Hey everyone,

I'm not a developer, but I was on the BlackBerry Developer site and I checked out the unsupported Android APIs for both BB10 and Playbook OS. I noticed that BB10 has slightly fewer limitations, despite both having the Gingerbread runtime support. I've listed the differences - all Playbook limitations that are not listed as being unsupported on BB10.

Hardware Features

The following hardware features are currently not supported, and usually do not work with the BlackBerry PlayBook. If your app uses any of these features but you feel that it should still be functional on a BlackBerry PlayBook, before submitting your app to BlackBerry World, fully test it to ensure that your app's usability and functionality are not affected.

�No support for custom IMEs (virtual keyboards)

Playbook App Permissions

The following permissions are unlikely to have a detrimental affect on application functionality:

�KILL_BACKGROUND_PROCESSES

�REBOOT

Media Formats

Unsupported Network Protocols
    The following network protocols are not supported for audio and video playback:
    �RTSP (RTP, SDP)
    �HTTP live streaming draft protocol
    �HTTPS

Unsupported Core Media Formats
    Audio
    Format/Codec
    FLAC
    Unsupported Encoder/Decoder
    Encoder/Decoder
    Unsupported File Type
    FLAC (.flac)

Just found it interesting. What do you, especially developers, think?

I also recall reading somewhere that the runtime will be updated to Jelly Bean.

Cheers!
    02-09-13 12:44 AM
    The Jelly Bean update is on the "road map" for the Android Player, but there is no announced date of completion, so it's pretty much a case of "we intend to update that some time, but probably not in the very near future".