Hello, this is my first time posting on this website. I have been surfing through with questions about my tour since the day I bought it, but never joined. I always found the answer, but here's one I do need help with.

I just need some advice on what I should do. Here's the story; I broke the screen on my Tour. I mean it's broken but there's no damage externally. No large scratches, cracked case etc.

How I broke it? I don't know. I had it in my pocket with my iPod, I drove to work, I was there for about two hours before I checked my messages. Pulled it out, and the screen had a large portion which is "cracked." I am a waiter at a restaurant so I could have bumped into anything. But the ipod had no damage what so ever.

Today I went up to verizon expecting them to swap it out. I would get a refurbished phone and be back to business. I do not have a warranty so they expected me to pay a $50 replacement fee. I refused, and after some debate walked out unsatisfied.

I would like to know if anyone has had problems with pressure points on blackberry screens? I don't think it's fair that I should pay even more than I already do, when the phone is not physically broken, per se. I would like to blame the phone design more than mishandling. As I have heard of the screen getting that ruffled, pressure point blur when you press on the trackball or end call buttons.

What should I do? I have the money, but I don't think this is fair for me, the consumer. I pay verizon several thousand dollars a year. And if I paid the fee, is there a way to get a different phone? So I can avoid this problem happening again?

Thanks.
    03-07-10 05:48 PM
    The warranty would NEVER cover physical damage.

In this situation, you would be expected to 1) file an insurance claim with whatever insurance you might have, 2) pay full retail for a new phone, 3) purchase a used phone at a provider/source of your choosing.