Welcome to the CrackBerry Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 80
  1. lucrecia's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    8 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #1  

    Default mep unlock screen won't appear

    I have the unlock code.
    I do not have service with anyone at this point.
    I removed the battery.
    I installed a new sim card from Tmobile.
    I turned off the connections.
    It is set to 1XEV.
    Entered MEPD.
    Caps locked and entered MEPD2
    MEP unlock screen did not appear.
    Entered MEPPD
    Caps locked and and entered MEPPD2.
    Entered MEPP
    Caps locked and entered MEP2
    Entered MEPP
    Caps locked and entered MEPP2
    Did all of above with no caps locked.
    Did all of the above after turning off and on
    my BB between tries.
    Did all of the above after removing/reinstalling
    battery and sim card between tries.

    MEP unlock screen did not appear.

    Changed to GSM / 3G2G
    Repeated above steps.
    Repeated above with Verizon SIM.
    Repeated above with no SIM.
    Phone says "No Valid Sim Card"
    at the very tippy top of the screen.
    Wiped battery.
    Tried again.


    THE DAMN MEP UNLOCK SCREEN WILL NOT APPEAR !

    Help !
    Last edited by lucrecia; 02-20-2009 at 08:16 PM. Reason: editing content
  2. lucrecia's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    8 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #2  

    Default SIM Card Display

    Here's the display when I type MEPP:

    SIM Card: No Valid SIM Card

    Personalizations:

    SIM Unknown
    Network Unknown
    Network Subset Unknown
    Service Provider Unknown
    Corporate Unknown

    Should I call Tmobile and try to have my service moved
    from my Razor?
    Last edited by lucrecia; 02-20-2009 at 08:17 PM. Reason: edited content
  3. pre me's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    115 Posts
    Global Posts
    123 Global Posts
    #3  

    Default

    Did you have the phone in landscape orientation?

    It will not work on the suretype keyboard
  4. tranebwc's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    124 Posts
    PIN
    304B33D3
    #4  

    Default

    hi
    i also had this problem too,but i fixed it doing this:

    1.- insert the verizon sim
    2.- turn off all the conections and network, including bluetooth
    3.- go to sim properties
    4.- type mepd in qwerty mode, withouth the caps activated, and then type meppd, or mep2
    5.- a screen asking you to type the unlock code will appear,
    6.- type your code
    7.- ENJOY!

    hope this help you.
    greetings
  5. lucrecia's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    8 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #5  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by crack baby View Post
    Did you have the phone in landscape orientation?

    It will not work on the suretype keyboard
    Yes, i tried it in both landscape and portrait.....
    Last edited by lucrecia; 02-20-2009 at 09:03 PM. Reason: edited content
  6. lucrecia's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    8 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #6  

    Default qwerty mode?

    Quote Originally Posted by tranebwc View Post
    4.- type mepd in qwerty mode,

    I did try it in this mode and in portrait orientation...
    Last edited by lucrecia; 02-20-2009 at 09:02 PM. Reason: edited content
  7. tranebwc's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    124 Posts
    PIN
    304B33D3
    #7  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lucrecia View Post
    I did try it in this mode and in portrait orientation...
    ok, do you have predictive words, i mean autotext, if you can, disable it, that feature also give me trouble unlocking the storm, but don't type mepd and meppd or meppd2 with caps activated.

    also what i did was to type mepd several times, without taking pauses, and meppd several times until the code screen appeared.

    greetings
    Last edited by tranebwc; 02-20-2009 at 11:53 PM.
  8. Labphoto's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    202 Posts
    #8  

    Default

    From what I remember the connections have to be turned off and the non Verizon sim has to be installed.

    Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
  9. collin16's Avatar
    CrackBerry Master

    Posts
    1,255 Posts
    PIN
    K is what im rockin on my LED: 322E2063
    #9  

    Default

    i just do mine in landscape with everything on and vzw sim card in i type mepd and it comes up. try it with the vzw sim in.
  10. lucrecia's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    8 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #10  

    Default Arggghhhh !

    I've tried the VSM sim.
    I don't have auto text on.
    I've tried MEPP, MEPD, MEPPD, MEPP2, MEPD2, MEPPD2
    with caps both on and off.

    I tried entering MEP2, MEPP2, MEPD2, MEPPD2
    over and over again quickly with no luck.

    There used to be a post about unlocking thru
    the computer....but I guess the program was
    taken down by RIM
    Any one know of another ?
  11. AngelDamien's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    68 Posts
    Global Posts
    70 Global Posts
    #11  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lucrecia View Post
    I've tried the VSM sim.
    I don't have auto text on.
    I've tried MEPP, MEPD, MEPPD, MEPP2, MEPD2, MEPPD2
    with caps both on and off.

    I tried entering MEP2, MEPP2, MEPD2, MEPPD2
    over and over again quickly with no luck.

