I've been reading a LOT these past few days about upgrading from .148 and have, what you guys may find a sorta silly question, but I'm a Noob, what can I say? ha ha

Can I upgrade to ANY newer version or do I have to upgrade in order? For example, first go to .151, then to .167, .173, etc..

Is there an upgrade that's BETTER than the others? Should I move up to the latest one? (What IS the latest one? ha)

Right now I'm having TONS of memory leakage issues.... so that's why I'm looking to leave .148 behind in a BIG way!

I also want to thank you guys ALL for being here. You have answered SO many of my questions as I grow with my very first Blackberry.

~Chris
    09-25-09 09:04 AM
    Nope. As long as its a full OS and not a hybrid you can upgrade to whatever you want. Just make sure to follow these directions
    http://forums.crackberry.com/f132/in...source-213706/

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    Last edited by Aberk07; 09-25-09 at 11:20 AM.
    09-25-09 11:17 AM
    I'm sorry.... what's the difference between a full OS and a Hybrid?
    09-25-09 11:24 AM
    I went from .148 to .230 straight. Didn't install any other OS. Worked fine for me and I'm loving .230.

You'll see a lot of people talk about .167 which is a pretty recent leak from 4.7 but more people talk about .230 which is the 5.0.0.230 OS. Anyone talking about .191, it's the 5.0.0.191.

So to recap, latest version for 4.7 is .167 and latest for 5.0 is .230
    09-25-09 11:27 AM
    A hybrid is a mix of different os's. Basically a combination of files that make it run better or help fix compatibility problems with certain leaks. I myself upgraded to .230. I like it but like with this one, you have to install 191 to your computer then install 230 over it. A hybrid in sense but that is how it has to work.

Just keep reading. It is easy to upgrade. Usually a few handy threads out there that will answer questions you may have. Use the search but try to be specific.