Welcome to the CrackBerry Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. Alix_taylor's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    4 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #1  

    Default Question About 'Unlocked' BlackBerry 9300

    Hi! I just bought a blackberry on kijiji because I'm travelling overseas to South Africa and the service there is primarily BlackBerry only. I have to buy my SIM card there, but I have to take an unlocked BlackBerry with me.

    The BlackBerry I just bought was advertised as unlocked from Telus (I live in Canada), but I'm not sure if it is. I went to the settings after I got home (I'm really new with this stuff and didn't know how to check it at the mall) and opened up the Identity and Associations and I see this:
    Personalization:
    SIMDisabled
    NetworkDisabled
    Network SubsetDisabled
    Service ProviderActive
    CorporateDisabled

    Now does this mean that my BlackBerry is still locked? I also don't have a SIM card to use if I wanted to attempt to unlock it myself, plus I'm nervous in case I'd screw everything up and hardlock the model. Would I be able to take this to a service and have it unlocked for me for a reasonable price?

    Thank you for your time! =)
    Last edited by Alix_taylor; 02-23-2013 at 01:22 AM.
  2. BlackberryCodeSource's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    553 Posts
    #2  

    Default

    Hi Alix_taylor,

    Welcome to Crackberry!

    Yes, your Telus 9300 is still locked as it says active next to Service Provider

    You can ask Telus for the unlock code or buy one and enter it in the phone.

    Cheers,

    Jeff
    BlackberryCodeSource.com

    Current Phones Z30, Q10, iP5S, Samsung GNote 3, HTC One M8!

    Can't wait for the one and only game changing......... BB Passport !!!!!
  3. Alix_taylor's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    4 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #3  

    Default

    Okay doke! Thanks a bunch, I'll be getting in contact with them then! =D
  4. BlackberryCodeSource's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    553 Posts
    #4  

    Default

    No problem!

    Good Luck!
    BlackberryCodeSource.com

    Current Phones Z30, Q10, iP5S, Samsung GNote 3, HTC One M8!

    Can't wait for the one and only game changing......... BB Passport !!!!!
  5. MobileUnlocked's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    188 Posts
    Global Posts
    190 Global Posts
    #5  

    Default

    Hey,

    Just to let you know when the Service Provider lock is active, you'll need the unlock code often labelled "MEP4" - that's the code that removes that specific lock.

    If you try to use the code labelled "MEP2" which most people do, that will attempt to remove the Network lock, which isn't active on your phone.

    All the best.

Similar Threads

  1. Question about BlackBerry BES
    By shoesobjects in forum Business Users
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 04-23-2009, 04:06 PM
  2. Question about blackberry plan
    By Serdna23 in forum AT&T
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-13-2008, 04:14 PM
  3. Question about Blackberry upgrade on ATT
    By SasAttack in forum BlackBerry Curve 83xx
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-23-2008, 05:55 PM
  4. quick question about blackberry with mac!
    By jenziebenzie in forum BlackBerry Pearl 8100
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-17-2008, 04:15 PM
  5. newby question about blackberry messenger
    By Duende28 in forum Introductions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-18-2007, 09:39 AM

Posting Permissions