Hey everyone. I've been reading the crackberry site for some time now (about 4 months) since I heard about the new Q5 model which is coming soon, and stumbled upon this site on google.

For the last 2 years I've been an android user. Had a phone with 2.2 froyo OS on it. Put cyanogen mod with 2.3 gingerbread and the phone did what it supposed to over the years. Had a few dislikes here and there but hey, you get what you paid for right? I'm a third year student on an University, and study IT. Would like to get myself a new phone.

After hearing about the new Q5 and the whole BlackBerry oriented to youth mobile phone mumbo jumbo, I was really into it. The phone released today in Dubai as I read and that's good, but the price isn't. The thing is, from a technical standpoint, that this phone with the listed specifications is almost the same as the BB Q10 model which is supposed to be its "bigger better" brother. Well, the Q5 comes with dual core 1,2GHZ and 2 GB of RAM which is enormous compared to the amount of RAM available on android phones (mostly they have either 512 mb or 1 gb).

So my question would be, if it was really meant for the younger BB users, why in the world did they put the price so high? Do they really think that price stands as an affordable? I mean, they used a plastic casing to lower the costs, yet they put the strong hardware inside it, not to mention all the other bells and whistles which you can find on the link I gave above. I don't get it? I really want to, and think that it would be great to have something other than S. Galaxy's and iPhones which everybody has all over the place now. But frankly, I don't know if it will be in my budget/wallet price range when (and if) it hits my providers here. The Z10 and Q10 are available already and with a 2 year contract (extended, not a new one) and a monthly fee that suits my needs you can get a Q10 for say 650$ (when converted form my currency). That's a lot of money for a phone.