Welcome to the CrackBerry Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast
Results 76 to 100 of 135
Like Tree14Likes
  1. raino's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius of Geniuses

    Posts
    7,585 Posts
    Global Posts
    7,836 Global Posts
    #76  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by adrenaline_x View Post
    My 2100 mhz Lte info came right from the rogers corporate team in Winnipeg when pushing for answers... They are the LTE person I was directed to and deals with data only projects in manitoba.

    If it is indeed 1700 mhz then why the 2100 mhz note in the Q10 description.

    2600 mhz will only be faster then 1700 mhz until there is Network congestion on those bands and the signal will have less pen et rational into buildings or through obstacles. 75 Mbps is faster then most medium business connections.
    Maybe they meant 2100 MHz for HSPA+? I didn't see the words "LTE" anywhere in that ad, tbh. And that jives with what vpblaze found out.

    Rogers does own 2100 MHz spectrum that they plan to deploy for LTE. But the Q10 doesn't have a LTE 2100 band, so I'm ok with vpblaze's explanation/reasoning towards the end.
    Models and Supported Frequencies: Z10, Q10, Q5, Z30, Passport, Classic
  2. jke76's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    31 Posts
    #77  

    Default

    As we are a small sized it business selling BlackBerry Devices and Services to our customers we bought the SQN100-3 off contract from a wholesaler (Brightpoint Germany). For your question on which carriers the SQN100-3 will work i assume on all, because in case of the Z10 the STL100-2 is the only device distributed in Germany (afaik).

    Posted via CB10
    Thanked by:
    raino (05-09-2013) 
  3. adrenaline_x's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    881 Posts
    Global Posts
    883 Global Posts
    #78  

    Default

    [QUOTE=raino;8447664]Maybe they meant 2100 MHz for HSPA+? I didn't see the words "LTE" anywhere in that ad, tbh. And that jives with what vpblaze found out.

    Rogers does own 2100 MHz spectrum that they plan to deploy for LTE. But the Q10 doesn't have a LTE 2100 band, so I'm ok with vpblaze's explanation/reasoning towards the end.


    From Rogers

    Quote Originally Posted by Rogers Manitoba
    In MB we will only have LTE on 2100. The rest of the company uses both 2100 and 2600. So for customers in MB, they should use the 2100 version of the BB – I believe the reservation system was set up for 2600 version only so that’s why they are calling you to see if you would prefer the 2100.

    So the rep is right, if you get a 2100 BB, it will work in MB and the rest of the country. If you get a 2600, it will only work on HSPA (850/1900) in MB and LTE everywhere else.
    Maybe they meant 1700 mhz? But if that were the case, then why does it say 2100 MHZ in the portal, and in the email from rogers rep..

    And if you look here, the LTE Rocket Stick work with 1700/2100 mhz AND 2600..
    http://www.rogers.com/web/link/wirel...iled=AC330REDR


    Rodgers uses 850 Mhz in manitoba for H+ i beleive (http://www.ertyu.org/steven_nikkel/cancellsites.html)
    Last edited by adrenaline_x; 05-09-2013 at 03:22 PM.
    --- Sent From Mobile Device While on the Can! ---
  4. robsteve's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    3,865 Posts
    #79  

    Default

    Is there an app or a way to tell what cellular frequency the phone is using when connected to the network? That would be the easiest way to settle the confusion, as I think you need to get through to the engineering department of the carrier to find somebody that knows the frequencies in your area. For example, I was told by the Rogers support that I was using the 2100 band here and she learned this bay contacting somebody in engineering. I have the Rogers SQN100-3.
  5. raino's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius of Geniuses

    Posts
    7,585 Posts
    Global Posts
    7,836 Global Posts
    #80  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by adrenaline_x View Post
    Maybe they meant 1700 mhz? But if that were the case, then why does it say 2100 MHZ in the portal, and in the email from rogers rep..

