Howdy -- new Torch user here, though I've been using a BlackBerry for work since 2005. (The Torch was work-issued, believe it or not...) Two questions for the masses that I haven't been able to find using the search function:

1. I've seen references to "preparing a battery" if not using an OEM battery. What's the procedure?

2. Is there any way to override the ringtones from being sent to the headset? I've figured out a way to use my Torch hands-free in the car by hooking it up to the AUX in connector, but unless I'm actually listening to music using my Torch (i.e., I'm listening to a local radio station), I don't hear it when the phone rings.

Many thanks in advance...
    06-26-11 02:42 PM
    1 - just use the phone. no real prep for a li battery.

2 - not to my knowledge. most use bt to stream or take calls in the car vs an ipod type connection.
    06-27-11 01:13 AM
    The "prepping" a non OEM battery means it needs to have whatever it is in the OEM battery that makes it an OEM. This usually requires some sort of device that you put both battery's into to transfer some information(not exactly sure what gets transferred).

When using the AUX port the phone always uses its own speakers for calls, just the way it works. I haven't found a way to route the calls through the AUX port.
    06-27-11 06:04 AM
    To route the calls through the speakers, (1) you have to physically connect the Torch to the AUX port using a standard 3.5mm audio cable, and (2) after you've dialed the call (or answered it), hit the "headset" button on the screen. You use the built-in mike on the unit (there's no external mike); it's worked like a charm for me, it's just too bad I discovered this AFTER I ordered a MotorMouth II unit (which I can return). My problem is that I can't hear the phone ringing unless I'm listening to music on my Torch (through the AUX port) or unless I unhook the Torch from the AUX port.