Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 26
  1. Bash_Man's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    823 Posts
    Global Posts
    837 Global Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #1  

    Default Playbook OS 2.1 - official imap support. Confirmation?

    hey everyone,
    I keep reading that PlayBook OS 2.1 officially and fully supports imap folders. Was that actually released by RIM as part of the OS upgrade description?

    I've been trying to setup my gmail as an imap account and all I get is Inbox, Drafts, sent, trash and outbox. Non of my sub folders/lables shows up.. and theyre configured in my gmail to show up in Imap folders list.


    Thanks
  2. djenkins6's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    1,787 Posts
    Global Posts
    1,803 Global Posts
    #2  

    Default

    You have to go to each folder in turn on the playbook and click on them so they show two half circles, then they'll sync from then on. This is a one time activity to get the folders to start syncing. You may find it'll take a day or two to fully sync. Let it sync for a few hours or a day, reboot, let it sync again and maybe another reboot in a day. Once it settles down it works well. Who knows with todays updates maybe its better at the startup sync. I posted some pictures in a previous thread, and the folder sync is described in the 2.1 manual in my signature.
  3. Bash_Man's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    823 Posts
    Global Posts
    837 Global Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #3  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by djenkins6 View Post
    You have to go to each folder in turn on the playbook and click on them so they show two half circles, then they'll sync from then on. This is a one time activity to get the folders to start syncing. You may find it'll take a day or two to fully sync. Let it sync for a few hours or a day, reboot, let it sync again and maybe another reboot in a day. Once it settles down it works well. Who knows with todays updates maybe its better at the startup sync. I posted some pictures in a previous thread, and the folder sync is described in the 2.1 manual in my signature.
    But see that may be the issue.. I am not seeing any folders to click. When I go to the folders view, I only see the primary folders. see attached screen capture.

    If I go with the ActiveSync setup, everything shows up fine and folders with messages will sync when I click on them. not the case for imap.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Playbook OS 2.1 - official imap support. Confirmation?-img_00000004.jpg  
  4. CairnsRock's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    869 Posts
    Global Posts
    873 Global Posts
    #4  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by djenkins6 View Post
    You have to go to each folder in turn on the playbook and click on them so they show two half circles, then they'll sync from then on. This is a one time activity to get the folders to start syncing. You may find it'll take a day or two to fully sync. Let it sync for a few hours or a day, reboot, let it sync again and maybe another reboot in a day. Once it settles down it works well. Who knows with todays updates maybe its better at the startup sync. I posted some pictures in a previous thread, and the folder sync is described in the 2.1 manual in my signature.
    Thanks dj. I sincerely hope that BB10 is better than this.
  5. djenkins6's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    1,787 Posts
    Global Posts
    1,803 Global Posts
    #5  

    Default

    When you added the Gmail account on the playbook did you add using advanced settings>Gmail rather than the simple add?

    I also thought there was a setting somewhere on the Google settings side to enable syncing of all folders rather than just the standard ones but I can't find that setting now.
  6. Bash_Man's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    823 Posts
    Global Posts
    837 Global Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #6  

    Default

    Yep.. I go into Add New Account --> Email, calendar and contacts --> click Advanced Setup button --> IMAP (Add an IMAP email account).

    In gmail, if you go to the Gear icon and click on Settings --> Click on "Labels". It'll show you all the Labes with boxes to check for Show in Imap. I have them all set to Show as well as Show In IMAP.
  7. djenkins6's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    1,787 Posts
    Global Posts
    1,803 Global Posts
    #7  

    Default

    Wait a minute, this is a gmail account you are trying to access using IMAP right?

    On the playbook Add New Account --> Email, calendar and contacts --> click Advanced Setup button --> gmail and then put in server as imap.gmail.com and all your other credentials which the Gmail side will show you.
    On gmail side that should be set to imap and folders checked as you seem to have done.
  8. Bash_Man's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    823 Posts
    Global Posts
    837 Global Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #8  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by djenkins6 View Post
    Wait a minute, this is a gmail account you are trying to access using IMAP right?

