I'm looking to get my first BlackBerry and after some research find myself torn

The BlackBerry Tour looks awesome, and the lack of wi-fi doesn't bother me as i'm mostly interested in using it on the move where wi-fi isn't available. If wi-fi is available i'm almost certain to be either by my work or home computer anyway, so no issue there.

I've also just read a (pre)review for the BlackBerry Bold 9700 and the reviewers practically creamed themselves over it. "BEST BLACKBERRY EVER!" etc....
    It certainly looks immense, but that leather like battery cover would go through me. I like my phones to be smooth.

Given that so many of you here have and love the Tour, I was wondering whether I could get your thoughts? Will you be looking to throw away the Tour and run to the 9700 for example?

Any help appreciated. Oh, and i've never used a BlackBerry before, but I can get used to anything and they look awesome.

Also, [joke] Anyone who mutters anything about touchscreens or iphones will get my rubbish iPhone 2G thrown in their face! [/joke] As far as i'm concerned iPhone = FAIL and definately Touchscreen = FAIL

Thanks for any and all help
    10-04-09 12:19 PM
    you should get an iphone... i couldnt resist=/

i have to wait another year to upgrade so ill be with the tour til then. perhaps ill get the tour two.

im loving my tour. havent upgraded to 5.0 yet, but even with 4.7 im very happy. i dont know enough about the 9700 yet to tell you either way
    10-04-09 12:46 PM
    Here's the (pre)review of the Blackberry Bold 9700 BlackBerry 9700 Review: Part 1 : Boy Genius Report

The fact they are fawning all over it is giving me pause. The only thing I really hate is that leather textured battery plate. Eww!