Welcome to the CrackBerry Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. jsnphonegap's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    22 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #1  

    Question Backberry 9550 Data plans in Canada

    Hi all

    What companies provide voice, text and data plans for blackberries 9550 in Canada?

    thanks
  2. raino's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius of Geniuses

    Posts
    5,862 Posts
    Global Posts
    6,034 Global Posts
    #2  

    Default

    This phone cannot do better than GSM 2G in North America. Therefore, you'd want to get on a network that has a GSM 2G network. The biggest network would be Rogers Wireless.

    Telus does not have a GSM 2G network, and I believe Bell doesn't either (though I'm not 100% sure.)
    Last edited by raino; 01-10-2013 at 01:55 PM. Reason: Added GSM to 2G in NA
    Models and Supported Frequencies: Z10, Q10, Q5, Z30

    Want to find out which radio band your BB10 phone is currently on? UMTS, LTE (careful with escreens!)
  3. jsnphonegap's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    22 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #3  

    Default

    Anyone has or had an unlocked BB 9550 from Verizon with Bell Canada?
  4. hennesseystealth's Avatar
    CrackBerry Master

    Posts
    1,052 Posts
    PIN
    HEAD
    #4  

    Default

    I am getting full 3G speeds in Northern California. Last I checked, that was North America even if it is more like granola land.
  5. raino's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius of Geniuses

    Posts
    5,862 Posts
    Global Posts
    6,034 Global Posts
    #5  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hennesseystealth View Post
    I am getting full 3G speeds in Northern California. Last I checked, that was North America even if it is more like granola land.
    On Verizon or a GSM carrier? This phone should not get 3G on NA GSM carriers, because it doesn't have the proper bands for it.
    Models and Supported Frequencies: Z10, Q10, Q5, Z30

    Want to find out which radio band your BB10 phone is currently on? UMTS, LTE (careful with escreens!)
  6. hennesseystealth's Avatar
    CrackBerry Master

    Posts
    1,052 Posts
    PIN
    HEAD
    #6  

    Default

    CDMA on Verizon
  7. blackberrywine's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    5 Posts
    #7  

    Default Backberry 9550 Data plans in Canada

    i am using a 9550 and have been using it since Aug 2012, great phone i use it because i drive a truck into the Yukon and require CDMA it is all that you can use north of Whitehorse. i use it for everything i love it. have a storm 1 at home, great also and a bold 9700, good phone but useless past Whitehorse, not CDMA
    RICK

    Sent from my BlackBerry 9550 using Tapatalk

Similar Threads

  1. Data Plans in Canada
    By prez87 in forum General BlackBerry Discussion
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 08-11-2011, 12:34 AM
  2. Are there any BB data only plans in Canada?
    By trueimage in forum Rogers
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-22-2011, 09:42 PM
  3. Data plan in Canada - what's best?
    By Eleniel in forum BlackBerry Bold 9000
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-14-2009, 12:00 AM
  4. Data plans in UK
    By timnel in forum BlackBerry Bold 9000
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 06-25-2008, 03:16 PM
  5. BB Data Plans in the Philippines?
    By cre8tivspirit in forum General BlackBerry Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-21-2008, 11:01 AM

Posting Permissions