Global Posts
    365 Global Posts
    PIN
    Up Girls, Turn Me On
    #2  

    Default

    can't you get it "flashed?" I guess Alltel is big in AZ and I always see people advertising that they can "Flash" Sprint phones to Alltel and other smaller CMDA carriers
    "You can't learn from being perfect"
  3. mtoohey's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    1 Posts
    #3  

    Default

    Couple quick questions / points...

    1. Are you a Sprint customer (if no - sprint will probably not help you.. just give you a quick "get off the phone answer")? If you are, tell them you want to verify the programming codes on the BB.

    2. If you are going to transition the 8330 to Alltel, they will probably need to provide you with the MSL ##6 digit## / MDN (your phone #) / MSID (this is provided by the vendor) - Is alltel even on the same network as Sprint (Ive never had to deal with them)?

    3. I would call alltel, tell them your current phone was damaged and you received a replacement. Give them the ESN HEX and the ESN DEC numbers and they should be able to give you the required info....

    Hope that helps...
  4. Hi-Definition's Avatar
    Banned

    Posts
    967 Posts
    PIN
    EAPPLES with a dash of black pepper are scrumptious.
    #4  

    Default

    Yes, you can have a CDMA-based phone such as Sprint's Curve..FLASHED. How to do it, where to do it..I don't know. But it can be done.

    I have numerous clients that have a service provider such as Cricket (a smaller carrier); and are using their flashed Sprint and Alltel phones w/ Cricket.

    Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
  5. shanetaylor's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    1 Posts
    #5  

    Default this might help, not sure.

    Below are decimal ESN and MSL pairs for specific Sprint PCS phones. There
    is some sort of relationship between each decimal ESN and its unique
    6-digit MSL code, however the algorithm which creates this relationship is
    unknown.

    A mathemetician was working on recreating the algorithm by using known
    ESN/MSL pairs, however, he was not successful. He was only able to
    determine that the MSL is a function of the last 6-digits of the decimal
    ESN.

    If someone is enterprising enough to use the following ESN/MSL pairs to
    recreate the algorithm used to generate the MSL, that would be most
    excellent. I only ask that the findings be shared with this website.

    I shall reiterate - these are the ONLY MSL codes that I have for Sprint
    PCS phones. I am UNABLE to get any codes other than the ones presented
    here in this file. Requests for Sprint PCS MSL codes will be ignored.
    Thank you for your understanding.


    Decimal ESN Sprint PCS master subsidy lock (MSL) code
    ------------ -----------------------------------------
    056/00189117 = 038021
    063/01581438 = 807021
    063/01872285 = 710924
    063/01898691 = 066809
    063/02204706 = 750213
    063/02275166 = 114358
    063/04677986 = 388091
    063/05139686 = 800924
    063/05488558 = 307910
    068/01801507 = 328538
    068/04872960 = 250667
    072/08996135 = 614475
    081/11984958 = 358410
    081/12213491 = 497303
    081/12309787 = 142581
    081/14721828 = 653257
    081/14981663 = 374137
    081/15264837 = 520736
    081/15598707 = 279295
    081/15598933 = 896395
    081/15606329 = 106392
    082/02489115 = 176701
    093/02174838 = 013518
    101/04496475 = 994173
    101/06005402 = 587396
    101/07894659 = 513952
    101/07912329 = 957306
    101/07967411 = 263062
    101/08738931 = 883962
    104/01378067 = 025484
    104/01378607 = 108497
    104/00702933 = 108542
    104/00713879 = 165987
    104/00779572 = 135413
    104/00838561 = 093642
    117/16469071 = 526510
    117/16562055 = 809312
    132/00658254 = 112903
    159/01647486 = 851964
    159/06464445 = 393169
    159/06620898 = 579313
    176/02390467 = 942076
    179/02467059 = 611813
    179/03461706 = 918506
    179/15461133 = 217293
    179/15634362 = 219246
    237/14452419 = 139324
    241/03570803 = 463765
    241/05647789 = 376439
    241/08430858 = 052883
    241/08430874 = 928923
    241/08752032 = 528269
    241/10005855 = 595451
    241/11779663 = 585474
    241/11928887 = 150167
    241/12002235 = 777518
    241/12121403 = 140227
    241/12306787 = 136168
    241/15380194 = 159184
    241/15460244 = 266285
    241/15462868 = 527039
    247/00690385 = 717462
    247/06042171 = 855993
    247/07816819 = 638429
    247/08131542 = 536944
    247/08294134 = 255763
    247/08706415 = 891049
    247/09356825 = 000668
    247/13048672 = 770281
    247/13381691 = 089096
    247/13387348 = 343203
    247/13402460 = 330577
    247/13403391 = 437441
    247/13403393 = 455083
    247/13403394 = 402278
    247/13454276 = 880850
    254/12836326 = 173543
    254/12837769 = 621379
    254/12842320 = 945669
    254/12844057 = 980199
    254/12844831 = 849976
    254/12853485 = 917425
    254/12907716 = 336708
    254/12908934 = 360610
    254/12915325 = 292834
    254/12924378 = 984591
    254/12929964 = 177558
    254/13002204 = 060292
    254/13011347 = 942479
    254/13025094 = 107096
    254/13026326 = 124134
    254/13026769 = 686255
    254/14650516 = 047633
    254/14650640 = 604009
    254/14652943 = 581699
    254/14655989 = 681689
    254/15201572 = 584375
    254/15201578 = 798354
    254/15969761 = 493767
    254/15969837 = 297099
    254/16061831 = 394443
    254/16163981 = 178057
    254/16246573 = 086093
  6. ridewake210's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    20 Posts
    PIN
    k is always better wet
    #6  

