I recently bought a Verizon Tour on eBay and it seems that it was previously set up with a BES. I have tried every method of deleting the IT policy that I can find on the Internet and each one it seems to get better (I can use more and more apps without errors each time I try a new IT policy delete method) but apparently there is still and IT policy on the device. I though it was completely gone as of a few days ago since I haven't had any problems, but this morning I installed the SIRIUS/XM app and low and behold...I get another IT policy error message and can't use the app.

I would like to know if completely formatting the device (as in, remove all data, OS, everything so there is literally nothing left on the device) would remove the IT policy once and for all? I am extremely fed up with trying to get rid of this thing. Also, how would I go about this?
    03-22-10 10:22 AM
    Try with BBSAK. It will wipe your device and you will have to load a new OS on it. I'm far from an expert but I think it will remove any IT policy.
    03-22-10 10:26 AM
    Yeah, that should fix the problem. When you wipe out your device, do a backup through DM (You can restore all or certain files like address book, calender events, etc. instead of everything.) and also use BBSAK to backup and restore your third party apps. Once you have backed up everything you can go to Options>SecurityOptions>Hit your BB button and select "Wipe handheld".

Once your phone has been wiped and reloaded, restore your apps and files and your problem should be fixed. If I miss anything in there everyone, please feel free to correct me. Hope that helps.
    03-22-10 10:34 AM