    And if you look here, the LTE Rocket Stick work with 1700/2100 mhz AND 2600..
    http://www.rogers.com/web/link/wirel...iled=AC330REDR
    "1700/2100" written together mean they're complementary (paired usage) bands. 1700 is the uplink frequency and 2100 is the downlink frequency. I know this because these are what my carrier (T-Mobile) uses, and for the longest time I thought they had undeployed 2100 MHz bandwidth, when, in reality, they were using it in conjunction with the 1700 MHz bandwidth for HSPA+

    Rogers does plan to deploy 2100 MHz LTE though (if you read through that AC link I posted.) But now I'm thinking it's going to be in a "2600/2100" arrangement. Which begs the question...is there a 2100 MHz LTE band in the Q10(s) then?
    Models and Supported Frequencies: Z10, Q10, Q5, Z30, Passport, Classic
  6. B-E-A-S-T's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    65 Posts
    Global Posts
    188 Global Posts
    #81  

    Default

    Someone in another thread unlocked a SQN100-3 to see if there were any "hidden" AWS HSPA bands, there were not...waiting for the SQN100-5...
  7. adrenaline_x's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    881 Posts
    Global Posts
    883 Global Posts
    #82  

    Default

    Heh... the Manitoba only Version is the sqn100-1

    It just arrived.
    --- Sent From Mobile Device While on the Can! ---
  8. vpblaze's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    710 Posts
    Global Posts
    1,123 Global Posts
    #83  

    Default

    Yeah. Kind of sucks that Manitoba has to have different version.
    Being that Rogers is all across Canada, you think they would have a phone that would work best all across.

    Posted via my Q10 via the awesome CB10 app!
  9. EmmlBotchway1's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    10 Posts
    #84  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ScwB View Post
    Just like with the Z10 model, I've gathered details on the various Q10 models and their supported frequencies. This table should help identify which versions will work for your network. Note that the models are a bit different than the Z10, and it seems that they are a little more cross-compatible for major carriers. This information will be updated over the next couple of weeks and the information on carriers is subject to change.

    Attachment 154066
    Quick question, which of these versions will work best for regions where there's no LTE, like the emerging markets where HSPA+ is dominant and CDMA is not offered?
  10. irwindersra's Avatar
    CrackBerry Master

    Posts
    1,387 Posts
    #85  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by vpblaze View Post
    Yeah. Kind of sucks that Manitoba has to have different version.
    Being that Rogers is all across Canada, you think they would have a phone that would work best all across.

    Posted via my Q10 via the awesome CB10 app!
    I'm sure there is technical reasons as to why they chose one frequency over the other. Different frequencies have different wave lengths, allowing fast and slower transfer speeds on different wave lengths. Faster and slower wave lengths also have different distances between the waves, which allows for the ability to travel further or shorter distances, penetrate walls and not penetrate walls. Maybe due to the topography of manitoba, they had to choose 2100 for best results? There's a lot involved, this was just my high level understanding based on my physics class taken over 15 years ago lol.

    That being said, easiest solution was to make 1 super phone that picked up every single frequency available, i wouldn't even mind a slight increase in size to pick all that up!

    Posted via CB10
  11. raino's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius of Geniuses

    Posts
    7,585 Posts
    Global Posts
    7,836 Global Posts
    #86  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by EmmlBotchway1 View Post
    Quick question, which of these versions will work best for regions where there's no LTE, like the emerging markets where HSPA+ is dominant and CDMA is not offered?
    It would depend on which band(s) your carrier uses for HSPA+. For example, if you are in the US and your carrier is AT&T, they use the 850 MHz and 1900 MHz bands for HSPA+. So looking at the chart, the models that will work on HSPA+ (setting aside LTE compatibility) are SQN100-1, SQN100-3, and the SQN100-5.
    Models and Supported Frequencies: Z10, Q10, Q5, Z30, Passport, Classic
  12. raino's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius of Geniuses

    Posts
    7,585 Posts
    Global Posts
    7,836 Global Posts
    #87  

    Default

    Telenor (Pakistan): SQN100-3 potentially compatible. Source.
    Models and Supported Frequencies: Z10, Q10, Q5, Z30, Passport, Classic
  13. centurionPizza's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    381 Posts
    Global Posts
    382 Global Posts
    #88  

    Default

    The reason for the crazy bands is plane and simple. The government controls this and auctions off frequency. They do not allow it to be near a band that they use. In recent years the us military has moved off some bands to clear bandwidth. A big mess, but phone chip technology can deal with, is geeks can't lol
  14. B-E-A-S-T's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    65 Posts
    Global Posts
    188 Global Posts
    #89  

    Default

    Anyone in Europe or Asia get a SQN100-5 yet?
  15. ScwB's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    147 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #90  

