Hey guys, I'm a doctor that writes for imedicalapps.com, and I wrote up a review for how the PlayBook functions as a smaller, more convenient tablet. Thought you guys might enjoy the read.

Note: I intentionally tried to focus on the practical, professional aspects of the PlayBook rather than just just a typical gadget blog. This led to less of an emphasis on certain aspects, such as gaming/photography, etc.
    07-06-11 12:56 PM
    I agree with your review. This would be perfect for doctors and nurses, but the lack of or should I say no medical apps, kills this right now. We run Epic in a big way, and they have both iPad and iPhone apps, doubt they'll be ported to the PlayBook though.
    07-06-11 01:36 PM
    cant wait to see how the flyer compares
    07-06-11 01:42 PM
    very well composed, and a great write up
    07-06-11 02:21 PM
    Thanks for the review. I enjoy reading about how people use their Playbooks at their job.

As far as the apps go, yes the current situation is bad. This mostly has to do with how most Blackberry phone developers write their apps for a java environment and as far as I know, RIM has not released the API's for java and the Playbook. The app situation is sure to get much better in a few months.
    07-06-11 02:38 PM
    So for medical purposes, it's like owning a 600 HP tractor to haul an empty trailer. So much potential, and nothing to haul.

I remember one of the first YouTube videos showing a medical usage-viewing an X-ray. They need to get out of this cranial-rectal inversion mode and start making this device live up to its potential.

Nice job on the article, I sincerely hope they can turn this corner and pay attention to detail.

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    07-06-11 03:04 PM
    as a premed, its nice to see what a doctor thinks about the pb
    07-06-11 03:14 PM