Success. Thank you Drew - You are fabulous!!!!!

I really appreciate your "dumbing" it down for me.

Carolyn
    XDrew42 likes this.
    01-01-13 07:11 PM
    I am new to the Playbook and do not understand the instructions being provided to help with this problem. Please bear with me. My grandson was playing with my Playbook today and somehow managed to delete all icons from the favourite/dock area. I have nothing in this favourites area at all - no internet browser icon, no message icon, etc. They are not in the area underneath or over in the side pane. They are completely missing. I tried to move one of the apps he had downloaded (hoops game) into the favourites area just to see what was happening, and it disappeared from the screen,

I have no idea how to reinstall the OS. It is particularly hard to describe the problems I am encountering when I don't know the proper names for all of these areas but I checked the area (top right corner - looks like a wheel) under software updates and it says that I have the latest software installed. There is no option to "re-install".

I have turned the playbook on and off a number of times and tried holding the buttons on top too (all this does is turn the playbook off).

Could someone give me detailed instructions (ie. press this button, select this option)?

Thanks. I am so frustrated with this thing.
    It is a STUPID bug that rim does not think matters as nobody including your grandson and the dozens of other folks who have done it, should do it according to rim. A Rim i*d*i*o*t* (each time I read about this happening, I lose more patience) does not care. BUT every BUG should be snuffed out when reported. Maybe it will be fixed in the next major OS update and maybe, because they don't think it important, it won't be fixed!

Shame on RIM!
    Last edited by F2; 01-17-13 at 03:20 PM.
    01-01-13 07:16 PM
    Thanks. I too managed to lose my dock apps, but thanks to you they are all back where they belong. Many thanks.