    Default

    Is it free to use your phone after you unlock it or does it just allow you to switch carriers using the phone from a different carrie? How would you do that with the sprint 8330?
  7. GrandWorks's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    60 Posts
    #7  

    Default

    I know when people flash their phones to MetroPCS, you just take it to a MetroPCS store and they do it for you.

    Or they find the correct rom online, and flash it themselves. I usually see that for dumb phones tho.
  8. arcadence's Avatar
    CrackBerry Master

    Posts
    1,025 Posts
    Global Posts
    1,027 Global Posts
    #8  

    Default

    I know when I've flashed phones to MetroPCS, it was a 2-step process. You needed a program that wiped and unlocked the phone and then you needed to install the carrier's ROM onto the new phone. Initially, it took several hours to research and complete, but I think there's tons of information on Google on this topic.

    For example:
    Unlock/Flash to Sprint
  9. Jo_795's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    2,024 Posts
    Global Posts
    2,166 Global Posts
    PIN
    None Now!
    #9  

    Default

    personally not worth my time
    Sprint Premier Member Since 09/19/04
  10. Jo_795's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    2,024 Posts
    Global Posts
    2,166 Global Posts
    PIN
    None Now!
    #10  

    Default

    Google is your friend but theres cell phone shops by my work that flash sprint phones to other carriers..
    Sprint Premier Member Since 09/19/04
  11. ridewake210's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    20 Posts
    PIN
    k is always better wet
    #11  

    Default

    Thanks atleast now I know there is no reason to go srewin around with it then
  12. ozlancerblack's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    252 Posts
    #12  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SueWNY View Post
    No it's not free to use your phone! It just lets you use the phone on other carriers (but not all-Sprnt and Verizon won't accept each other's devices).
    so is one of the phones a storm?
  13. walchey's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    2 Posts
    #13  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mtoohey View Post
    Couple quick questions / points...

    1. Are you a Sprint customer (if no - sprint will probably not help you.. just give you a quick "get off the phone answer")? If you are, tell them you want to verify the programming codes on the BB.

    2. If you are going to transition the 8330 to Alltel, they will probably need to provide you with the MSL ##6 digit## / MDN (your phone #) / MSID (this is provided by the vendor) - Is alltel even on the same network as Sprint (Ive never had to deal with them)?

    3. I would call alltel, tell them your current phone was damaged and you received a replacement. Give them the ESN HEX and the ESN DEC numbers and they should be able to give you the required info....

    Hope that helps...
    Quote Originally Posted by shoadow56 View Post
    Alright people, someone please help me!

    I have a Sprint Curve 8330 that I need to get unlocked to use on Alltel. Calls to Sprint have been fruitless. I have been told everything from "Sprint phones don't work on other networks. I work for Sprint, I think I know what I'm talking about!" to "I can't unlock the phone because of security reasons." to "We have to activate the phone to have an unlock code for it."

    I'm pretty sure that if I was able to install an older OS, I could uninstall the vendor file and unlock the phone that way (I think, correct me if I'm wrong), but I can't seem to find any other OS for this phone than the one supplied (4.3.0.127).

