I am a long time BlackBerry fan and I have an iPad already, but I am considering buying a new BlackBerry Playbook. I found one online for about $45. I have never used one before. I know it's ghastly old at this point and leaning towards obsolete, but I am curious if $45 is a reasonable price for a Playbook that isn't going to have to be my primary device, and if so, what can I expect to reasonably use it for without great frustration?

Maybe a weird question, but thanks for humoring me.
    04-10-17 10:18 AM
    It is old, unsupported tech, so first I'd be worried about battery life. If it is new (never used and sitting in the box with no charge since manufacture,) you may have to do a 'stack charge' to revive it. There are guides on CrackBerry to help with this.

I do have one that I use strictly as a games tablet (there are still some games available, but I installed the ones I have years ago) and for playing videos and streaming music. It's also a decent book reader. The size makes it comfortable to bring on flights, and the battery still lasts for a full movie and more. The gestures which were the precursor to BB10 are still familiar and easy to use.

Mine is usually docked on a magnetic charger, so it's usually charged to full. I figure if you don't expect too much from it, it will do as a basic media/games device. The stock web browser is not great, but the last time I checked there were still third-party ones available.

There may be other Android options out there for a simliar price with newer tech and access to more apps.
    04-10-17 10:34 AM
    Put you $45 into a lower end Android Tablet.... then you would not have to ask what it could be "reasonably" be used for.

Only reason I could see using as PlayBook is as a companion device for another BlackBerry... BRIDGE App.
    ratfinkstooley likes this.
    04-10-17 10:37 AM
    $20 for a PlayBook would be fair.

Posted via CB10
    04-10-17 11:24 AM
    $20 for a 16 gb
    $30 for a 32 gb