I work in a hospital and like to carry my phone to work. I spend several days in the operating room each week. During this time my phone is without a signal. My current phone continues trying to find a signal and drains the battery fast.
    What can I do to prevent this with a Blackberry?
    Is turning it off my only option?
    11-18-08 05:30 AM
    Menu - Manage Connections - Mobile Network, Uncheck to disable the radio.
    11-18-08 05:44 AM
    i'd of thought the person being operated on is slightly more important than a missed call or email ;-) location has absolutely nothing to do with battery drain. just switch your phone off.
    11-18-08 05:45 AM
    I have found the BB (Curve) battery to be quite strong if that is a proper term. Note also that the Blackberry batteries do not have a memory issue meaning you do not have to let them run down before charging. I charge mine every evening for instance.
    11-18-08 05:47 AM
    location has absolutely nothing to do with battery drain.
    Actually, it does.

Cell phones use variable strength radio transmitters. The stronger the signal is from a cell site, the lower the power that is required to talk to that cell site. Conversely, in areas of weak (or no) reception, the phone needs to transmit at a higher power to communicate.

This is done primarily to prevent a phone's signal from bleeding over into adjacent cells, but it also tends to reduce battery consumption when you have a good signal.

The flip side is if you have no signal (which happens when you're beneath Manhattan in the subway, for example), the phone draws down its battery much faster.