Browsing Engadget before CES kicks off, and they spotted the Powermat.
    About 3/4 of the way down, you'll see the images or just see them here. Not sure if others figured out why the metal "contacts" exist on the backside under the battery cover but this makes perfect sense on the metal door and metal contacts.

Yes, I'm new to CB (but not to the world of cell phones. Just mainly been around HowardForums) so please inform if I didn't search properly if another thread exists but I didn't see one.

Engadget's new double-wide HQ rolls in to Vegas - Engadget
    01-05-09 09:30 PM
    if this is true...and it is a product coming soon.. This will be pretty sweet!
    01-05-09 09:32 PM
    hmm doesn't really seem in the least big practical to me because it's just as easy to simply plug it in and it doesn't take up as much space. It would also be easier to use the phone while it's charging if you just just the provided chord.

Maybe they will think of a better implementation, I could see it working good for a laptop or tv remote.
    01-05-09 09:34 PM
    The metal contacts are ground points to make sure the battery cover is on, if not, it can cause electrical issues.
    01-05-09 09:35 PM
    hmm doesn't really seem in the least big practical to me because it's just as easy to simply plug it in and it doesn't take up as much space. It would also be easier to use the phone while it's charging if you just just the provided chord.

Maybe they will think of a better implementation, I could see it working good for a laptop or tv remote.
    It can seem impractical for one cell, but if someone was charging multiple devices/cell phones, it helps cut down on the mess of wires for the "family". Some people want to remove the extra step of plugging it in and just sit it on a mat
    01-05-09 09:36 PM
    There is a product similar to this already out for a few devices, but it requires having a special battery door on your phone plugged into the power port. ( WildCharge )