Hi I'm new to Blackberry phones. My son is wanting the Storm for Christmas. I went to the Verizon store and I am not eligible to upgrade his phone yet. The price of the phone would be 650$ since it is not eligible for an upgrade. This seems a little outrageous but I want to get my son something good. So, basically what im asking is...is this phone worth this kind of money?!
    12-08-08 04:49 PM
    In my opinion, I wouldn't. The Storm is very slow in loading applications. And if your son is an avid texter- he would need to slow down a little because you CAN out type the Storm. Now, something like the Pearl with the buttons? You can't. As fast as he can type, it will type. The storm though has the best camera and video camera of any Blackberry, but that alone should not be the reason of buying him such an expensive phone..

I say no..

B
    12-08-08 05:01 PM
    I love my storm, but I would not pay $650 for it.
    12-08-08 05:03 PM
    I love my storm as well, but $650 plus the additional data charges every month is something only you can determine as feasible for your son.

I think with the newest software, this monster is acting like it should have since launch, it is gorgeous in resolution, weighs about as much as my ipod touch, has great reception and call quality, and I love the open ended build of it.

Its a winner, but is it worth $500 (thats full retail tag for this device , I dont know where they got 650 from, they are probably trying to bundle you , you can buy the storm at 500 with no rebate full retail ) plus the additional 30 bucks on your bill every month.

I know if you did get him one, your one cool Dad !!
    12-08-08 05:06 PM
    I wouldn't pay full price for any cell phone. If you can't get it through a new contract then wait for it to fall in price or add another line for it so you get the new activation price.
    12-08-08 05:09 PM