Ok, this is a rant on RIM. To start I have been using a BB for amost 10 years (first one was blue with a wheel on the side). Anyway, to this date, even with the release of OS2.0 on the PB RIM has no idea how to do IMAP. It is one of the most used protocols on the internet (RFC 3501 - RFC 3501 - INTERNET MESSAGE ACCESS PROTOCOL - VERSION 4rev1)

Main rants
    -----------
    1) You cannot access all the folders on your IMAP account - only the preset ones that RIM put in (Inbox, Draft, Sent, Outbox). I have additional folders on my IMAP server and I cannot access them. This is a HUGE miss in my opinion and interestingly enough it is the exact same problem with the email client on the BB itself.

2) The only folder that is updated is the "Inbox". In other words the Sent box only shows emails sent FROM the PB, not emails sent from any other client that are in your Sent box on the server

3) When you delete a message on the server from another client the PB client gets an error message that reads "Unable to connect to server. Please try again later". This is totally repeatable. Other IMAP clients connected to the server show the message as deleted.

Therefore if you are an IMAP user you are better off using an Andriod app on your Playbook. I use Kaiten email which is based on the K-9 email program.

For you BB phone I would suggest LogicMail - it's a great email program as well.

RIM - PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE fix your IMAP implementation.
    02-22-12 05:42 PM
    I'm using Windows Live Mail (Hotmail) for IMAP and everything is syncing perfectly. Sent mail, folders, etc. I can put a message into a folder on my PlayBook, or laptop, and they both stay in sync. Messages read on PlayBook are marked read on laptop. If only my 9930 worked as well as the PlayBook.

I have not tried Gmail other than a calendar.
    02-22-12 06:15 PM
    what is IMAP and why do I need it?
    02-22-12 06:39 PM