Hello All,

Blackberry newbie here...22 yr old college kid with my first smartphone. Longgggg time Apple lover and owner of all things Mac, including a G4 PowerBook and and iPod Touch. But, unlike others, I'm not blinded by the iPhone hype. I recognize the appeal of the second to none user friendly interface, but the phone just doesn't pack the punch the Storm and all other BB's do. I've had my Storm since Christmas Eve and since I use the aforementioned powerbook sans intel chip, I am still running .75 on it. I love the device though, and am learning everyday how to make use of this powerhouse. And I too am of the belief that as soon as the OS and other software catches up to the hardware, this phone will be unstoppable.

With all that said, one thing I have noticed is when typing on the keyboard, to switch text modes...i.e. 123 or symbols you have to keep pressing the button over and over again because after one keystroke it switches back to full qwerty mode. On the iPhone/Touch if you hit the numbers button it stays on the numbers until you hit the abc button to go back to regular text. This is a useful feature to save time when typing a number or address. Is this possible to set-up via a setting on the storm? If so, help would be appreciated!

PS This place rocks! The support and info passed around on here is first rate!
    12-28-08 09:48 PM
    all you need to do is hold the click down on one of those buttons to lock them in.
    12-28-08 09:55 PM
    just hold down the 123 or sym button to lock it. You will see a lock next to the key. Hope that helps.

Welcome to the real smartphone
    12-28-08 09:56 PM