I've had my Playbook for about a month and am thoroughly pleased with it, as is my wife (after I solved the very common WIFI issue by upgrading our ancient D-Link 615 from a 2007 driver to the last known but unsupported 2009 driver -- well rock solid since). However, I've never been able to back it up successfully to the Desktop Software. This is different than the usual problem or two discussed on this and the BB Community Support forums; In my case, Desktop Software continually crashes after recognizing my Playbook. Everything is up to date (Desktop Software version 6.0.0.35 and Playbook OS Version 1.0.0.6067) and I've been using Desktop Software for at least four years without problem.

I've been in contact with BB Support for over two weeks by email (probably my first mistake, but didn't want to sit on hold for hours, as others have had to) to no avail; simple re-boots and re-installs do not work. I've tried the hard reboot then restart after DS is opened and can get the "Upgrade" window, but DS still crashes. The latest suggested remedy from my BB Support person is as follows:

"If you're still unable to sync then BlackBerry Desktop Manager might not be connecting to the right application folder.
    Set up the synchronization to use the appropriate file by completing the following steps:

1. Open BlackBerry Desktop Manager.
    2. Click Synchronization under the Configuration tab.
    3. Select the Synchronization option.
    4. Highlight the application that is producing the error, and click Advanced.
    5. Click Map Folder.
    6. On the right window, select the location to synchronize, and select Remove.
    7. On the Left window, select the same location to synchronize, and select Add.
    8. Click OK 3 times.
    9. Click Synchronize to perform a synchronization."