I just received my Priv and I have some setup questions:

1) When turning it on the first time, are you required to setup "activate" a google account? Can this be done later?

2) Just to clarify, Factory Reset Protection (FRP), is only enabled when you "activate" a google account; correct?

3) I don't want to update the OS to Marshmallow for a while as I want to try the phone out first. I'm concerned that if I update the OS and I decide to return the device, the retailer will give me a hard time. If I need to return the device I want to have the ability to set it back to factory default as I received it. Is this a valid concern?

Note: I have a Google account but I don't really use it often. I do not want to check my Gmail. Also, I have no experience with Android.

Thanks in advance!
    01-25-17 03:43 PM
    I just received my Priv and I have some setup questions:

1) When turning it on the first time, are you required to setup "activate" a google account? Can this be done later?

2) Just to clarify, Factory Reset Protection (FRP), is only enabled when you "activate" a google account; correct?

3) I don't want to update the OS to Marshmallow for a while as I want to try the phone out first. I'm concerned that if I update the OS and I decide to return the device, the retailer will give me a hard time. If I need to return the device I want to have the ability to set it back to factory default as I received it. Is this a valid concern?

Note: I have a Google account but I don't really use it often. I do not want to check my Gmail. Also, I have no experience with Android.

Thanks in advance!
    Welcome back to the Priv.

I think you can skip the Google Stuff but it should offer that option - "SKIP!" somewhere in the routine, I'd think.

You need, well, almost need a google account to download apps, whether free or pay. There are 3rd party sites that have apps and Amazon has apps but then you have to toggle a switch to allow installation of non-Google Playstore apps.