Hey,

Since i'm a noob i'm not ashamed to say/ask this:

- I just realized that my android runtimes version is only version 2.1... (i'm on 2.10.668 PB OS).

It limits my app usage, right? Some say that need 2.3 or higher.

So, my question is: How do i get a higher version of this?

Which is the version that runs on Beta .840?

Tks

Sent from a old but beautiful BB 8520 or a new and shinny PB 2.0
    08-18-12 12:16 PM
    My Android Runtime(player) is 2.0.42.

Even lower than i thought ^^

08-18-12 12:19 PM
    The Android Runtime on the latest OS 2.1 BETA is not even close to Gingerbread (Android 2.3 platform ) WTF?

You can't upgrade your android player unless RIM updates the the runtime themselves.

BB10 might ( 70% positive ) update the android player to Honeycomb (Android 3.0)

50% Ice Cream Sandwich (Android 4.0)

25% Jelly Bean (Android 4.1)

Let's wait and see.
    Last edited by rupam95; 08-18-12 at 12:43 PM.
    08-18-12 12:39 PM
    K,

Tks man

Just would like to be able to use more android apps on the PB...

08-18-12 12:53 PM
    Err.. No The Android Runtime Version you all are refering to is the build number by RIM..
    PB presently is running the Android version 2.3.3 (Gingerbread).. And as far as I know it has been running that for quite sometime..
    Though some unavailable APIs are made accessible along the way like recently the Camera was made available to the Android apps. You can get more info about the unavailable APIs on the Blackberry Dev Webpage..

Presently Gingerbread is the most unsed API so I don't really see the Player being updated anytime soon. As far as I know presently the BB10 Dev Alpha OS too runs the 2.3.3 runtime..

And not being able to run android apps is usually related to them using native libs.. PB presently only supports Dalvik (the java part)..
    Last edited by GreyGhostRos; 08-18-12 at 01:41 PM.
    08-18-12 01:26 PM
    Tks for clarifiying me!

For sure its "libs"...

08-18-12 02:42 PM