Welcome to the CrackBerry Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 43
Like Tree12Likes
  1. aledo4's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    7 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #1  

    Default Sharing how I solved my PlayBook WIFI issue

    Hi all, this post just to share how I finally managed my long lasting WIFI problem. I have a 16 gb PB always updated to the latest os, official or for developers. My PB connected to my WIFI just to disconnect seconds after.. And then reconnected.. And than disconnected and so on.. Very frustating! Then I realized I have 8 different WIFI near my home and read that in Italy most devices use channel 1 or 11 to broadcast.. I then changed settings of my home WIFI to channel 8.. And KABOOM!! No more WIFI disconnections.. No more WIFI issues..

    Sent from my BlackBerry 9360 using Tapatalk
    Thanked by 2:
    F2 (12-06-2012),  Zildjian71 (12-06-2012) 
  2. #2  

    Default

    Your message may help others and that is a good thing.
  3. kretch's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    407 Posts
    Global Posts
    408 Global Posts
    #3  

    Default

    Other devices on the same channel that are in range of your wifi can and will cause issues. If you have a friend that has an android device have them load an app called Wi-Fi Analytics Tool by Amped Wireless, it is free on Google Play. It shows all the channels and how many devices are with in range of your device and the strength of all the devices in range also. I tried to convert the app but it does not work correcty after conversion. I tried to find a playbook app that does the same thing but have not come across one yet.

    Check it out here at the play store.
    https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...BzLmFtcGVkIl0.
    "People may not remember exactly what you did or what you said, but they will always remember how you made them feel." - Maya Angelou
    Thanked by:
    rcm1301 (12-07-2012) 
  4. Boight's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    463 Posts
    #4  

    Default

    Yes thanks for sharing. Your environment having 8 signals is pretty bad but I read another member on here having 13 wifi connections available in his home. YEESH!
    Now I am thankful I have a measly 3 connections. THANKS to both of you!!!
  5. kill_9's Avatar
    Banned

    Posts
    5,168 Posts
    Global Posts
    5,169 Global Posts
    #5  

    Default

    I noticed that setting WiFi channel to 'Auto' rarely helps which seems odd given the access point should be actively scanning the channels to ensure a consistent connection. Happy to hear the OP found a resolution.
  6. jamesharmeling's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    2,088 Posts
    PIN
    333BF5D4
    #6  

    Default

    HOW does one change their wifi settings at home?
    BB then, now, forever...yeah, I said it.
  7. doxidad's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    81 Posts
    Global Posts
    84 Global Posts
    #7  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jamesharmeling View Post
    HOW does one change their wifi settings at home?
    You have to log into your home router and find the setting for channels. Once you find this setting, you should be able to change it to a different channel of your choice.
  8. #8  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jamesharmeling View Post
    HOW does one change their wifi settings at home?
    As a rough start type:

    192.168.1.1 into the address bar of your browser. Be prepared with your user id and password. Then peruse the stuff you can screw up royally!
  9. NoraMelua's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    88 Posts
    Global Posts
    216 Global Posts
    #9  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Boight View Post
    Yes thanks for sharing. Your environment having 8 signals is pretty bad but I read another member on here having 13 wifi connections available in his home. YEESH!
    Now I am thankful I have a measly 3 connections. THANKS to both of you!!!
    15! Pretty normal when you live in rented accommodation in a city. I change the WI-FI channel from time to time.
  10. billsterjito's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    871 Posts
    PIN
    BB10QNX
    #10  

    Default

    Info like this is the foundation on crackberry. Thx OP worked like a charm
    todbanner likes this.
  11. Morpheus's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    400 Posts
    Global Posts
    413 Global Posts
    PIN
    Just Ask...
    #11  

    Default

    I use channel 7 and crank it up all the way. Screw the neighbors who I don't even know their names...
    911 takes too long, a squeeze of the trigger will solve the problem...and I can save minutes...when seconds count...

