Hi Guys,

So I am somewhat new to BB. Got my first BB 1 year ago (9730), considering to buy the PB now. I know it's discontinued. Two questions bother me:

1) Is there Skype for PB? I saw on AppWorld there is no official skype, but is there any port of some sort? Or third party app ? On my phone I used IMO, however it does not work anymore for skype

2) I plan to buy online. In case of technical problem - device does not work or who knows, where in Toronto I can get it so they see it and repair it? I guess BlackBerry (RIM) don't give warranty anymore...

Thanks!
    08-03-13 11:43 PM
    There's no Skype. Comwave works great for voice only and is free for calling in North America.
    Cheers
    08-04-13 12:31 AM
    If you buy new online, from a legit dealer, BlackBerry should honor the one year warranty.
    FF22 likes this.
    08-04-13 12:35 AM
    Comwave ephone isn't free. It's yearly subscription based, albeit only $20/year.

I don't know about Canada, but for us U.S.-based folks, SparePhone app ($3) in combo with Google Voice is free calls in/to U.S. and Canada. I used it over wifi while in Thailand and Japan to call local numbers in the U.S. this year. It worked great and better when using a headset (removed the echoing).
    08-04-13 12:51 AM
    Comwave ephone isn't free. It's yearly subscription based, albeit only $20/year.
    As jsdhornby noted, for voice calls to US or Canada, or voice calls from anywhere, Comwave is free.
    08-04-13 01:39 AM
    As jsdhornby noted, for voice calls to US or Canada, or voice calls from anywhere, Comwave is free.
    Oh, my mistake. It was $20/year when I first researched it a year ago. The new Blackberry World app store does indeed say it's free.
    08-04-13 05:29 AM