CrackBerry User

Global Posts
    32 Global Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #1  

Default Playbook screen gone mad

Today something really odd happened,
    I was surfing the web when all of sudden the screen started to fade into a black screen, it started from the corners to the center. I turned it off quickly and on again, to my surprise it was ok...
    But 5 minutes later it started to fade again but now quicker, I tried again turning it on and off but this time it didn't work, the screen flashed in gray colors...
    I already tried the three finger reset but all it did was flash in gray again...

Tried a screen capture but it came out ok...

Do you have any ideas how I could solve this issue??? I'm already out of warranty (bought it in the first fire sale,2011) and as a poor student I can't really afford another one (even with the super discounts around the web)

Any help would be very much appreciated!!! I'm really eager to try BB10 on it!!!
    CrackBerry User

Global Posts
    32 Global Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #2  

Ok this is odd! after connecting it via usb the screen works again! now I'm afraid this will happen again... any ideas what's going on?
    CrackBerry Genius

I would call RIM. They have known to fix PlayBooks outside the one year warranty. Getting the incident documented with them can't hurt.
    Sounds like a hardware failure of some sort. These things don't usually correct themselves.

I agree with Chaddface.

The PB has a one year warranty to the original purchaser. It also has 90 free Tech support. I do not know how Rim deals with "quasi-tech support v. warranty"

Rim Support
    Tel:
    Canada Toll Free: 1-877-644-8405
    United States Toll Free: 1-877-644-8410
    Puerto Rico Toll Free: 1-855-651-4936
    Email: playbooksupport@blackberry.com (this route generally does not work and a call is necessary)

(UK Support) 0800 096 2805

Playbook French Support
    http://fr.blackberry.com/playbook-ta...ok-support.jsp