    Morpheus@crackberry.com

    twitter @jmjacksonF135
  12. JasonDekok's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    1 Posts
    #12  

    Default

    Anybody have any other ideas? I live out in the sticks and use a rogers rocket hub for internet access. There are no other wifi networks detectable (closest neighbour is about 300 feet away). I have a 64gb and 16gb playbook and they both drop the wifi connection constantly to the point where its pretty much useless to browse the web. I have tried deleting the network config and re-entering it on both and changing the wifi channel. I work from home all day everyday and my laptop never loses the connection. It is at the point that I want to buy a new tablet, and it would not be a playbook.
  13. jagrlover's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    608 Posts
    #13  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JasonDekok View Post
    Anybody have any other ideas? I live out in the sticks and use a rogers rocket hub for internet access. There are no other wifi networks detectable (closest neighbour is about 300 feet away). I have a 64gb and 16gb playbook and they both drop the wifi connection constantly to the point where its pretty much useless to browse the web. I have tried deleting the network config and re-entering it on both and changing the wifi channel. I work from home all day everyday and my laptop never loses the connection. It is at the point that I want to buy a new tablet, and it would not be a playbook.
    Could be your wifi router. I had a $40 dlink that worked fine for only my laptop but when I added 3 PlayBooks to the house they would always drop. I bought a new $140 netgear and no more dropping.
    bbecause it's bbetter
    Zildjian71 likes this.
  14. stevedee's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    114 Posts
    Global Posts
    118 Global Posts
    #14  

    Default

    I noticed a few things, one is that PB reverts to auto detect, so i make sure to use saved access once it's registering. Once connected I use the network properties to see what the router is, if it's wireless-b/g I make sure that the PB is on single rather than dual band. And on my saved network list I drag my most commonly used to the top of the list.
    Hope some of this helps!
    Using Curve 8330 CDMA w/hybrid OS 5 for bridge. Waaaaaiting for BB10 Black Z10 and 16GB PB.
  15. SeekerBerry's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    73 Posts
    #15  

    Default

    1.) Try to set the channel width to 20 MHz.
    2.) Try to switch back to 802.11b/g (switch off 'n').
  16. southlander's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius of Geniuses

    Posts
    6,207 Posts
    Global Posts
    6,208 Global Posts
    PIN
    32FE97BA
    #16  

    Default Re: Sharing how I solved my PlayBook WIFI issue

    Quote Originally Posted by F2 View Post
    As a rough start type:

    192.168.1.1 into the address bar of your browser. Be prepared with your user id and password. Then peruse the stuff you can screw up royally!
    or 192.168.0.1 is also common.

    Sent from my BlackBerry Runtime for Android Apps using Tapatalk 2
  17. jpash549's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    1,809 Posts
    Global Posts
    2,035 Global Posts
    #17  

    Default Re: Sharing how I solved my PlayBook WIFI issue

    If your laptop runs Win 7 and has a recent wifi card you can probably create a second hot spot using Connectify. I have run the BB Playbook and a Nexus 7 off this signal. I am using the free version but the pro version is $30. Download from the site and setup is easy.
  18. Just Einstein's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    4 Posts
    #18  

    Default Guest network on router

    My router has a "guest network" feature - tried using that for the playbooks here - that worked, but initially the guest network would only use G (apparently something to do with the security key!?). This worked - more reliable but slow. The changing channels fix has improved wifi on everything here and seems to be working for the playbooks. In the process I got my guest network to use N as well. I'm still using the guest networks for the playbooks but wifi seems to be better and faster all round. The Android app suggested was excellent - interesting as well as useful.

    In the UK, BT provides a wifi service for it's subscribers away from home - it might be worth checking what channel it uses in your area and setting your router to something different because it could be the strongest signal around and causing interference.
  19. omega supreme's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    797 Posts
    #19  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by F2 View Post
    As a rough start type:

    192.168.1.1 into the address bar of your browser. Be prepared with your user id and password. Then peruse the stuff you can screw up royally!
    What about when you forget that user id and password?
  20. BravoZuluDelta's Avatar
    CrackBerry Master

    Posts
    1,231 Posts
    Global Posts
    1,232 Global Posts
    #20  

    Default Re: Sharing how I solved my PlayBook WIFI issue

    Quote Originally Posted by omega supreme View Post
    What about when you forget that user id and password?
    If you have never changed it in the past, there are lists of default passwords on the internet. Commonly they are blank username and password 'admin' for Linksys, many others are admin:admin, user:user, or admin:12345.

    To revert to the default password, you will have to hold down the reset button for 30-120 seconds which will remove ALL customisation, including WiFi SSIDs and encryption.
    BBM Channels:
    C0003ADB7: Made in Canada. Buy local - various Canadian-made products that I run into while shopping.

