I have 2 quick questions:

1: Is there a sleep mode on the blackberry storm? Because for some reason, my blackberry is always on. is there a standby mode or a mode that allows the screen to shut off.

2: What is the difference between the Blackberry storm 9530 and the blackberry storm 9500?

I am new to the blackberry community. I was once a treo user and so far blackberry is as good as my old treo.
    01-04-09 09:06 PM
    Yes a standby mode lock the screen and it will sleep...

And anser number two is nothing no diff

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    01-04-09 09:11 PM
    Thanks for the quick replay.

But i know this a stupid questions but, How do you get to sleep mode.
    what my Strom does, when its idle it keeps on dimming on and off but not completly blacking out. is this a flaw on my device or is this what you get from the storm?
    01-04-09 09:19 PM
    Set your screen to dim after a set time. BB Key>Options>Screen/Keyboard>Backlight Timeout

You can also set Auto On/Off. BB Key>Options> Auto On/Off

You can also hit the lock button on top of the phone to put into standby-ish mode

I could be wrong but I think the 9530 is CDMA capable, GSM & HSDPA and 9500 is GSM & HSDPA
    01-04-09 09:21 PM
    I have it currently at 10sec timeout. when this happends, the dimmer shuts off slightly but it is not a blank black screen. and like 3 seconds later the dimmer comes back on. i understand the the locking shortcut on top of the phone. when i press that, it does exactly what i said above, that is, the dimmer shuts off after 10 seconds but not completly cutting the power to the screen. and after 3 seconds later it turns back on(the dimmer, the backlight).

The bottem line is i guess, when the backlight shuts off, does the screen go blank, black, no lighting at all.

Because my storm's backlighting goes on and off when its in lockmode. i am just wondering if my storm is defected
    01-04-09 09:32 PM