Welcome to the CrackBerry Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. theotheronetwothree's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    7 Posts
    Global Posts
    12 Global Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #1  

    Default MAC Adress

    how do I find the MAC address on my playbook?

    I read a post that says go to gear icon > About > drop down menu Network, but all it says is "No interfaces found" :-/
  2. pacoman03's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    3,348 Posts
    #2  

    Default Re: MAC Adress

    You need to be connected to your wireless network first, then check under network..,
    Thanked by:
    theotheronetwothree (11-10-2012) 
  3. theotheronetwothree's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    7 Posts
    Global Posts
    12 Global Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #3  

    Default Re: MAC Adress

    Thanks. Ugh... The reason why I ask is that I think my dad may have set up the router so that it now restricts access to certain devices (long story as to why).

    As an alternative, I am thinking about getting a blackberry phone, and just connect to the internet through bluetooth and tethering.

    For those living in Canada, Ontario... is there a cap or limit to the amount of GB in your internet plan, or is it unlimited data? (Sorry btw for the newbie questions. I'm not that tech savvy and I'm just recently trying to figure all this out).
  4. GreyGhostRos's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    439 Posts
    Global Posts
    457 Global Posts
    #4  

    Default Re: MAC Adress

    To get MAC address do this:
    Settings -> Wi-fi -> Click on the Signal sign with question mark on the bottom left corner of the new pane -> Diagnostic Information should be "Device Information" -> Physical address is the MAC address

    Quote Originally Posted by pacoman03 View Post
    You need to be connected to your wireless network first, then check under network..,
    Don't think it is necessary to be connected.. MAC address is a hardware ID..

    Quote Originally Posted by theotheronetwothree View Post
    Thanks. Ugh... The reason why I ask is that I think my dad may have set up the router so that it now restricts access to certain devices (long story as to why).
    Just add that MAC address to your router white list.. I do that too at my place..
  5. #5  

    Default Re: MAC Adress

    Use the GEAR/Options Icon (upper right after swiping down). Then ABOUT, use the drop-down and select Network. Mac Address is the last item. And as noted, mac address of a device is specific (assigned at manufacture, I'd guess). It is couplets of 99:99:99:99:99 where those 9's are hex values (contains both numbers and/or letters from A-F)
  6. Angus_CB's Avatar
    CrackBerry Master

    Posts
    1,186 Posts
    Global Posts
    1,188 Global Posts
    #6  

    Default Re: MAC Adress

    Quote Originally Posted by theotheronetwothree View Post
    ...
    As an alternative, I am thinking about getting a blackberry phone, and just connect to the internet through bluetooth and tethering.

    For those living in Canada, Ontario... is there a cap or limit to the amount of GB in your internet plan, or is it unlimited data? (Sorry btw for the newbie questions. I'm not that tech savvy and I'm just recently trying to figure all this out).
    Welcome to the forum.

    You don't really tether through a Blackberry. It's called bridging. Bridging uses your existing BB data plan. Most providers charge extra for tethering.
    Before this turns into a long thread of "My ISP doesn't charge extra.", yes there are some that don't charge extra for tethering.

    Data caps have nothing to do with where you live. It's different for each provider, eg: Rogers, Bell, Telus and the rest.

    By the way, you can tell your Dad that MAC address filtering only blocks amateurs. It's fairly easy to get around.
    Z30, Nexus 4, Kobo Arc 64GB, Playbook 16GB
  7. jpash549's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    1,809 Posts
    Global Posts
    2,035 Global Posts
    #7  

    Default Re: MAC Adress

    Grey Ghost Ros explained it. But I'll be redundant.Should emphasize that under the wifi gear/device you find physical address which is used as the Tablet MAC address. As said this is available when you are not connected on a network. If you go to the ABOUT gear setting you will find it called MAC address but you wont see it if not connected. There is another MAC address listed under wifi gear which I presume refers to the router.
  8. bambinoitaliano's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius of Geniuses

    Posts
    65,100 Posts
    #8  

    Default Re: MAC Adress

    Not sure which region of Ontario you live in. Check out Teksavvy. It has unlimited usage. Best price regardless of what plan you choose.
  9. StanWiz's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    252 Posts
    Global Posts
    255 Global Posts
    #9  

    Default Re: MAC Adress

    Quote Originally Posted by bambinoitaliano View Post
    Not sure which region of Ontario you live in. Check out Teksavvy. It has unlimited usage. Best price regardless of what plan you choose.
    Vif, available in certain areas of Ontario, is cheaper.

Similar Threads

  1. Syncing Contacts to Mac Adress book-HELP!!!!
    By justinloussia in forum Mac Users
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-25-2009, 09:30 AM
  2. Mac user on Blackberry 8830
    By andya41 in forum Introductions
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 07-01-2008, 03:45 PM
  3. Mac Newbie - call log & message question
    By UrbanShamanista in forum BlackBerry Pearl 8100
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-27-2008, 08:31 AM
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-03-2007, 07:00 AM
  5. BB software for Macs
    By apcarandang in forum BlackBerry Pearl 8100
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 05-10-2007, 11:53 PM

Posting Permissions