    C000CAE93: Habitat for Humanity Orillia/Lake Country. Sale/event announcements and products going into the ReStore.
    Thanked by:
    omega supreme (12-11-2012) 
  21. BravoZuluDelta's Avatar
    CrackBerry Master

    Posts
    1,231 Posts
    Global Posts
    1,232 Global Posts
    #21  

    Default Re: Sharing how I solved my PlayBook WIFI issue

    Quote Originally Posted by JasonDekok View Post
    Anybody have any other ideas? I live out in the sticks and use a rogers rocket hub for internet access. There are no other wifi networks detectable (closest neighbour is about 300 feet away). I have a 64gb and 16gb playbook and they both drop the wifi connection constantly to the point where its pretty much useless to browse the web. I have tried deleting the network config and re-entering it on both and changing the wifi channel. I work from home all day everyday and my laptop never loses the connection. It is at the point that I want to buy a new tablet, and it would not be a playbook.
    Try lowering the beacon interval in wireless settings. This helped allow my 9800 maintain a connection.
    BBM Channels:
    C0003ADB7: Made in Canada. Buy local - various Canadian-made products that I run into while shopping.

    C000CAE93: Habitat for Humanity Orillia/Lake Country. Sale/event announcements and products going into the ReStore.
  22. daglesj's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    223 Posts
    Global Posts
    325 Global Posts
    #22  

    Default

    In my experience (in the UK) using channel 13 is great as hardly anyone ever goes there. Due to most wi-fi kit being US centric it usually defaults to 1 or 11.

    But it is annoying that some gear just doesn't go as far as 13 so sometimes I get in a bit of kit to service that wont find it so I switch back to 1 (thats the one core channel of the three (1/6 and 11) that is the least used in my area).

    However, I have found that channels 7/8 and 9 are not that great to use. I think those channels are the ones most affected by interference from DECT phones or microwave ovens in my area.
  23. BravoZuluDelta's Avatar
    CrackBerry Master

    Posts
    1,231 Posts
    Global Posts
    1,232 Global Posts
    #23  

    Default Re: Sharing how I solved my PlayBook WIFI issue

    Quote Originally Posted by daglesj View Post
    In my experience (in the UK) using channel 13 is great as hardly anyone ever goes there. Due to most wi-fi kit being US centric it usually defaults to 1 or 11.

    But it is annoying that some gear just doesn't go as far as 13 so sometimes I get in a bit of kit to service that wont find it so I switch back to 1 (thats the one core channel of the three (1/6 and 11) that is the least used in my area).

    However, I have found that channels 7/8 and 9 are not that great to use. I think those channels are the ones most affected by interference from DECT phones or microwave ovens in my area.
    DECT shouldn't affect WiFi as it operates in 1880-1930 MHz, outside the WiFi spectrum. The older 2.4 GHz phones were horrible and do affect WiFi, as do some wireless mice.
    BBM Channels:
    C0003ADB7: Made in Canada. Buy local - various Canadian-made products that I run into while shopping.

    C000CAE93: Habitat for Humanity Orillia/Lake Country. Sale/event announcements and products going into the ReStore.
  24. daglesj's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    223 Posts
    Global Posts
    325 Global Posts
    #24  

    Default

    Yeah thats more likely, I do know that quality of connection dropped quite a bit using the upper middle bands.

    When I used the term DECT I used it to differentiate from mobile phones for the wireless phones we use at home.
  25. #25  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Canada Panda View Post
    If you have never changed it in the past, there are lists of default passwords on the internet. Commonly they are blank username and password 'admin' for Linksys, many others are admin:admin, user:user, or admin:12345.

    To revert to the default password, you will have to hold down the reset button for 30-120 seconds which will remove ALL customisation, including WiFi SSIDs and encryption.
    The other BIG thing it will probably forget is the User ID and Password to log into your ISP. That info is usually entered into the Router's Settings, also. So, if you don't know those, find them out before going any further or you could lose access to your isp and the entire web!!!!!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. How I carry my Playbook
    By wms3 in forum BlackBerry PlayBook
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-11-2011, 07:21 PM
  2. How I used my Playbook last night!
    By asherwiin in forum BlackBerry PlayBook
    Replies: 44
    Last Post: 04-24-2011, 11:46 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-13-2009, 09:14 AM
  4. How I solved my .148 battery drain problem
    By byroncl in forum Storm OS Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-05-2009, 05:22 PM
  5. Please help me solve my wife's issue
    By zoomnbyu in forum BlackBerry Pearl 81xx
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-07-2008, 02:44 PM

Posting Permissions