Ok, I know that you cant compare this to the iphone, but when comparing OS basics like speed, I think it is fair.

Since I am new to blackberries, I was wondering how much do we really expect the speed of this phone to increase over the next few months. When phones like the Perl and such came out, how much of a performance gain happened over time, or was that just never an issue.

I need to decide today, I'm on day 30, whether I'm sticking with the phone or not and I can, but it just really needs to be snappier.

Anyone who's seen Verizon's commercials or kiosk know their total crap. It literally shows all these screen transitions that don't even exist.

I do like the phone, but Ill beat a dead horse by saying the release was quite premature. So what has been the progression by rim in the past.
    12-22-08 02:18 PM
    Ok, I know that you cant compare this to the iphone, but when comparing OS basics like speed, I think it is fair.

Since I am new to blackberries, I was wondering how much do we really expect the speed of this phone to increase over the next few months. When phones like the Perl and such came out, how much of a performance gain happened over time, or was that just never an issue.

I need to decide today, I'm on day 30, whether I'm sticking with the phone or not and I can, but it just really needs to be snappier.

Anyone who's seen Verizon's commercials or kiosk know their total crap. It literally shows all these screen transitions that don't even exist.

I do like the phone, but Ill beat a dead horse by saying the release was quite premature. So what has been the progression by rim in the past.
    It can only get faster....

If you started with .65 ---> .75 ----> .83, you can easily see a strong progress.

You're right, other devices never really got "faster", they didn't need to...but with the premature device you have in your hand, it has the opportunity to get faster...

Your call.
    12-22-08 02:21 PM