I'm a web designer...not exactly a unique profession, and I've used all those capabilities on my iPad in a professional capacity. My PlayBook just can't match those functions using just a browser.

And those were just examples. My larger point was that this thread has a very narrow definition of what "work" is. A web browser is just not enough, and I hope that the PlayBook gains enough momentum to start attracting developers, because we need apps on it.
    Well said.
    03-04-12 01:49 PM
    I'm a web designer...not exactly a unique profession, and I've used all those capabilities on my iPad in a professional capacity. My PlayBook just can't match those functions using just a browser.

And those were just examples. My larger point was that this thread has a very narrow definition of what "work" is. A web browser is just not enough, and I hope that the PlayBook gains enough momentum to start attracting developers, because we need apps on it.
    Wasn't trying to be insulting. I imagined something to do with music. And all the apps I saw for this.... Well I couldn't imagine professional work being done on that.
    03-05-12 10:27 AM
    It is not just about creative capacity, but also about productivity and digital assistant.

Things like PDF annotate, handwriting note, todo/task, GTD, outline, mindmapping, diagram/flow chart draw, graphic calculator, personal database,... can't be done with a browser.
    Not to mention the advantage of Playbook is a 3rd party plugin for browser, not the browser itself, not javascript performance, not features (bookmark, reader mode), not other plugin (silverlight, java,...)
    03-05-12 11:20 AM