Hey all,
    As you can see by my info, I'm not currently a BB user. I've been reading CrackBerry for quite some time, so I know my way around, etc.
    Here's my situation: I'm currently a Sophomore in college with 2 jobs on campus. My father pays my phone bill (family share plan on Verizon) if I keep my grades up. He refuses, however, to add a data plan on Verizon, even if I pay the extra cost. Can you give me some more ammunition to use to convince him?
    My jobs on campus require that I am accessible 24 hours a day (I am a residence advisor in a dorm). When I'm out enjoying myself (or simply not at a computer) I need to be able to check my mail and stay connected.
    Other than the obvious reasons: email, being a phone, texting --- what are some other perks to a BB? (I would buy myself a Tour)

Thanks ahead of time!
    08-03-09 04:56 PM
    That email push alone should be worth it since u need to receive emails for work

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    08-03-09 04:59 PM
    You could always tell him that with the abilities to go online with your smartphone, you would be able to get quick reference for those times when you are studying for exams and are away from a computer.
    08-03-09 05:14 PM
    If you are going to pay for the full $30/mo in data, not sure why there is a refusal on his part. Worst case you would have to pay for a plan for yourself
    08-03-09 05:20 PM
    Why don't you have him put the phone in your name and he can just make payments to the plan as he sees fit. You can then add all the extras you want and he will just be subsidizing your monthly fee.
    Tell him this will teach you responsibility as well as establish credit for you. Tell him eventually he won't need to make payments for you. It will also give you privacy as he won't be seeing all the phone numbers you are calling.
    08-03-09 06:20 PM
    if had a similiar problem and my reasoning was::