Hi everyone, I have no experience at all with Blackberry devices. I have been a smart phone user for years and have gone through winmo, symbian s60, webos, and currently I have an iPhone 4. Right now I have the task of finding a new phone for my father who is wanting to replace an again Blackjack II with winmo 6.0. Up until last week I was considering getting him either the HTC aria or an iPhone, but leaning towards the aria because of his needs. After seeing some of the videos of the Blackberry Torch, I'm wondering if this phone might be better for him.

He works in air conditioning service, this would be his work phone. He gets most of his service calls through SMS, where the customer leaves their name, address, phone, and problem in the sms. Sometime he gets these through e-mail, which is set up with hotmail. Simple navigation from the sms field to the phone and navigation is important. I know this device isn't out yet, but from your experiences with blackberry could you give me information about how some of this might work with the torch.

Most important features for him are as follows:
    1. Call quality and reliability
    2. Earpiece/ringer volume and clarity
    3. Handset durability
    4. Battery life
    5. SMS/email
    6. GPS navigation

I know with the iphone does well with items 2,4,5,6 but as a phone isn't too reliable or durable, so if he wants to go this route it would have to be incased 24/7. It would also be very simple for him to just strait from the sms to either Google maps or the phone app by just tapping the address or phone number in the sms, and Navigon or Tom Tom are available as well for turn by turn. I was also thinking about the HTC aria because of what I have seen it’s a durable handset with good battery life and the free navigation with Google maps, plus it can detect addresses and phone numbers in the SMS field and link them to maps or to dial the phone.