I'm a newbie at this and hope somebody on this forum can help me out. My supplier has no answers.

My old Curve sync'd well with my built in in-car bluetooth setup and I could see in the info panel on the dashboard the list of names in the Address Book.

I have just upgraded to a Storm and instead of a list of names I have a list of 245 telephone numbers - a meaningless and unuseable jumble.

The car setup has no options to determine which field is visible. Is there any way to configure the Storm?

Thanks for any help.
    Last edited by Bazzer; 01-06-09 at 06:20 AM.
    01-06-09 06:16 AM
    Hi, I spent time yesterday on the phone with RIM about a similar problem without a resolution and intend to pursue it with them.

My old 8830 worked fine with the Bluetooth setup in my 04 BMW. My current storm has 2 issues:
    1. Phonebook transfer results in 2 sets of entries - one with names (as it should be) and one with numbers (completely useless)
    2. Incoming calls are displayed with the phone number only on the car display. This may be related to the duplicate entries created with just numbers.

This seems like some missed compatability case in the Storm's Bluetooth code, but I'm having a hard time getting RIM's attention. They seem to treat Bluetooth issues as "if it's not on the compatability list we can't help you". As my last BB worked fine, I'm a bit frustrated with the Storm.

Anybody else have similar issues?
    01-06-09 06:29 AM
    My car stereo bluetooth (Pioneer) has 2 different issues.

1) The voice activation prompts don't come out over the speakers. This may be a unit problem that I will troubleshoot with Pioneer (as it happened this way with my Max and I just thought it was Motorola). It does make voice activated dialing useless as the only time I use it is while driving and I have to watch the phone to make sure it's calling the right person and to know when to say "yes" "Home" "Mobile" etc...