Hey everyone i am fairly new to this blackberry thing and when i went to update my phone the other day there was some sort of hiccup during the process and it fried it. Along with not being able to reconcile everything on my phone i now am wondering if there is a way to update my new phone or do i need to wait for it to alert me? Any advice would be nice. Thanks so much.
    06-13-09 01:39 PM
    You can update it through the air or you can update it with Desktop Manager...the air took about 45 minutes for me to complete.
    06-13-09 01:40 PM
    ok so i feel dumb. Where do i find it though? When i run the desktop manager will it automatically alert me that there is a new update?
    06-13-09 01:46 PM
    Go to the Storm OS subforum and look for the big sticky that says:

INFO!!! HELP GUIDE: Upgrade/Downgrade, Backup, BRICKED STORM! Your FULL Resource!

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    Last edited by rlmesq; 06-13-09 at 02:50 PM.
    06-13-09 02:44 PM
    ok so i feel dumb. Where do i find it though? When i run the desktop manager will it automatically alert me that there is a new update?
    Don't feel dumb. It will be dumb only if you don't ask question.

There are 2 ways to do upgrade..... Over The Air (using wireless connection) or through Desktop Manager. Desktop Manager is the better way because you might run into "out of memories" issue when you do it OTA.

Before you do the upgrade, make sure you backup all your contacts and calendar information. The upgrade program will delete them from your phone. You can either sync them up with your computer's Outlook email program or you can sync them up with Google Sync (if you have a Google account).