    On the playbook Add New Account --> Email, calendar and contacts --> click Advanced Setup button --> gmail and then put in server as imap.gmail.com and all your other credentials which the Gmail side will show you.
    On gmail side that should be set to imap and folders checked as you seem to have done.
    Thats exactly what I've done on my PB and gmail . No go. None of the Lables I created in gmail show up on the Playbook.
  9. djenkins6's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    1,787 Posts
    Global Posts
    1,803 Global Posts
    #9  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bash_Man View Post
    Thats exactly what I've done on my PB and gmail . No go. None of the Lables I created in gmail show up on the Playbook.
    In your message previous to mine you said you used "Add New Account --> Email, calendar and contacts --> click Advanced Setup button --> IMAP"

    I said "Add New Account --> Email, calendar and contacts --> click Advanced Setup button --> gmail"

    Are you sure you used the gmailoption?
  10. Bash_Man's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    823 Posts
    Global Posts
    837 Global Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #10  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by djenkins6 View Post
    In your message previous to mine you said you used "Add New Account --> Email, calendar and contacts --> click Advanced Setup button --> IMAP"

    I said "Add New Account --> Email, calendar and contacts --> click Advanced Setup button --> gmail"

    Are you sure you used the gmailoption?
    If I use the "Gmail" option, wouldnt that use ActiveSync?
  11. djenkins6's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    1,787 Posts
    Global Posts
    1,803 Global Posts
    #11  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bash_Man View Post
    If I use the "Gmail" option, wouldnt that use ActiveSync?
    No, it uses imap, in the details of advanced for the Gmail choice you put all the imap server settings. It has the special gmail choice so that it can recognise gmail labels as folders.
  12. Bash_Man's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    823 Posts
    Global Posts
    837 Global Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #12  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by djenkins6 View Post
    No, it uses imap, in the details of advanced for the Gmail choice you put all the imap server settings. It has the special gmail choice so that it can recognise gmail labels as folders.
    ok sounds great. i will try it when I get home and get back to you.

    Cheers and thanks for the help.
  13. Bash_Man's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    823 Posts
    Global Posts
    837 Global Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #13  

    Default

    No go. results are the same using manual imap configuration. this just populates certain fields for you like server names and ports. No Lables.
  14. pacoman03's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    3,109 Posts
    #14  

    Default

    You could always try what I did, which was NOT to use advanced setup during setup.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Playbook OS 2.1 - official imap support. Confirmation?-img_00000178.jpg  
  15. BerryClever's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    543 Posts
    #15  

    Default

    Have you set gmail to allow for imap? I know you allowed your labels but did you allow gmail itself? Settings-forwarding and pop/imap tab. This is done through the browser of your computer or PB.

    I can't seem to upload a screen shot of it, sorry.

    edit: I guess I could, and did... oops
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Playbook OS 2.1 - official imap support. Confirmation?-google-settings.jpg  
  16. Bash_Man's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    823 Posts
    Global Posts
    837 Global Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #16  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pacoman03 View Post
    You could always try what I did, which was NOT to use advanced setup during setup.
    is your gmail working as IMAP? when you go to Accounts and click on Gmail, what does it show for Server?
    and if it is IMAP thats setup for you and your IMAP folders are working, then what are the steps you followed to get it working?
  17. Bash_Man's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    823 Posts
    Global Posts
    837 Global Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #17  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BerryClever View Post
    Have you set gmail to allow for imap? I know you allowed your labels but did you allow gmail itself? Settings-forwarding and pop/imap tab. This is done through the browser of your computer or PB.

    I can't seem to upload a screen shot of it, sorry.

    edit: I guess I could, and did... oops
    Here's a screen capture of what my IMAP settings on my web gmail look like:
    Playbook OS 2.1 - official imap support. Confirmation?-gmail-imap.jpg
  18. BerryClever's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    543 Posts
    #18  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bash_Man View Post
    Here's a screen capture of what my IMAP settings on my web gmail look like:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	gmail imap.JPG 
Views:	87 
Size:	52.7 KB 
ID:	129176
    That is the same thing I have. I don't know what is going on, sorry.