    Default

    The frequency table has now been updated for the previously absent model SQN100-4. It looks to be the Sprint model based on the CDMA and LTE bands.
    ScwB
  16. raino's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius of Geniuses

    Posts
    7,585 Posts
    Global Posts
    7,836 Global Posts
    #91  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ScwB View Post
    The frequency table has now been updated for the previously absent model SQN100-4. It looks to be the Sprint model based on the CDMA and LTE bands.
    They announced it?
    Models and Supported Frequencies: Z10, Q10, Q5, Z30, Passport, Classic
  17. raino's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius of Geniuses

    Posts
    7,585 Posts
    Global Posts
    7,836 Global Posts
    #92  

    Default

    The Czech Republic is using the SQN100-3. See here.
    Models and Supported Frequencies: Z10, Q10, Q5, Z30, Passport, Classic
  18. moosbb's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    373 Posts
    #93  

    Default

    SQN100-3 for France's carriers!
  19. jamesbb10's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    34 Posts
    #94  

    Default

    I've got SQN100-3 here on EE in the UK

    Posted via CB10
  20. mush10's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    328 Posts
    Global Posts
    425 Global Posts
    #95  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by EmmlBotchway1 View Post
    Quick question, which of these versions will work best for regions where there's no LTE, like the emerging markets where HSPA+ is dominant and CDMA is not offered?
    I would think you would probably want the 100-3, unless you spend a decent amount of time in the US.
  21. raino's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius of Geniuses

    Posts
    7,585 Posts
    Global Posts
    7,836 Global Posts
    #96  

    Default

    Hey OP...some to think about (down the road) : yesterday, news came out that the Verizon S4 will have its firmware updated to work on Verizon's 1700 MHz LTE network, which is supposed to go live later this year. Soo...what does that mean compatibility-wise for the -1 and the -5?

    Edit: and what about the SQN100-4? We'll have to find a brave soul who buys it from Sprint for usage on AT&T/TMO
    Last edited by raino; 06-04-2013 at 03:26 PM.
    Models and Supported Frequencies: Z10, Q10, Q5, Z30, Passport, Classic
  22. supraking's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    603 Posts
    #97  

    Default

    Alright, so a big thanks to everyone in this thread for their research and all the posted information. I'm going to be exchanging my new Z10 tomorrow for a Q10, I'm on Rogers. However, I purchased the phone at an authorized reseller (Future Shop) and I'm wondering whether they'll have the -1 model since I do travel to the US quite a bit.

    Just to confirm, the -3 will still work on HSPA+ in the US, correct? It's just that the LTE that won't work?

    Posted via CB10
  23. Real Doc_B's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    4 Posts
    Global Posts
    403 Global Posts
    #98  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by supraking View Post
    Just to confirm, the -3 will still work on HSPA+ in the US, correct? It's just that the LTE that won't work?

    Posted via CB10
    Correct. HSPA+ will work in the US using the -3, not LTE. However, if you want a -1 model from Rogers call up Customer Service and request one or walk into a store and see if they have the -1 model in stock (aka the 2100 variant).
  24. DetectiveBerry's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    448 Posts
    PIN
    I could tell you..but then i would have to kill you
    #99  

    Default

    How about in Asia? Which type is the Q10?


    Posted via CB10
    ==========================================
  25. raino's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius of Geniuses

    Posts
    7,585 Posts
    Global Posts
    7,836 Global Posts
    #100  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DetectiveBerry View Post
    How about in Asia? Which type is the Q10?
    Find out what bands your carrier uses, and compare it with the chart.
    Models and Supported Frequencies: Z10, Q10, Q5, Z30, Passport, Classic
Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Clearing up Confusion on Z10 Models and Frequencies
    By ScwB in forum BlackBerry Z10
    Replies: 97
    Last Post: 12-18-2014, 09:48 AM
  2. The true cost of building and supporting new BlackBerry models
    By Joe257 in forum General BlackBerry Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-11-2011, 08:00 AM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-08-2009, 03:21 PM
  4. Funambol settings and support!
    By bambithehooker in forum BlackBerry Pearl 8100
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-18-2008, 10:26 AM
  5. Bluetooth and Supporting services.
    By sukr4akiss in forum BlackBerry Pearl 8100
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-19-2007, 11:31 PM

Posting Permissions