I'm a patent lawyer and a power bb user. I didn't line up to get the Storm yesterday but was one of the lucky ones to get my Storm this morning (Saturday) by fed ex. After a full's day use of the Storm here's my objective review:

OS-My Storm is running .65 like most people. To be honest, I was pretty skeptical about the Storm based upon the negative reviews but maybe I lucked out because my Storm runs pretty well without any major bugs. The accelerator works fine (a small lag about a second) and the phone is not sluggish or slow at all. After getting used to the highlight & click differences, manuevering around the Storm has been a joy and i gotta say, moving around the Storm like an iphone is a kick and everytime i put down the phone, i keep gravitating back to the Storm and wanting to play with it.

TIP: I would recommend changing the keyrate to Fast and swipe sensitivity to 6(High) which IMO made the Storm seem to react faster. I also took the content compression mode off which also seemed to help.

TACTILE SCREEN- Love it or Hate it is the best way to put it. At first, it was very awkward typing on the Storm and I made alot of mistakes but after only several hrs of actual use (typing emails/text), my speed improved dramatically because my fingers starting "learning" where to press and the correct typing rhythm that the Storm demands. I'm sure typing on the Bold/curve or any qwerty keyboard will be faster but that's true for any touchscreen phones. BUT typing on the Storm and having that click sound and feel is pretty addicting once you get good at it.

Lastly, more than ever, Storm users need to take advantage of the BB shortcuts to make using the Storm more enjoyable and efficient.

It would be great for RIM to provide an option to either use the Surepress or just highlight to type (e.g. iPhone) instead of requiring the Surepress. This would be a very nice option to have and probably win over more people.