    Basically the only thing I need right now is the ##XXXXXX# number you enter to program the phone. If anyone else has any ideas I would love to hear them. This shouldn't be this hard!
    noo u dont know wat u talking about you work for sprint exactly u follow rule, u can unlock any phone now a day and i unlock the verizon to work with sprint and i unlock sprint to work with verizon shake my head idiots, there is loop hole >
  14. CarrierUnlock's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    3,297 Posts
    Global Posts
    3,490 Global Posts
    #14  

    Default

    You can't unlock the 8330 and can only flash it to another CDMA carrier and that's pending they allow foreign phones onto their network.
  15. mjherman's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    1 Posts
    #15  

    Default Unlocking Sprint BB 8330 Curve

    I need help...I purchased a Sprint BB 8330 Curve when I was living and working in the USA. It doesn't have a SIM card. I have since cancelled my Sprint account and moved to the UK. Can I unlock this phone and use with Orange? If so, how is this possible without a SIM? Can I take it into an Orange store to have them unlock it and set it up for use with them? Or am I better off just scrapping this phone and getting a new one...I am currently using an LG and I miss my BB!!!
  16. CarrierUnlock's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    3,297 Posts
    Global Posts
    3,490 Global Posts
    #16  

    Default

    As far as I know there are no cdma carriers in europe so you will need to purchase another device.

    Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
  17. win7hkr's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    13 Posts
    #17  

    Default

    I think people were looking for a good guide to unlock a cdma sprint phone to lets say metro or ? There does not need to be links to software or such just a good guide for the 8330 flash. What is needed and what is BS! One good step by step by a master please!
    I think that it is very hard to find on the forums for some reason or a good one has never been done... Or could be every one is afraid to help out....In any case a good step by step is very much need for folks!
  18. marilu62's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    24 Posts
    #18  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CarrierUnlock View Post
    As far as I know there are no cdma carriers in europe so you will need to purchase another device.

    Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    I also travel for a living and have a Sprint 8330 that is locked. I had hoped to use it when I am overseas.....is it not possible to use local sim cards at all, anywhere overseas?

    I upgraded to a torch : )
    "When you come to the edge of all that you know,you must believe one of two things: There will be earth upon which to stand, or you will be given wings to fly."
  19. freethisberrydotcom's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    3,110 Posts
    #19  

    Default

    You can get a subsidy unlock code but this will not enable you to use it on another network.
  20. Motorcycle Mama's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius of Geniuses

    Posts
    10,170 Posts
    Global Posts
    10,172 Global Posts
    #20  

    Default

    The Sprint 8330 is a CMDA only device.

    It canNOT be 'unlocked'. There's no such thing as a "subsidy unlock code" for a Sprint 8330.

    It does NOT have a SIM card.
  21. CellUnlock.net's Avatar
    Unlocking Partner

    Posts
    4,389 Posts
    Global Posts
    4,395 Global Posts
    PIN
    288A56CA-Feel free to add us!
    #21  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by marilu62 View Post
    I also travel for a living and have a Sprint 8330 that is locked. I had hoped to use it when I am overseas.....is it not possible to use local sim cards at all, anywhere overseas?

    I upgraded to a torch : )
    You will not be able to use the 8330 because it's a CDMA phone only, will not accept SIM cards. You are better of unlocking your Torch and using it when traveling.
    CellUnlock.net Team|www.cellunlock.net
    Your #1 Source to Unlock your Phone Remotely by Code!
    Unlock iPhone, Blackberry, Samsung, HTC and More Remotely 100% Guaranteed & Lowest Price Guaranteed!
    Use coupon crackb50 and get 50% Discount on Most of our Unlocking Services!
  22. Testamentum's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    1 Posts
    #22  

    Default

    Good afternoon I'm in Romania and i have one Sprint Blackberry 8330 mobile phone but can not find card socked for orange or vodafone, how can I use this phone?
  23. jeffh's Avatar
    Retired Moderator

    Posts
    15,136 Posts
    Global Posts
    15,146 Global Posts
    #23  

    Default

    Orange and Vodaphone are GSM carriers. The Sprint 8330 is a CDMA phone. It does not use a SIM card and cannot be used on a GSM network such as Orange Romania and Vodaphone Romania. You'll have to get a GSM phone. The easiest solution is to buy one from either Orange or Vodaphone, whichever carrier gives you the best deal.

Posting Permissions