Welcome to the CrackBerry Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. Malcolm Lloyd1's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    1 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #1  

    Default Update nightmare of a new tab

    Hi there

    Well got a new Blackberry playbook starts it up followed all that it told me so get's to where i have too update and all's fine until it gets to the second part of update and at around 81% it tells me unable to update and to restart !!! ive moved it to different places i always have a connection (running at 60mb).
    I am unable to get off the update screen and can't do anything with the playbook i even tried the reset and no not a thing just the update page!! this has been going on for 3 days now and im not a happy
    Would love some help please.
    Mal
  2. djenkins6's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    1,788 Posts
    Global Posts
    1,804 Global Posts
    #2  

    Default

    Have you phoned blackberry support? They will talk you through troubleshooting and Rma it if all else fails. Look for posts from user F2 for BlackBerry phone support numbers. Be preparedtospend a while on the phone, those support guys have a lot of patience talking you through all the steps.
  3. jeroen_13's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    1,749 Posts
    PIN
    Just PM
    #3  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Malcolm Lloyd1 View Post
    Hi there

    Well got a new Blackberry playbook starts it up followed all that it told me so get's to where i have too update and all's fine until it gets to the second part of update and at around 81% it tells me unable to update and to restart !!! ive moved it to different places i always have a connection (running at 60mb).
    I am unable to get off the update screen and can't do anything with the playbook i even tried the reset and no not a thing just the update page!! this has been going on for 3 days now and im not a happy
    Would love some help please.
    Mal

    IF YOU'LL PROCEED YOU WILL LOSE ALL YOUR FILES STORED ON YOUR PLAYBOOK


    Download Blackberry Desktop Manager
    TURN OFF YOUR PLAYBOOK
    Open Desktop Manager
    Connect your PB via USB
    It now will turn on your playbook, and you'll see a message with; Cant connect with playbook -> Factory Reset

    Just follow the steps
    ❤ button

    ✪✪✪ Playbook + BB10 DEV , APPS ON REQUEST PLEASE PM ME. ✔✔✔[PB]Crackberry Forum App (NON-ANDROID) ✪✪✪
    ☢ bbUI.js ☢ expert -- Need HELP ? Just PM me ! ☣ Blackberry Playbook 64GB ☣
  4. alan510's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    648 Posts
    Global Posts
    649 Global Posts
    #4  

    Default

    I don't know what power level you are at, but I have noticed that the device needs to be at the 20% power level at a minimum to work properly. have you put a full charge on it? And I agree with both suggestions above. I have found the support folks to be both patient and helpful. Updating through the desktop manager as described is also effective. Good luck with it all and welcome to the forum!
  5. kill_9's Avatar
    Banned

    Posts
    5,168 Posts
    Global Posts
    5,169 Global Posts
    #5  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by alan510 View Post
    I don't know what power level you are at, but I have noticed that the device needs to be at the 20% power level at a minimum to work properly.
    Au contraire mon ami. I run my BlackBerry PlayBook below 20% with WiFi and Bluetooth enabled and active without any noticeable performance decrease. Then again this BlackBerry PlayBook has a battery health of 100% according to Battery Guru.
  6. alan510's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    648 Posts
    Global Posts
    649 Global Posts
    #6  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BB9700CA View Post
    Au contraire mon ami. I run my BlackBerry PlayBook below 20% with WiFi and Bluetooth enabled and active without any noticeable performance decrease. Then again this BlackBerry PlayBook has a battery health of 100% according to Battery Guru.
    Yes, I agree with you on the battery level once it is set up. I often use mine below 20% without affecting performance. But I'm not sure that's the case during initial setup. I know that defies logic but it seems to be the case. I was only trying to provide a possible solution to the OP's problem with his new device not trying to post incorrect information.
  7. kbz1960's Avatar
    Doesn't Matter

    Posts
    65,119 Posts
    Global Posts
    65,274 Global Posts
    #7  

    Default

    Yes it needs the level to be at least 20% before setup will start. Or it use to be that way.
    Sent from me using my fingers. Be pantless in 5K. Febreze - for more than smells.
    the 50K CrackBerry challenge
    Posted from my phone or pc or tablet that are no better than anyone else's
  8. kbz1960's Avatar
    Doesn't Matter

    Posts
    65,119 Posts
    Global Posts
    65,274 Global Posts
    #8  

    Default

    Oh and if you just got it, myself, I would exchange it.
    Sent from me using my fingers. Be pantless in 5K. Febreze - for more than smells.
    the 50K CrackBerry challenge
    Posted from my phone or pc or tablet that are no better than anyone else's
  9. sam81's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius of Geniuses

    Posts
    5,653 Posts
    Global Posts
    5,656 Global Posts
    #9  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kbz1960 View Post
    Oh and if you just got it, myself, I would exchange it.
    +10 if it's new. Definitely exchange it.
  10. kill_9's Avatar
    Banned

    Posts
    5,168 Posts
    Global Posts
    5,169 Global Posts
    #10  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by alan510 View Post
    Yes, I agree with you on the battery level once it is set up. I often use mine below 20% without affecting performance. But I'm not sure that's the case during initial setup. I know that defies logic but it seems to be the case. I was only trying to provide a possible solution to the OP's problem with his new device not trying to post incorrect information.
    Sorry, you are correct in that the BlackBerry PlayBook inexplicably requires 20%+ battery charge for the initial set-up process to complete error-free. An odd behaviour for sure. The OP might want to take their tablet to a local McDonalds restaurant offering free WiFi access and attempt the initial set-up if their home network is causing problems during the set-up process. The initial set-up process has been the bain of many a BlackBerry PlayBook purchaser. The OP should probably contact BlackBerry PlayBook Support to have them determine whether the tablet requires an RMA or can be fixed over the telephone. One thing the OP will notice with the BlackBerry PlayBook support staff is they usually go out of their way to resolve issues to the client's satisfaction.

Similar Threads

  1. does the updated version of the new fb app still freeze?
    By otis supreme in forum BlackBerry Bold 9930/9900
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-01-2011, 12:51 PM
  2. does the updated version of the new fb app still freeze?
    By otis supreme in forum BlackBerry OS Apps
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-01-2011, 12:51 PM
  3. Why doesn't RIM provide any changelog of their new updates?
    By gdanonym in forum Legacy Leaked/Beta OS
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-10-2011, 09:44 PM
  4. Is it because of the new OS update?
    By RConcheiro in forum BlackBerry Tour 9630
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-19-2009, 03:27 PM
  5. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-30-2009, 10:55 AM

Posting Permissions