    Maybe try the server address as m.google.com and use port 443 rather than 993. Make sure you have SSL on.
  19. pacoman03's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    3,109 Posts
    #19  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bash_Man View Post
    is your gmail working as IMAP? when you go to Accounts and click on Gmail, what does it show for Server?
    and if it is IMAP thats setup for you and your IMAP folders are working, then what are the steps you followed to get it working?
    Myserver address is m.google.com, port 443. Messages sees all my folders and any messages in them (less than 30 days old). Basically, I don't use my gmail account- I only have one because google gave me one when they changed their policy and wouldn't let me access my youtube account with my yahoo address- they gave me a gmail account with the same user name as my yahoo account and made me log into youtube using this account. When I set up my gmail account, as I said, I didn't go into advanced setup- I simply put in my email address and my password and Messages set it up automatically. After it had set up, all of my folders appeared in Messages.
  20. djenkins6's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    1,787 Posts
    Global Posts
    1,803 Global Posts
    #20  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bash_Man View Post
    No go. results are the same using manual imap configuration. this just populates certain fields for you like server names and ports. No Lables.
    Yes it populates some fields and you fill in your email address and password etc. You don't see anything about labels on the playbook setup.

    Anyway as an experiment I deleted my gmail account and added it again, and now I have the same problem as you, no folders
    I then deleted again and adding in the simplest setting and letting it add calendar and contacts all in one go, and same problem.
  21. Bash_Man's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    823 Posts
    Global Posts
    837 Global Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #21  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BerryClever View Post
    That is the same thing I have. I don't know what is going on, sorry.

    Maybe try the server address as m.google.com and use port 443 rather than 993. Make sure you have SSL on.
    Thanks. I've tried m.google.com with imap and of course it wont work. SSL is ON.
  22. Bash_Man's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    823 Posts
    Global Posts
    837 Global Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #22  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pacoman03 View Post
    Myserver address is m.google.com, port 443. Messages sees all my folders and any messages in them (less than 30 days old). Basically, I don't use my gmail account- I only have one because google gave me one when they changed their policy and wouldn't let me access my youtube account with my yahoo address- they gave me a gmail account with the same user name as my yahoo account and made me log into youtube using this account. When I set up my gmail account, as I said, I didn't go into advanced setup- I simply put in my email address and my password and Messages set it up automatically. After it had set up, all of my folders appeared in Messages.
    Correct. what you're using is ActiveSync I believe. Which works fine for me and all the Lables I have in my gmail show up.
  23. Bash_Man's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    823 Posts
    Global Posts
    837 Global Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #23  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by djenkins6 View Post
    Yes it populates some fields and you fill in your email address and password etc. You don't see anything about labels on the playbook setup.

    Anyway as an experiment I deleted my gmail account and added it again, and now I have the same problem as you, no folders
    I then deleted again and adding in the simplest setting and letting it add calendar and contacts all in one go, and same problem.
    Thanks for testing it on your PB. This must be an issue with the PB os for now. Hopefully RIM will fix it in BB10 and setup full IMAP support.
  24. ViBogdan's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    64 Posts
    #24  

    Default

    Same issue here. I can't see my own lables in gmail.

    Yahoo's folders are shown just fine so the problem is with google's IMAP.

    And by the way, when's BB10 coming to the Playbook? I know the release date is end of January but when will we be able to play around with it?
  25. Davet18_'s Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    1 Posts
    #25  

    Default

    I am having a different problem than most on this thread. My IMAP folders sync properly on my playbook but my IMAP folders show up as a subfolder to the Inbox. I have added INBOX to the IMAP Path Prefix and they still appear as subfolders to the Inbox. I also tried Inbox. INBOX. what is the correct IMAP Path Prefix to correct this problem? When I added Inbox on MS Outlook on my computer it fixed the problem and made the folders subfolders to the account name (Mailbox).

    Any suggestions?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Does Playbook OS 2.0 support IMAP yet?
    By snowsquirrel in forum BlackBerry PlayBook
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 02-22-2012, 06:04 PM
  2. Research in Motion Confirms PlayBook OS 2.0 Delay (RIMM)
    By gwanstarr in forum News & Rumors
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-26-2011, 09:37 AM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-08-2011, 08:08 AM
  4. PlayBook OS update - spoke with tech support today
    By EdS817 in forum BlackBerry PlayBook
    Replies: 41
    Last Post: 07-08-2011, 11:32 AM
  5. Where to find latest official VZW-supported Storm OS?
    By Rob.G in forum Verizon Wireless
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-19-2009, 02:20 PM

Posting Permissions