    There used to be a post about unlocking thru
    the computer....but I guess the program was
    taken down by RIM
    Any one know of another ?
    You're talking about MML (MFI Multiloader). Apparently the version found on the internet either won't unlock the storm or it disables your media card somehow.

    Google it and follow the first link if you want to try it though.
    Last edited by AngelDamien; 02-21-2009 at 01:20 PM.
  12. quyen101's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    11 Posts
    #12  

    Default

    i have the exact same issue as luceria. any luck?
  13. Smuuth's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    137 Posts
    Global Posts
    140 Global Posts
    #13  

    Default

    To unlock the phone, the original Verizon Wireless SIM card must be in the phone.

    1. Go to Options -> Advanced Options -> SIM Card
    2. Flip your phone to horizontal mode and bring up the keyboard. To bring up the keyboard, hit the BlackBerry button and press Show Keyboard.
    3. Type "MEPD" without the quotes. This will bring up the SIM Card screen.
    4. You should see a list of Active and Disabled SIM locking categories.
    5. This time type "MEP2"
    6. You should get a dialog that says "Enter Network MEP code (10 left):"
    7. Enter the SIM unlock code you got from Verizon and hit the Enter button.
    ***MAKE SURE YOU TYPE IT EXACTLY AS YOU WERE GIVEN IT*** If you type it incorrect 10 times, you will render your phone useless. If it doesnt work after the first 2 times, call Verizon back and verify the number you got is right.

    Now that it is unlocked:
    1. Pull the battery out and pull the Verizon SIM card out. Easiest way is with a pencil eraser.
    2. Put the new SIM card from either TMobile of ATT in and put the battery back in.
    3. When the phone finally boots back up go to Options -> Mobile Network
    4. Change the Network Technology to GSM/UMTS
    5. Hit the back button and wait as your GSM carrier is detected and the phone is registered with them.
    Member, Verizon Wireless Customer Council
  14. quyen101's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    11 Posts
    #14  

    Default

    I do have the original verizon sim card in the phone when i do this. MEP2 doesnt seem to make the screen to enter MEP to appear.
    the problem is that the screen to enter the MEP code will not appear. After i enter mepd it says
    sim: disabled
    network: blocked
    network subset: disabled
    service provider: disabled
    corporate: disabled
    Last edited by quyen101; 03-11-2009 at 05:51 PM.
  15. Smuuth's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    137 Posts
    Global Posts
    140 Global Posts
    #15  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by quyen101 View Post
    the problem is that the screen to enter the MEP code will not appear.
    The reason it won't appear is because there is an invalid SIM card in the phone.

    Quote Originally Posted by lucrecia View Post
    ...
    I installed a new sim card from Tmobile...

    ...Phone says "No Valid Sim Card"
    at the very tippy top of the screen...
    quyen101: I was responding to the OP - it could be because the phone has never been activated or has been blacklisted as lost or stolen. (Mine says the exact same thing as yours except Network is "Inactive" not "Blocked.")
    Last edited by Smuuth; 03-11-2009 at 06:01 PM.
    Member, Verizon Wireless Customer Council
  16. quyen101's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    11 Posts
    #16  

    Default

    will any working verizon sim work to unlock storm?
  17. ziroth04's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    11 Posts
    #17  

    Default

    I am also having the same problem, using the original vzw sim card and all. My SIM card says vodafone however, is this normal?
  18. quyen101's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    11 Posts
    #18  

    Default

    My sim card says verizon/vodafone on the sim. Mines still not working.
  19. ziroth04's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    11 Posts
    #19  

    Default

    I am having no luck with this at all. For my personalization menu the status for everything reads: "Unknown" all the way down. Is this normal before unlocking the phone?

    I've even opened a pre-sales ticket with uniquephones.com seeing if they've encountered this problem.
  20. ziroth04's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    11 Posts
    #20  

    Thumbs up

    OK I figured it out. All I did was wipe with JL_Commander and reloaded the software (I reloaded official .75 for precaution) after this the mep2 screen comes up!
  21. ngreen
    ngreen's Avatar
    Guest
    #21  

    Default

    You do not need the Verizon sim card you can use any sim card to unlock the Storm
    I do it everyday.

    Has anyone else had success with JL
  22. quyen101's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    11 Posts
    #22  

    Default

    Great. I will look into JL_Commander now.
  23. quyen101's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    11 Posts
    #23  

    Default

    Hi ziroth,
    I cannot type in the MEP code.
    After wiping with jlcom and installing .75 the screen will still not appear. I removed vendor.xml from the app loader folder. Did you also do this? Thanks.
  24. quyen101's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    11 Posts
    #24  

    Default

    Anyone know how i can tell if this phone has been locked due to too many incorrect codes?
  25. ngreen
    ngreen's Avatar
    Guest
    #25  

    Default

    What happens when you type mepd mep2? Do you get screen to pop up asking for code.
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions