Hello everyone, I am new to blackberries...... This storm is my very first blackberry.

OK, to my understanding, a hard pull/soft reset are the same thing and that we remove the battery while its on for 30 seconds, and then put it back in...

So just a few questions about it.

Does it delete my contacts?
    How does this fix anything?
    Why do some updates need this to happen?
    12-19-08 01:35 AM
    Nope it doesn't delete your contacts, people do this if their device is frozen/stuck. Not sure why you need to do this for updates cause I haven't had to but hopefully with more updates means less battery pulls. Hope this helps a little.
    12-19-08 02:15 AM
    Read up on the Lecture 101 Series, it will explain a LOT for you on the basics of using your new blackberry.

Welcome to the crack.
    12-19-08 03:28 AM
    Hello everyone, I am new to blackberries...... This storm is my very first blackberry.

OK, to my understanding, a hard pull/soft reset are the same thing and that we remove the battery while its on for 30 seconds, and then put it back in...

So just a few questions about it.

Does it delete my contacts?
    How does this fix anything?
    Why do some updates need this to happen?
    Its like rebooting a PC however you wont lose anything.

Basically blackberrys are always on type devices..

so turning them off isn't really turning them off. Everyonce in a while they need a reboot which the battery pull or quickpull does
    12-19-08 03:39 AM
    so how do you do a hard reset and delete all the contacts/calendar appointments/etc...
    12-24-08 03:15 PM
    so how do you do a hard reset and delete all the contacts/calendar appointments/etc...

Be absolutely positive you want to do this...

Goto Options/ Security Options / General Settings, then hit your BB menu button, and select wipe handheld.

Good luck.
    12-24-08 03:31 PM

Goto Options/ Security Options / General Settings, then hit your BB menu button, and select wipe handheld.

Good luck.