I just got a Playbook this week and am enjyoing it. I am new to this and have a
    couple of questions, wondering if anyone can guide me along.
    First question is regarding the Applications and loading them. I know how to use the
    free apps and the ones available from BB.com. I;m wondering how to transfer a few
    apps that I found online. I downloaded a package and opened them, they are called
    .bar files
    I am not familiar with that and am wondering, is there a way to transfer them to
    the Playbook?

I have a laptop that is running Windows 7 and am using the BBDesktopSoftware 6.1 version that I got from BB.com

Also, I'm wondering about transfering Word Documents between Playbook and windows 7
    I am able to transfer from Playbook to my laptop but not from my laptop to Playbook,

Thanks for reading and Thanks for any help !
    01-20-12 02:34 AM
    There's a ton of how to do this available here in forums and on Google, but the quick run-down: Just look for DDPB installer to load those .bar files onto your pb. If it's an android app, you'll need to get a dev OS (just register with rim, takes 1 minute), then update to os 2.0 beta.

Or you may want to checkout dingleberry to root your playbook and watch hulu as well with. Have fun discovering your new playbook!
    01-20-12 02:49 AM
    File transfer :
    - First you have to allow file sharing over USB and/or Wifi in the general settings of your PB.
    - Second you have to find your PB WIFI ip address. Go to wifi settings, click on the "waves + question mark" icon @ the bottom left of the screen, pick "Internet connexion" in the "diag.info" select. First parameter = your PB IP address.
    - Third, in W7, juste type the following in windows explorer bar :
    //[your PB address]/ (note the double / at the beginning).
    Here you go, you'll display the shared folders of your PB. (you can even create a permanent network connexion, by turning it to a network folder).